Roots Canada Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales Associate

Roots Canada Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Roots Canada CEO Jim Gabel (no image)
Jim Gabel
3 Ratings
  1. "Sales associate interview question"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience of communicating with different people.

    Cons

    Bad management in roots canada

    Advice to Management

    Need more educated people in management

    Roots Canada2018-03-16
  2. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% of for all regular priced items. An extra 20% off sale items. Wonderful co-workers! Get to wear comfy clothes to work everyday.

    Cons

    Overwhelmingly busy during Holidays. I question the design choices on some of the clothing.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to sales associates about what the customers want.

    Roots Canada2018-03-15
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company and benefits, competitive pay

    Cons

    Management is not the best

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees better

    Roots Canada2018-02-20
  4. "sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    not busy, all you have to do is talking with your co-worker

    Cons

    - tons of chinese, your managers co-workers and even your customers, everyone is chinese - you have to sell a lot but no comissions - not organized

    Advice to Management

    better to be organized, please not speak in chinese that's really unprofessional

    Roots Canada2018-03-25
  5. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - nice ppl - learned a lot

    Cons

    - really precise on folding

    Roots Canada2018-02-05
  6. "Roots Grandview location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Their 50% of benefit on clothing, accessories- candy, maple syrup, hats - of 30%

    Cons

    -Unhealthy competition played a huge part. -Tiring setting. I worked for 3 years, the average leaving rate was like 90%. -Favoritism was also involved, managers would neglect the employees that actually work hard to benefit the company. The managers don't watch over each employee. Words for managers basically do a huge part. (they are easily manipulated) - Employees weren't trained at all. Some in that location... speak their own language LOUDLY on a busy floor. - No chance of a better position. - No leadership involved in managements - Many Chinese customers get discriminated including chinese employees - No bonuses

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Dear Head office, Stop hiring managers that are discriminating and naturally shouldn't even be managers in the first place.

    Roots Canada2018-02-14
  7. "Overall a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Associate in Winnipeg, MB

    I worked at Roots Canada for less than a year

    Pros

    The job is very easy. You learn as you go, make sure you ask lots of questions. They offer a good discount, which helps a lot since the clothing is expensive. Good quality clothes. My coworkers were mostly friendly, and the manager is great; you can tell that she loves her job.

    Cons

    Hours are terrible for part time employees, and they'll cut hours if it's a slow day. The distance was a big issue for me personally, because I'm literally on the other side of the city from the store I worked at. They have a weird policy regarding your shift if you have a "shift extension" where you have to ask the manager at the end of your shift if they still need you. That should be the employer's... responsibility. If you have an "on call" shift you have to call the store to see if they need you, which again, should be the employer's responsibility. Nowhere to lock up your belongings. I was only offered a table to put my purse down. I worked a seasonal position and I wasn't even told that I was done my term. They just don't schedule you for any shifts.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide lockers to everyone when they start. The location I worked at has an employee who has no respect for other people's belongings.

    Roots Canada2018-01-08
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada

    Pros

    Good work environment, coworkers are nice and friendy

    Cons

    lower salary, sometime over time, due to the high customer traffic

    Roots Canada2017-11-10
  9. "Nice environment, pretty chill coworkers, great hours if managers like you, pay is...well retail money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vaughan, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Coworkers hang out after work - 50% employee discount - A sense of prestigious - Quality clothes - Sometimes you get some articles of clothes

    Cons

    - Late hours - Low pay - Holiday shifts are pretty much a must - Strict management - Need to buy clothes to wear for uniform and it must be "in season"

    Roots Canada2017-11-04
  10. "Roots 73 Vancouver, B.C."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, clothes discount, vacation benefits, training is provided

    Cons

    Minimum wage for sales associate, expected to perform all job duty from other job postions, lack of manager support, expected to do more than required job duties and do expected to perform well for the same pay. Cost of buying roots clothing.

    Advice to Management

    Please be reasonable & more understanding when communicating with employees. Employee retention and providing reasonable accommodation is important. Making employees feel wanted and appreciated is important. Don't be so close minded. Please try to talk with employee and find out what's going on instead of cutting them out without talking.

    Roots Canada2017-08-12
Found 90 reviews