Roots Canada Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Roots Canada Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Roots Canada CEO Jim Gabel (no image)
Jim Gabel
3 Ratings
  1. "Good to work for the first sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time

    Pros

    -good work environment -good benefit -flexible work shift -enough long shift for a day -pay on time

    Cons

    -no commission -not a lot of things to do in winter/slow season -have to buy uniform in some occasion -too high individual budget sometimes

    Roots Canada2017-07-12
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to work around your life, is always easy to move a shift or take time off if needed. Great positive work environment.

    Cons

    No matter how many great things roots has as a company, it's still customer service.

    Advice to Management

    Give an incentive to sell the leather goods

    Roots Canada2017-05-26
  3. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Earning skills of customers services, marketing knowledge, selling skills, communication skill, management skills and so on.

    Cons

    Roots products good in quality, that's make me investing more to Roots' product especially leather stuff and sweater.

    Advice to Management

    Management doing great and keep it on.

    Roots Canada2017-05-18
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    non stressful environment, great product discount, friendly staff

    Cons

    not enough hours, sometimes the store is too dead, pressure for sales and not enough customers

    Roots Canada2017-05-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "great if you like staying up till 1 am folding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the staff was fun to work with and played great music when the store closed 50% off discount

    Cons

    management was horrible and made schedules the night before the week started so wed only know our shifts last minute forcing us to plan our lives around shifts I worked during Christmas and theyd keep us folding until it was perfect... the longest I stayed there folding was 2:30 am

    Advice to Management

    plan your schedules in advanced you don't need everything spaced and freshly folded every night.. your employees have lives too

    Roots Canada2017-04-15
  6. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada

    Pros

    - friendly atmosphere - busy environment - overtime pay

    Cons

    - minimum wage - very early or late shift hours

    Advice to Management

    increase wages or benefits

    Roots Canada2017-02-05
  7. "Service Over Everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks and alot of customer/retail services learnt.

    Cons

    Management are very strict with target sales and service therefore employee needs are not a priority

    Roots Canada2017-01-23
  8. "Good company, striving for classy service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vaughan, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount is great - 50% off If you like a sense of prestige in the company you work for Ability to get a bonus for the whole store force at the end of the month if surpasses the goal by 10% if i remember right (cash bonus)

    Cons

    Minimum wage as a sales associate Less than 40hrs a week Gets really busy if you work at a mall The typical retail cons

    Roots Canada2017-01-05
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Employee discount. - Family atmosphere amongst co-workers. - Not a competitive work environment.

    Cons

    - Store has to look pristine for the morning so closing shifts are a bit rough, though it's understandable for presentation sake.

    Roots Canada2016-10-25
  10. "Great place for students - but not seasonal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive wage, good work environment, great discount (50% off on everything) and products are high quality. I worked at the eaton centre location so it was always busy!

    Cons

    Management sucks - can't take ANY time off in December or they make you resign from the job. The whole month is a "blackout" season

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible with scheduling

    Roots Canada2016-11-08
Found 90 reviews