Roots Canada Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Roots Canada Sales Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Roots Canada CEO Jim Gabel (no image)
Jim Gabel
2 Ratings
  1. "I like it but I'm a college student."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I get paid $13.50 which is way better than the Virginia minimum wage of 7.50. I get 50% off everything which is great. I work with other college students so it's fun.

    Cons

    There's no benefits for part time workers. We can't use the discount online.

    Roots Canada2019-01-23
  2. "Great in winter (not so much in summer)."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 50% discount on all items, including leather goods. - good quality and comfortable clothing

    Cons

    Even with the discount, the clothes are expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Know your market. No one wants to spend $80 on a sweatshirt in the middle of a hot and humid DC summer. Bring more of the "made in Canada" line to the US stores.

    Roots Canada2019-08-22
  3. "Much Ado about NOTHING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relatively generous pay scale.

    Cons

    Bad management. They MICROMANAGE. An hourly critique of sales per customer, units sold, percentages, etc etc. Quotas are HIGH, goals are unrealistic. You cannot FORCEV a customer to purchase MORE than they like, or can AFFORD, simply to meet your sales goals per hour! It is a stressful and demeaning work structure. You are constantly watched and made to feel like a trained animal performing on demand. How EXCITED... can one be over high priced sweat pants and caps? There is an arrogance about The entire tone of the company is that of Arrogance and superiority.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    LIGHTEN UP. treat your staff like YOU would like to be treated. Remember that sales associates have feelings too! Goals and figures are important, but so is having a staff that happy and feels useful. Being humble and POSITIVE yields better results than being condescending and abrubt.

    Roots Canada2019-06-03
  4. "Decent work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Markham, ON

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience to learn about Canadian culture

    Cons

    Should focus on providing diversified work-culture.

    Roots Canada2019-09-05
  5. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time

    Pros

    Good discount and easy job.

    Cons

    Bad management and slow paced.

    Roots Canada2019-08-22
  6. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, the pay is decent, and benefits are great as well.

    Cons

    Shifts start to die down after Christmas season so don't expect to get the desired hours you want. Also depends on which location you work at.

    Roots Canada2019-08-02
  7. "Amazing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Brampton, ON

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the people I was working with

    Cons

    People steal very often and sales targets are very high

    Roots Canada2019-07-22
  8. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -flexible, friendly coworkers, fun environment to work in

    Cons

    -we don't have enough hours, less shifts

    Roots Canada2019-06-26
  9. "Do you think these kind of places ever change?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I did meet a lot of people from around the world, the clothing and products are high quality, so I did feel confident in my sales ability. Regarding what I wrote in the cons, I did meet some amazing people here.

    Cons

    Poisonous work culture. I almost committed suicide when I worked here because of the bullying. This was around 5 years ago and I don't work there anymore, but I still think of those days and how negative it was with the gossip. It did significantly better once some instigators left, but I think part of it was also the pressure that head office puts onto key holders/management or something, because I could see how... people who were normal became like different people in this work place. It was my first and only time I experienced workplace bullying outside of high school.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't really know what to say, I don't think it's normal what I experienced because I've worked several other jobs and never had this kind of treatment. I feel I can finally leave a review of my experience working for this company now that it has been many years later so I've been more distanced from it. Even though there is/was an employee help line at the store that I was able to use, it's kind of like as useful... as when someone in highschool is being bullied/whispered about/drama and counselors cannot do much to help.

    Show More
    Roots Canada2019-07-18
  10. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Niagara Falls, ON

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts were an absolute lifesaver

    Cons

    Poor Management at the store level

    Roots Canada2019-06-10
Found 92 reviews