Roots Canada Team Lead Reviews | Glassdoor

Roots Canada Team Lead Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
Roots Canada CEO Jim Gabel (no image)
Jim Gabel
0 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Lead 

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time

    Pros

    great atmosphere great clothing always a good time

    Cons

    long hours, hard to move up

    Roots Canada2019-08-08
  2. "Great Coworkers, Great atmosphere, not so amazing upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You meet a lot of great people who are both coworkers and customers. The brand does the selling for itself and there is no commission based incentives. You get discounts on the comfiest clothing and great leather products.

    Cons

    The power trips are abundant from management. Moving up in the company is almost solely based on who you know/how much they like you vs. actually being good at the job.

    Advice to Management

    Care for your employees, even if they are just 1-2 month seasonal staff.

    Roots Canada2019-07-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not a bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Lead 

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time

    Pros

    Solid structure, there's specific outlines for everything

    Cons

    Management can be a bit biased

    Roots Canada2019-07-08
  4. "Team lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Belleville, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work, laid back atmosphere,

    Cons

    There are basically no cons to working here sometimes it’s slow but no big deal

    Roots Canada2019-04-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Very pushy, and they set unrealistic visual standards."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% off Nice coworkers Always busy

    Cons

    Working at roots wasn't bad. My co-workers were all wonderful people however, management was not. It was not a stressful job, it was fast paced since I worked at 2 locations downtown. The visual standards that were held were unreasonable. Here is an example: during closing, everyone tidys the store( folding clothes, fixing displays, making sure hangers face the right way etc) and after we are finished our section we... have to call over a mod to double check to see if we did it correctly. If the clothes do not align perfectly(the logo is in the same spot , folded neatly, in a straight line and all facing the front) they make you redo the entire pile because a few logos do not line up with the rest. Even if you readjust, they will make you do it again and do not acknowledge nor care about the time. Where I live, the train stops running at 1am and the managers still made us "perfect" the store at 1230am. It was ridiculous. They also force you to wear roots head to toe. They expect everyone to purchase have a piece of roots clothing and to wear it every shift.. which I understand but why not provide us with a roots uniform instead of us having to purchase something out of pocket. The managers that I had pressured people to buy the newest collection or whatever. It was annoying. Management is messy and uncommunicative. Associates have to ask for breaks, managers gossip about everyone ( mind you, in a different language but it's still gossip and that is unprofessional.) Even though I was bought on with a managerial role, they never included me in anything. I had to ask to be included and to be trained. I also noticed that managers do not dismiss associates when their shift is up. Since a lot of us do not wear a watch we lose track of time, my coworker and I actually worked a FEW HOURS over time because no one told us that we were off. Both of us went up to a manager and asked what time it was and when we found out, we got blamed because we did not clock out. During my training process, the store manager had assumed that I would be know everything since I had been in the same position at a different company. When I said that those procedures were different, her demeanor changed completely and started treating me as if I was incompetent. I'm sorry but every company has different procedures. Dont get mad at me for asking simple questions. Management did not treat me as an equal, rather they acted as if they were superior to everyone there. Also, everyone that worked at the branches I did, were from abroad and about 85% worked there for 3 months or less. Shows how great their environment is......

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop talking down to your associates. We are not 5, stop treating us like that. Dont pressure people into buying clothes and being "roots head to toe". If you want to achieve this, provide a uniform. Do not expect people to PAY to work a minimum wage job. Train management in professional manners. Dont uphold such anal visual standards. The store does not need to be in perfect condition every single night.... The logos do not have to line up perfectly in each pile. People do not have the time nor the energy to waste folding and refolding clothes because 4 items were not to standard. It's late, people need to go home. Management needs to work on communication. The mods do not know who is working or where. Also know when go dismiss your associates. Do not assume that we know everything that you do. Management should not gossip about associates or other managers. It's very unprofessional... especially since it's in a different language. If you're hiring someone to join your management team; listen to their ideas and input. Do not ignore them. Train them and do not belittle them.

    Show More
    Roots Canada2019-05-01
  6. "Team Lead at Roots Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada full-time

    Pros

    - Solid discounts (70% off 3 items per quarter, 50% off most things, extra 20% off sale) - Most coworkers are normal people just looking to work - Roots is wealthy enough to sponsor good causes like Heart and Stroke, host small fundraisers, they give gifts to celebrities, have had some incredible customers of wealth/fame come in to shop

    Cons

    - Major case of the "no money to prevent the problem, but all the money to fix the problem" - Staff is often unbalanced... there are folks that are busting their butts to get things done, and other people that stand around (sales staff AND team leads are guilty of this). Also, staff need better defined roles... there's some overlap and when both those people have different ideas for the same spot, things don't work... out... - Head Office will ask a stores opinion about something that directly affects the store, and then will promptly disregard that and do what they wanted in the first place - There are store repairs that have been months in the process and still remain unfixed because it only affects the staff and not the customers - Huge gaps in time where there are stores with no managers or certain Team Leads and everyone else has to pick up the slack for the store to even function - Construction is pretty last minute with very little planning - many ideas are thrown around and only half of them are implemented - Overnight shifts can be brutal - normally from 9:30 pm to 6:00 am - these rarely happen and it seems to be the same few Team Leads that head these types of shifts

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff when they're telling you what they need. We work in our stores day in and day out and know where all the flaws are. We need better staffing. We need to promote from within when there's a store with no manager and not let it become 3, 4, 5, or even 6 months between. Many staff are displeased with their treatment, and as soon as they finish school/find something better, they're going to... leave. I plan on leaving because I was accepted to go back to school and I'm just counting my weeks at this point. Also, when the CEO stops by, he should probably be sober enough to get out of his vehicle... just saying. (He has a driver... he's not drinking and driving...)

    Show More
    Roots Canada2018-02-12
  7. "Team lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in West Vancouver, BC
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, good discount, tidy store

    Cons

    A lot of hours, bad work/life balance

    Roots Canada2017-12-22
Found 7 reviews