Roots Canada "good discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Roots Canada Employee Reviews about "good discount"

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 255 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Roots Canada CEO Jim Gabel (no image)
Jim Gabel
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Have to meet sales goals everyday even though you don't receive commission(in 13 reviews)

  • "Lack of accountability from head office(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Canadian Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible, growth opportunities, great employee discount, good benefits,

    Cons

    extremely physical, work evenings, company is going through transitions and could use improvements

    Advice to Management

    be more realistic on targets, more communication

    Roots Canada2019-06-06
  2. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Roots Canada part-time

    Pros

    Good discount all year round

    Cons

    Work get hectic around Christmas

    Roots Canada2019-04-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of opportunities to move up, if you put up with a lot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good discount. Lots of opportunities to move up if you work hard.

    Cons

    Not enough support from upper management. Company vision unclear, head office often appears disorganized/chaotic. Lack of accountability from head office.

    Advice to Management

    Fair compensation to leadership, below industry standards and surprising for a company with such seemingly strong values.

    Roots Canada2019-04-11
  4. "Cool place to work, but manager sets the tone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount Positive environment among employees Clear methodology in the way things operate Emphasis on working as a team Found it easy to meet sales goals but was not terrified if I didn't hit my target

    Cons

    Worked at two locations in same district with VERY different managers One was hyper critical and a very poor communicator, I was constantly fearful I would be fired Other was extremely well respected and kind but kept me as a sales associate despite giving me management level responsibility and expecting me to work up to 40 hours as a part-time employee in school

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and realistic with what you expect of employees

    Roots Canada2019-03-12
  5. "Merchandising Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roots Canada full-time

    Pros

    Great Managers, Good Discount, Great Clothing

    Cons

    Long Days, Busy Seasons, Expensive Clothes

    Roots Canada2019-03-08
  6. "Poor Management, Great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team is really fun and young which makes going to work very fun. The company does also do a decent amount to train its employees and gives a good discount to employees.

    Cons

    The manager was very disorganized and as a result would make working as a part time employee a nightmare. Would often forget holidays and doesn't allow switching shifts or changing the schedule. I've heard the scheduling is very last minute now. The district manager was a lot older and clearly has stopped caring about her job. People don't get appropriately promoted and there is very little reward.

    Roots Canada2019-02-21
  7. "Roots Flagship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time

    Pros

    If the store makes the month you get a bonus. Good discount off all merchandise and even higher discount at flagship stores.

    Cons

    Store is very busy during the summer. We regularly stayed late and the latest I stayed for store clean up was 1:30 am. Tip - let them know that you are opening the next day or they will let you stay until the end of the clean up time. Can only purchase things for yourself for great % off gifts are less % off. They want you to live there. Barely any time off/your schedule has to remain free after the summer to secure... part time contract.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t start off by being mean to seasonal workers...if someone says hello, have the curtesy to politely respond; you are not so far above them.

    Roots Canada2018-12-14
  8. Helpful (4)

    "POOR working enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they have good discount which helps you with the dress code since you have to wear there expensive clothing

    Cons

    management is a mess no room for growth unless they're kind of racist (at least my location was) very high sales goal and nooo commission strict dress code

    Advice to Management

    listen to what your employees have to say. happy employees create a happy work environment which in the long run attracts more sales

    Roots Canada2018-09-22
  9. "GOOD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time

    Pros

    Good for people who are currently in school because of flexibility, good coworkers, fun environment, good discount

    Cons

    No room for growth if you are part time

    Advice to Management

    Growth within the company would be good and will motivate employees more

    Roots Canada2018-08-06
  10. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roots Canada part-time

    Pros

    Good discount (50%) Nice coworkers Mostly young coworkers Flexible hours Not always busy Good for first job!

    Cons

    Only 30% off for gifts Strict dress code: all roots even shoes Can be overstaffed Often unorganized management Small store/easily bored

    Advice to Management

    Try to get the schedule out earlier in the week. Especially during a holiday! People want to know when they're working and when they can spend time with family. Be more aware of the time. Trying to be more careful about scheduling and getting everyone's requested off days. Talk to sales associates more about workplace and get more feedback!

    Roots Canada2018-03-07
Found 255 reviews