Cover image for Ropes & Gray
Logo

Ropes & Gray

Is this your company?

Ropes & Gray

Add a Review

Ropes & Gray Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 332 of over 353 reviews
4.0
64% Recommend to a Friend
Ropes & Gray Chairman R. Bradford (Brad) Malt
88% Approve of CEO

Found 332 of over 353 reviews

4.0
64%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Ropes & Gray Chairman R. Bradford (Brad) Malt
R. Bradford (Brad) Malt
127 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "People are smart and some of the attorneys are nice.(in 34 reviews)
  • "Great benefits(in 28 reviews)
  • "Great culture and place to work.(in 19 reviews)
  • "Good pay and accommodation and food(in 18 reviews)
  • "cutting edge work, great colleagues(in 17 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Ropes & Gray and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Nice Place to Work

    Oct 30, 2022 - Corporate Program Paralegal 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good HR system for when I needed to take a leave of absence for my mental health recovery All around friendly atmosphere to work at

    Cons

    A lot of down time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good experience for first job

    Oct 17, 2022 - Corporate Program Paralegal in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    top notch training, really learn a lot in a short period of time - a good place to jump start a career if you are interested in law right out of college. the supervisors and attorneys are all very kind

    Cons

    similar to most big law firms, there are days that have long hours and sometimes it is hard to know when to shut off. despite being hybrid, i find that a lot of our work has stayed remote which makes going into the office feel a bit pointless, although the company is pushing for more in-person work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Ropes & Gray team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Looks good on resume; terrible environment

    Nov 21, 2022 - Intake Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ropes looks great on your resume

    Cons

    The firm culture towards staff is terrible. Neither staff nor their managers get the support they need and the firm is very clear in not caring about staff burnout or turnover.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Excellent culture and professional development

    Oct 19, 2022 - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work - firm cares about professional development for employees. Strong leadership and culture. Good benefits and teammates. Diversity getting better.

    Cons

    Some attorneys not accessible; a lot is expected of employees.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Training

    Sep 27, 2022 - Program Paralegal 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great training program for new paralegals; onboarding trainings, mentorship and the manager, team lead, and mentors meet with you regularly to help get you up to speed and are helpful especially when you haven't experienced a task before. Colleagues are also collegial and willing to spend time out of their day to walk you through a tough project.

    Cons

    Late nights sometimes work doesn't come in until 10pm without warning.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Discrimination & Hostile Work Environment

    Oct 19, 2022 - Software Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Upper level management is terrible.

    Cons

    Multiple discrimination and hostile work environment reports filed to HR. I spoke with HR about these topics and was promised they would get back to me with an update. I had to follow-up with HR four times in one month to get any kind of response. Not until I threatened with legal action did I get an update (which was that they had received my report and read it). That's it - they had only read it over the course of several months. So I quit.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Firm

    Oct 11, 2022 - Attorney 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Top legal talent for PE.

    Cons

    Small in Chicago but growing.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Horrible Firm to work for

    Nov 1, 2022 - Executive Legal Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have none. Oh the free breakfast and lunch.

    Cons

    It was one of the worst forms I have ever worked for. It was very micro managed. Treated me like I was a teenager.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Well run, nice people

    Sep 17, 2022 - Support Staff 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extremely efficient and well run. Large purse strings, not stingy.

    Cons

    Limited growth due to small size of support staff

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good pay, big law vibe

    Oct 4, 2022 - Lawyer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Typically great pay, lots of work, nice people though too busy to do anything but work, good free breakfast and lunch options .

    Cons

    Unclear partnership messaging even for big law, uneven training opportunities, passive aggressive management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 332 Reviews
</>Embed

Ropes & Gray Reviews FAQs

Ropes & Gray has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 353 reviews left anonymously by employees. 64% of employees would recommend working at Ropes & Gray to a friend and 86% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Ropes & Gray employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Ropes & Gray. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

64% of Ropes & Gray employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Ropes & Gray 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Ropes & Gray to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be work life balance, management.

Popular Careers with Ropes & Gray Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Ropes & Gray? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Ropes & Gray Photos

+ Add Photo
Ropes & Gray photo of: Managers and directors from our global human resources team took an afternoon at their recent retreat to build teddy bears to donate to Boston Children's Hospital.
Ropes & Gray photo of: Kirsten Mayer led a team of Ropes &amp; Gray attorneys to file a motion for a new trial for Gary Cifizzari, who was wrongfully convicted of murder in 1979.
Ropes & Gray photo of: Our attorneys met with a group of students through the Squash and Education Alliance, an organization that runs programs for students that combine squash training, tutoring and mentoring.
Ropes & Gray photo of: A fantastic morning spent with the team at West London Mission, which fights homelessness, poverty and trauma. We gardened, helped cook breakfast and provided much needed legal advice.
Ropes & Gray photo of: Prudential Tower
Ropes & Gray photo of: Chair Brad Malt delivers opening remarks at the Out Leadership summit
Ropes & Gray photo of: Partner Maria Calvert discusses legal risk management at Bloomberg's annual In-House Counsel Event
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Ropes & Gray Job Seekers Also Viewed

Orrick Logo
Orrick

4.0

344 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 353 Ropes & Gray reviews submitted anonymously by Ropes & Gray employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Ropes & Gray is right for you.