Rosewood Hotels & Resorts Reviews | Glassdoor

Rosewood Hotels & Resorts Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Rosewood Hotels & Resorts CEO Sonia Cheng
Sonia Cheng
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unparalleled growth in the ultra-luxury hotel industry(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great people who work at the hotel are the main asset and key of the hotel’s success(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are times when you will have to work long hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "Also, upper management has an air of superiority instead of fostering a team spirit(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loved My Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Rosewood Hotels & Resorts for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team, open to collaboration and shared ideas. All senior employees very accessible and willing to answer and help with questions.

    Cons

    This was a summer internship so unfortunately had to leave and go back to school. No cons.

    Rosewood Hotels & Resorts2019-07-17
  2. "Orwellian, Robotic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rosewood Hotels & Resorts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1) Free snacks 2) Easy work 3) Hotel stays after 1 year of employment

    Cons

    1) 90 day probationary period. Read between the lines when you receive an email from the CEO or upper management that says an employee “suddenly resigned” and they “wish them well where they end up”. It means they let them go before the 90 days was up. 2) Low wages. They think that the “perk” of getting to stay at a hotel for 3 nights at a time after one year will make up for the low salary. It’s very difficult to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay people what they’re worth. Don’t promote conformity. Be human. Stop hiring so many people, there’s no work to do.

    Rosewood Hotels & Resorts2019-08-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not What Meets the Eye"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rosewood Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful facility, complimentary meals, full-time/benefits available

    Cons

    Company is lacking in integrity. My compensation package and job title were vastly different from the terms outlined in the offer letter I signed. Also, upper management has an air of superiority instead of fostering a team spirit. I felt that I was treated as a commodity instead of a human being. I endured many, many power trips over details that didn't really matter. I felt that the guests sensed the tension and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't say one thing and do another thinking that your associates will stay. Integrity and respect are more important to employees than just working in a beautiful facility.

    Rosewood Hotels & Resorts2019-06-25
  4. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Rosewood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Great staff, knowledgeable managers, beautiful ocean view

    Cons

    I worked Late nights sometimes

    Rosewood Hotels & Resorts2019-06-02
  5. "Not an ideal workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rosewood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good brand, and ability to learn new things if you can find the time. People are amazing and dedicated to their jobs

    Cons

    Systems constantly down, software consultants not readily available, lack of caring from owners, poor work environment (worked in an old dirty mildew smelling townhouse in a small bedroom), not given the tools to be efficient, human resources dept was not informative and was inadequate and inefficient. HR dept did not manage managers and was often unfair to employees.

    Advice to Management

    Ownership needs to care more and that should carry over to the management. Bonuses only to Sales Dept and Upper Mgmt. No incentives for admin staff. They often hire managers that lack basic communication skills.

    Rosewood Hotels & Resorts2019-06-03
  6. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rosewood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful people and working environment

    Cons

    Long hours and at times boring

    Rosewood Hotels & Resorts2019-04-24
  7. "Awesome place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rosewood Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - nice, good people - cosmopolitan environment - good culture

    Cons

    - salary too low - too much work load

    Rosewood Hotels & Resorts2019-04-09
  8. "Hotell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Private 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rosewood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People , food, pay , growth , hours and so much more

    Cons

    Break too long Sometimes it’s slow Non Non Non

    Advice to Management

    Non

    Rosewood Hotels & Resorts2019-04-04
  9. "Good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supervisor 

    I have been working at Rosewood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Good management, great internal possibilities for promotion

    Cons

    Salary is a bit low

    Rosewood Hotels & Resorts2019-03-14
  10. "Rosewood Journey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Office Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rosewood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Continuous Expansion throughout the world. Growing and developing opportunities.

    Cons

    Bring back the high flyer program.

    Rosewood Hotels & Resorts2019-03-11
Found 181 reviews