Ross Stores "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ross Stores Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
1,134 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee discount of 20% all time and 40% occasionally(in 281 reviews)

  • "20% discount applies everyday and as many times as you want(in 236 reviews)

Cons
  • "Part time night shift not to bad(in 209 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage , no opportunities to grow(in 177 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (26)

    "Best decision I've made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Analyst in Dublin, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coming from a retail background, having a corporate job means having more balance between life & work. Everyone is very professional and they all want you to succeed in your role. Training doesn't stop in just a couple of weeks, they continue to train you and you continue to learn even after your 90 days. Gym access on campus is also a wonderful addition, you literally will not have an excuse to skip the gym... after work. The Ross Cafe is also very convenient & Ross employees get 15% off. Employee discounts during double discount days is an amazing thing. Lastly, the room for growth and career progression is absolutely up to you and how far you want to go. If you explain that to your manager, she will help you get there.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing so far! I pretty much enjoy working here, I'm constantly being challenged and work is never stagnant, you're always being pushed to your fullest potential and if you don't like that, then this place isn't for you.

    Ross Stores2019-04-18
  2. "Engineering Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Productivity Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores for less than a year

    Pros

    - Engineering team is very friendly and helpful, we often went to lunch together and I enjoyed many laughs we shared while on throughout the internship - Self driven type internship, the more you push the further you'll go! - Competitive internship pay - Employee discount of 20% all time and 40% occasionally - Once you become comfortable in your position, engineering management treats just as any engineer... giving you projects to lead out and take on - Business casual dress code - Your engineering knowledge and experience will expand when learning how Ross Stores maintains productivity throughout its district centers.

    Show More

    Cons

    - During the internship, there may be times where you are waiting for work (could be seen as pro)

    Ross Stores2019-07-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Can never work hard enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discounts and bonding with coworkers Talk to a variety of people, interesting work

    Cons

    Customer culture is very disrespectful to the store, makes work feel unworthwhile Management barely trains employees, very unorganized, in my first week was left with a line of 20+ yelling people while everyone was sent on break simultaneously Kept at work beyond shift time, even after 1am; hard to balance school/work

    Advice to Management

    Rebrand Ross as a place to be respected, not trashed Empower employees more and make them feel important

    Ross Stores2019-10-28
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Run job will cause major health issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee discount 20% 3 times a year 40% off. Some co worker are nice

    Cons

    Store management are bullies /lack compassion & if you are not a favorite you get treated like crap. No raises, no hours and tons of work while others goof off. Company hotline is a joke since the complaints are forward to the store managers so if one of them or favorites are reported everyone knows who & what was said. Stores open till midnight which makes for a unsafe work environment. Job will take... a mental toll

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites, have some compassion. CEO & District close stores by 10 pm so employees can feel safe . Plus stop pushing the employees to perform at a pace that is not reachable .

    Ross Stores2019-11-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "horrible company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ross Stores

    Pros

    employee discount, quick hiring process

    Cons

    management does not care about employees

    Advice to Management

    do better

    Ross Stores2019-11-08
  6. "Crazy Busy, Messy Store!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee discount, Make friends, Cool supervisors

    Cons

    Little pay, Dress code, Customers treat the store poorly

    Advice to Management

    Hire more employees Give longer breaks

    Ross Stores2019-10-12
  7. "Great place for part-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Associate in Lubbock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    employee discount and great co-workers

    Cons

    disorganized and poor management

    Ross Stores2019-10-08
  8. "Great place for a part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front-End Supervisor in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The employee discount and the relationships you create with both coworkers and customers.

    Cons

    The amount of work they expect both lower level associates and management to get done on a daily basis is many times unrealistic. At times many of my coworkers would become stressed because they had so much to get done before the end of their shift. Also, being able to move up within the company and stay at the same location was practically impossible. The level of leadership I reached is the highest I could reach... without having to move to a different location.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find a better way to have employees get projects done without having to help cover breaks or help cashier.

    Ross Stores2019-09-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t believe in the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount that’s it, but plan to work hard and highly pressured in doing the ROSS way.

    Cons

    No respect from well anyone from corporate to your manager. Very dry colicky environment that simply doesn’t care, this from theft from everyday walk ins creating knowledge in communities to shop ROSS. Breaks maybe but don’t count on it, because of lack of staffing. Most times I would 1 cashier and myself for the entire store, that means I’m left to do sales, merchandise, stock, regulate operations, cash office,... customer service in inquiries, asset protection along w shrink knowledge, coaching staff, shift duties, safety measures, run another cash register, fitting room duties along w letting customers use restrooms, and finally trying to a safe atmosphere. Yes your abused, nobody listens or cares and if your the squeaky wheel, your gone they have their ways of hiding behind HR. I’ve been in retail and management for 20 yrs and I was an avid ROSS shopper loved the place, I’ve seen a company micro manage and simply not care about people as in ROSS DRESS FOR LESS!!!! I wouldn’t allow my kids to work for them, I’d rather cut off a limb! Sad but true

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Man up, treat people w respect. Your handbook and I quote “ not to ask customer if they found everything ok in store” kinda rude ya because your so greeting wanting the next persons cash and asking about a customers experience or needs slows down your register. This country was born on handshakes, old school business of caring and giving great service to customers and shame on you for the greed and un attentive to... your associates who have to work 3-4 peoples jobs trying to meet your standards while you under staff all stores and get rid of all the asset protection specialist because ya wanted that buck. Horrible atmosphere and I hope Karma comes soon. God bless ya ROSS!

    Show More
    Ross Stores2019-10-08
  10. "Great palce to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They're very flexible and this is a good job if you're in school and its a decent pay for the work you do. you also get an employee discount, I love to shop there.

    Cons

    management is constantly changing some unethical people

    Ross Stores2019-09-03
Found 281 reviews