Ross University Reviews | Glassdoor

Ross University Reviews

Updated May 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Ross University CEO William F. Owen
William F. Owen
9 Ratings
  1. "They take great care for the students and the employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Services Advisor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross University full-time

    Pros

    Small private university with friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Salary levels are low, regardless of experience

    Ross University2019-05-29
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work, could be great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miramar, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is very good compared to similar jobs. Position roles are very narrow, which makes them easy. Company culture is about normal, maybe a bit more friendly. The people are great to work with. It's full of solid entry-level jobs. There are travel and project opportunities that can be great and often come with good overtime pay.

    Cons

    Narrow positions makes it harder to advance to new jobs and also can get very boring and unfulfilling. Not many internal promotions that mean anything, mostly just side steps with small increases in pay. This makes the hyper specialization particularly painful since it's hard to move on to better things. You have to build skills and certifications on your own outside the company, or take a lateral position somewhere else...

    Show More
    Ross University2019-05-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist in Miramar, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ross gives me the chance to use my skills in unique and rewarding ways unlike anywhere I’ve worked. The sense of shared responsibility and interconnectedness make Ross someplace I enjoy working. Both the Dean and our CEO are focused on diversity and excellence. At Ross, we have the opportunity to contribute to the the well being of many people by helping prepare whole generations of future doctors.

    Cons

    The Cons are minor at most. HR could be more responsible and connected to the rank and file colleagues, but that is certainly not a significant issue when compared to the pros.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that the differences between the first and second floor are vanishingly minor when compared to the good we do for our students and community.

    Ross University2019-03-16
  4. "Admissions Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Assistant in North Brunswick, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved most of my colleagues! We would do happy hour regularly and had a softball team, holiday party, went to 6 flags once and could bring friends (free), and went on a dinner and booze cruise one year as the sun set on the water, had tuition reimbursement, all good things.

    Cons

    They started downsizing and everything began changing for the worse. They stopped doing fun social events and had 0 incentives anymore. People were quitting left and right and getting let go, and it became such a negative environment to work at. Then we moved locations and from then on it just was all different.

    Advice to Management

    Sharon O'dea was the best manager, take notes.

    Ross University2018-10-31
  5. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    RUSM is a great place to work. They have a culture of engagement and purpose.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for professional growth.

    Ross University2018-04-25
  6. "Former Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Miramar, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross University

    Pros

    Great Education. taught really well.

    Cons

    Island School. Have to move around alot.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Ross University2018-02-02
  7. "They really try"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross University full-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment Students are great

    Cons

    Too much favoritism Little pay

    Advice to Management

    Up the pay so employees don't keep leaving

    Ross University2018-01-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Director of Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The colleague are okay to work with.

    Cons

    The corporate head are terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Kiss butt as much as you can.

    Ross University2017-11-01
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross University

    Pros

    Family Place to work and thrive!

    Cons

    Finding the right position for each person.

    Ross University2017-10-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No Growth Opportunities/ Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Affairs in South Florida, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work schedule. Fun atmosphere among the employees. Although some students can be a nightmare, majority of them are cool and appreciative when we assist them.

    Cons

    If you are looking to move up, forget about it. If you believe that your hard work and professionalism will garner you promotional opportunities, thats a pipe dream. Leadership pretends to care about their employees but you can see right through it and it wont take longer than a few months after being hired. Forget about giving feedback or suggestions to leadership. They wont do nothing with it but they'll act like...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No advice. They don't listen anyways.

    Ross University2017-10-14
Found 36 reviews