Ross University Reviews | Glassdoor

Ross University Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Ross University CEO William F. Owen
William F. Owen
10 Ratings
  1. "Ross is Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ross University full-time

    Pros

    Colleagues aren't just co-workers, they are family!

    Cons

    Home office doesn't appreciate or understand what they have here!

    Advice to Management

    Be mindful of who & what you keep and what your let go of!

    Ross University2017-07-23
  2. "Starter Job for many"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ross University full-time

    Pros

    Social Events, Can be easy if that is what you are looking for - same work every day

    Cons

    Opportunity, Salary Increases. Lost employees due to low opportunities to increase pay over time.

    Advice to Management

    Pay for value. Deviate from strict corporate policy on pay increases.

    Ross University2017-03-08
  3. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Ross University

    Pros

    work/life balance - can be flexible

    Cons

    management keeps secrets and is not open

    Ross University2016-11-18
  4. "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ross University

    Pros

    I had a positive experience during my time at the company.

    Cons

    None that I care to mention

    Ross University2016-07-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ross University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Holiday bonus Frequent training opportunity to grow Free tuition for staff Great team spirit among different departments Great work life balance.. Keep it up

    Cons

    Can't say anything wrong about this company. Loved working there. The pay is ok and the work and life balance is great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Ross University2016-06-29
  6. "Over promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ross University full-time

    Pros

    Peers are friendly and mostly welcoming.

    Cons

    Leadership over promises and under delivers.

    Advice to Management

    Follow through

    Ross University2016-05-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away Unless You're Desperate!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Miramar, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ross University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are OK and a few good folks work there

    Cons

    - High school bullying and racism tolerated - No room for advancement unless you're a member of the "clique" - Most of management can barely write an email, as such if you're highly educated, outspoken and smart; you'll be vilified - Don't think about job enrichment, most roles involve very mundane "busy-work" and you dare not try to operate outside of your scope or go above & beyond; it'll be deemed as "you're trying...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please hire competent management or at least provide some soft skills/professionalism training. It is an embarrassment to have these people lead a medical institution!!

    Ross University2016-02-02
  8. "pass"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ross University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great sense of family, cross-training, and flexibility. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Worked there a very long time. Involved in many projects outside my scope. Took on many new responsibilities. Couldn't even get a title change after 5 years. If you are there for 5 years, expect to be only making about 3k more than your starting salary. Management full of empty promises. No opportunity for career advancement. The re-organization of the company has put incompetent people into the management staff. I...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a better look at proven experience vs the talkers.

    Ross University2016-01-20
  9. "Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ross University

    Pros

    Very student centered, good initiatives, and good life-work balance.

    Cons

    Not much availability to move up in the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Engage employees outside of their Job description.

    Ross University2015-10-19
  10. "A good starting place to get work experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Service Specialist in Davie, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture and ideas are wonderful, the belief that students come first has always been the main focus

    Cons

    there are a lot of promises that aren't fulfilled. Sometimes they are more worried about pleasing people more than helping people on a more professional level

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the colleagues, be the advocate for your employees.

    Ross University2015-10-22
Found 37 reviews