Ross University Reviews | Glassdoor

Ross University Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Ross University CEO William F. Owen
William F. Owen
10 Ratings
  1. "Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ross University

    Pros

    Very student centered, good initiatives, and good life-work balance.

    Cons

    Not much availability to move up in the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Engage employees outside of their Job description.

    Ross University2015-10-19
  2. "A good starting place to get work experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Service Specialist in Davie, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture and ideas are wonderful, the belief that students come first has always been the main focus

    Cons

    there are a lot of promises that aren't fulfilled. Sometimes they are more worried about pleasing people more than helping people on a more professional level

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the colleagues, be the advocate for your employees.

    Ross University2015-10-22
  3. "Horrible-stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Ross University full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros. For profit that steals money from students. Unable to manage students. They don't care about employees either. The island is horrible.

    Cons

    Horrible ethics. Treats students like crap. Doesn't pay enough. Island is horrible. Lots of red tape and beurocracy. Too much student debt.

    Advice to Management

    Hire smart employees. Most employees are young fresh graduates with little experience. Quick and rapid turnover so students get the short end of the stick. They don't have solid advisors or people who have knowledge of medical education.

    Ross University2015-09-24
  4. "Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ross University

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits Excellent experience working with students and other departments HR is super responsive and they care about their employees

    Cons

    A lot of turn over created chaos in terms of filling positions. At times they would.hire people just to get the job filled even if they weren't the best candidate for the job. Getting island crazy is a real thing

    Advice to Management

    Advicate for more direct flights on/off the island Bring back free transport to the airport Have more selective hiring practices rather than anxiously filling positions with less than ideal candidates

    Ross University2015-07-02
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Stay away from Ross University School of Medicine/DMI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ross University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the benefits of a large corporation (401K, training etc)

    Cons

    A lot of politics Low salaries Bad location and ugly office space A lot of running around chasing the next student intake and no real strategy

    Ross University2015-06-09
  6. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior ADA 

    I worked at Ross University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, good place to work

    Cons

    Lack of communication from executives

    Advice to Management

    Share more information

    Ross University2014-06-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Once upon a time..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Associate in North Brunswick, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ross University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, benefits, good coworkers, fair reimbursements

    Cons

    Opportunities for growth, poor communication, naive upper level management

    Advice to Management

    Once upon a time Ross University was an excellent place to work, but with much employee relocation, poor communication from the higher ups, little to no room for growth, and a growing "corporate" environment, the university I was once proud to represent has gone the way of other for profit schools. I find myself making phone calls to prospective students, sending an enormous amount of emails, and trying to "sell" the...

    Show More
    Ross University2012-12-01
  8. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Advisor in Portsmouth
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ross University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company has some positive benefits like health insurance, paid vacation, and education scholarships

    Cons

    Salary, No respect for employees, horrible communication from management, heartless organization, zero opportunity for upward mobility

    Advice to Management

    Do better

    Ross University2019-08-02
  9. "Librarian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ross University full-time

    Pros

    Educational opportunities, great co workers, flexible hours

    Cons

    no opportunity for growth, very little emphasis is put on employee satisfaction, not transparent

    Ross University2018-08-29
  10. "senior helpdesk technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior HelpDesk Technician in Portsmouth
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I do have a lot to share about the pros of working at ross but I would love to say this first . working at ross exposed my to a wide world of technology, which enhanced me with skills and experience I have today.

    Cons

    I don't have a down side working at ross university to be frank there is ups and downs in every institutions.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to advice management to please provide our staff with all the necessary tools needed it will help boost the company productivity.

    Ross University2017-10-09
Found 40 reviews