Roto-Rooter Reviews | Glassdoor

Roto-Rooter Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Roto-Rooter CEO Spencer Lee (no image)
Spencer Lee
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company to work for they really take care of there employees(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and paid time of along with loads of overtime>(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "lack of training - you can be in Fort Lauderdale and you are dispatching plumbers in Tampa and Jacksonville (where you have no idea of the area)(in 15 reviews)

  • "Sometimes you had to work long hours(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Fun place to work with regular perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispatcher 
    Recommends

    I worked at Roto-Rooter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job itself is super easy. The environment in the call center is laid back and the majority of the employees are a pleasure to work with. Gift card giveaways, catered meals, and work day bbq's are just some of the perks.

    Cons

    They love to feed you, so make sure you exercise regularly.

    Continue reading
    Roto-Rooter2019-04-22
  2. "Best company I have ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Plumber Drain Cleaner in East Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roto-Rooter full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Because Roto Rooter has the knowledge and the tools you can utilize to get your job done. By this far Roto Rooter had been the best company I have ever had the chance to work for. The last real honest meaning for a great mission statement.

    Cons

    Sometimes too corporate type thinking and customer shifting to the next day other then just going out to get the job done.

    Continue reading
    Roto-Rooter2019-03-08
  3. "Great place to work if you are a knowledgeable self-starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plumbing Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Roto-Rooter full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tremendous amount of business available, fair commission rates, and the freedom to essentially work on your own

    Cons

    It can be challenging learning good plumbing with such a short training period (3 months)

    Roto-Rooter2019-11-18
  4. "Old School Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OUTSIDE SALES in Kapolei, HI

    I have been working at Roto-Rooter full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great 401 k. Great management team.

    Cons

    You can be on call for many days a wewk

    Continue reading
    Roto-Rooter2019-11-04
  5. "Marketing Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Roto-Rooter full-time

    Pros

    You learn a lot from a broad spectrum of marketing.

    Cons

    Not many cons, enjoyed working there.

    Roto-Rooter2019-10-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "The only thing Roto Rooter treats worse then it’s customers, is their employees...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Outside Sales Representative in Worcester, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Roto-Rooter for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A $10 Turkey for Thanksgiving and a $10 Roto Rooter logo thermos for Christmas......

    Cons

    My pay has declined since the day that I started, Worst of all you walk around smelling like you just farted, They won’t tell you you’re not allowed to have facial hair, Unless it’s about profit, the management will never care! The money is bad and the training is worse, They spout of excuses like it’s lines in a verse, At Roto Rooter Christmas’s just another day, You get to work without extra pay! The charge the customers so much money, For the simplest jobs it’s not even funny! In my position 22 people have come and gone, Not a one of them have lasted that long! So to sum it all up just let me say, Roto Rooter has seen its best days! Don’t fall for the lies of pay, benefits and fun, Those days are long gone.... they are done! Last words I’ll say forever more, This is by far the worst company I have ever worked for!

    Continue reading
    Roto-Rooter2019-11-25
  7. "Field Supervisor (Outside Sales)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Supervisor in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roto-Rooter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Potential for high income, Base plus commission sales. Lots of freedom

    Cons

    High stress. High quota. Very little incentive. Poor leadership. Very poor to no employee retention

    Continue reading
    Roto-Rooter2019-10-31
  8. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roto-Rooter part-time

    Pros

    Easy job overall Offers good hours

    Cons

    Can be boring at times

    Roto-Rooter2019-10-12
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Water Manager in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at Roto-Rooter full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun and flexible work environment!

    Cons

    Bonus structure should be quarterly.

    Roto-Rooter2019-10-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "over promised , interview was not as job discribed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Marketing in Bridgeport, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roto-Rooter full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    people, nice to work with

    Cons

    very long hours, work holidays

    Continue reading
    Roto-Rooter2019-09-30
Found 207 reviews