Roundabout Theatre Reviews | Glassdoor

Roundabout Theatre Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Roundabout Theatre CEO Todd Haimes
Todd Haimes
4 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ticket Taker in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Roundabout Theatre full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Perfect work life balance. Great pay. The best supervisors

    Cons

    Nothing i can think of.

    Roundabout Theatre2019-05-26
  2. "Good company with strict rules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roundabout Theatre full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can bring your dog Usually relaxed environment

    Cons

    Have a very strict rule with punching in and out and having a lunch break

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for giving me the opportunity

    Roundabout Theatre2019-06-12
  3. "Nonprofit pay rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roundabout Theatre full-time

    Pros

    Free coffee and tea. Free tickets to each show. Retirement benefits.

    Cons

    The pay rate is unacceptable. Worked in Audience Services and felt unappreciated and undercompensated for the mental toll that most customer service jobs bring. The rest of the administrative office will not care about your department or you.

    Advice to Management

    Todd, visit Audience Services every once in a while. Raise the pay. If you are going to have a "staff bonding event", make sure all employees can attend. Many representatives aren't able to attend company workshops and events because of scheduling.

    Roundabout Theatre2018-08-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Rewards Unhealthy Behavior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roundabout Theatre full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Lots of industry comps -A lot of good people work there

    Cons

    -Moody, petty, immature management -They do not readily promote within -They don't really care about employees -Inequity in pay scales across organization

    Roundabout Theatre2018-08-08
  5. "Audience Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audience Services Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Roundabout Theatre full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Paid lunch break -Free coffee/tea -There are not many pros

    Cons

    -Poor treatment by management and other departments. -Low pay -Low staff morale -Petty management behavior

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your employees

    Roundabout Theatre2018-08-07
  6. "Audience Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Roundabout Theatre full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits (or they were when I was there). Ability to see a variety of theater.

    Cons

    Long hours, no overtime offered, uncertainty in job status, staff morale is very low (at least when I was there), upper management doesn't seem to care about workers, and a lot of turnover due to pay rate and amount of stress level.

    Advice to Management

    The management needs to treat their employees better and not have so much uncertainty whether someone will have a job in the next season or not.

    Roundabout Theatre2018-04-04
  7. "Good work, some issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Roundabout Theatre full-time

    Pros

    Roundabout is a good company to work for, they do really good work and staff believe in the mission

    Cons

    It can be very challenging to move up within the company depending on which department you work in, and pay is low

    Advice to Management

    More transparency!

    Roundabout Theatre2018-02-01
  8. "Supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Roundabout Theatre full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very employee friendly company. Understanding about needing time off for emergencies and holidays. Friendly colleagues and supervisors. Lots of employee benefits for full time staff including health care and paid time off.

    Cons

    Quick turn over - with such a talented and hard working staff there seems to be a lot of opportunity.

    Roundabout Theatre2017-12-21
  9. "A Theatre Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Roundabout Theatre full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some truly passionate, funny, and smart people at Roundabout. It feels like a family. The programming has a nice variety and the season model allows for constant new experiences.

    Cons

    Typical non profit red tape and lack of communication between departments. In my time, the marketing department was not given the level of trust I believe it deserved. Yes it's a non profit, but the pay is quite low - especially for living in NYC.

    Advice to Management

    Develop a culture for your employees that makes them excited to come to work! Give more of a voice to lower level employees.

    Roundabout Theatre2017-10-09
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Audience Services Full Time Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Roundabout Theatre full-time

      Pros

      1. Free coffee and tea 2. Paid lunch break

      Cons

      1. Low pay 2. No respect for this department from the rest of the organization

      Roundabout Theatre2017-01-23
    Found 17 reviews