Roush Industries Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
59%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Roush Industries Chief Executive Officer Evan Lyall (no image)
Evan Lyall
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment and culture(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great company, great people would recommend(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, some weekends, my role didn't pay overtime(in 9 reviews)

  • "Low pay, not much room for advancement(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't listen to the nay sayers

      Feb 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Allen Park, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic employer with great team leads. A lot of employees take this place for granted. Bunch of whiners. They have no idea how good they have it. Go in with a positive attitude and you'll go far.

      Cons

      Pay is decent but lacks in comparison to similar employers. They lose a lot of guys to Ford. Long hours during busy season.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Roush Industries Response

      HR Manager

      Thank you for your comments. We value our employees and we are glad that you are a part of our team. Roush is a great place to work and we want our employees to have a long lasting career here. We offer competitive salaries, a comprehensive benefits package for full time employees, 401k company match, tuition reimbursement to pursue educational goals, training and employee discounts. We also promote healthy lifestyles by providing a market place in many of our facilities with fresh food that is delivered daily. Positive attitudes and hard work have helped us maintain our position as industry leaders. Roush will continue to go above and beyond to provide quality products to our customers.

    2. 3.0
      Former Intern, more than 1 year

      Prototype

      Feb 26, 2020 - Mechanical Engineer in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy going, clean environment

      Cons

      Low payment, long hours, okay belefits

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      The Company Lures In Passionate Employees with Interesting Projects and then Treats them Poorly

      Nov 11, 2010 - Development Engineer in Allen Park, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some interesting programs Young, passionate, well educated Employees Casual Work Atmosphere Nice Facilities Allow employees to use facilities to work on personal vehicles

      Cons

      Uncompetitive Pay Pathetic 401(k) Company lies to new hires, guaranteeing pay raise after 90 days Performance reviews not delivered in timely matter, if at all Pay raises not merit based, usually only awarded when employee gets offer at other company Disrespectful supervisor conduct ignored by management Long hours well beyond typical time commitment expected for engineers Often asked to perform unsafe maneuvers on road, but will likely lose job if employee gets more than 4 points on their license because company insurance won't insure them Lure employees in with attractive projects, then switch them to unappealing projects (Natural gas powered vans, school buses, construction equipment, etc) Largely thank-less work environment VERY Poor morale within the company due to issues aforementioned

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Project engineer

      Oct 28, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced and never boring. Got lots of experience In a short period of time. Left Roush as a much better engineer than when I started.

      Cons

      Expected to work extremely fast and have a lot of tight deadlines. Expected to work long hours. They are very cheap and don't spend a lot on good equipment.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Starting Point

      Feb 23, 2016 - Engineer in Livonia, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wear a lot of different hats, learn a wealth of new things, get exposure to exciting secret projects, work closely with customers. Great people to work with

      Cons

      Long hours, some weekends, my role didn't pay overtime. Low pay by industry averages. A lot of poitics.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A great place to work with lots of benefits and perks.

      Mar 10, 2013 - Development Engineer in Dearborn, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive salary. Paid overtime. Interesting projects that are constantly changing.

      Cons

      Long hours for most days.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good stepping stone

      Sep 29, 2010 -  in Livonia, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Over time is occassionally available. It was a steady paycheck. A lot of diversity in activities, so a great deal of potential to learn new skills.

      Cons

      Long hours. Low pay compared to similar companies. Very little time off. No work-personal balance allowed, expected to put company before family. No job security

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Admin Assistant

      Apr 22, 2015 - Administration 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A good place to work with opportunities.

      Cons

      Some long hours and tedious work, but was not bad at all.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to begin or end your career.

      Nov 19, 2014 - Senior Engineer in Livonia, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to begin career.

      Cons

      Low pay, and long hours.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Roush Industries Job Seekers

    Test Driver
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Entry Level Engine Calibration Engineer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Roush Industries? Share Your Experiences

    Roush Industries logo
    or