KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Rover.com

Engaged Employer

Rover.com

Add a Review

Rover.com Employee Reviews about "rover takes"

Updated Mar 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 299 reviews

4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Rover.com CEO Aaron Easterly (no image)
Aaron Easterly
157 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Rover.com and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "rover takes"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Freelancer

    Great Self-Employment

    Sep 13, 2020 - Pet Sitter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can make your own schedules, take/decline clients, and make good money

    Cons

    Going into strangers houses, Rover takes a 20% cut

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Good for extra cash

    Mar 7, 2021 - Pet Sitter/Dog Walker in Coppell, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, able to work extra or less if you want.

    Cons

    Rover takes 20% of profits, not consistent

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 3 years

    Makes picking up new clients easy

    Jan 9, 2021 - Dog Walker in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy way to get into dog walking and pet sitting. Simple interface and convenient.

    Cons

    For bookings where you are paid overnight for multiple days of petsitting, the 20 percent Rover takes is a big hit to the take-home making using Rover for overnight stays cost-prohibitive in my opinion. I decided it made the most sense to stick to dog walking. On-demand dog walks pay too little as well.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good platform

    Jan 6, 2021 - Dog Walker/Dog Sitter in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Make your own pay and you can decide what jobs to take

    Cons

    Rover takes out 20% of your price Hard to get jobs, worse with COVID

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Awesome side-gig with intuitive app

    Sep 22, 2020 - Pet Sitter/Dog Walker in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Steady flow of potential clients if you respond quickly and keep your calendar up to date.

    Cons

    Rover takes a generous cut (20%) of what you make.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Good, easy side hustle

    Aug 4, 2020 - Dog Walker/Dog Sitter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Typically easy work, as long as you don't mind the full-time nature of caring for someone else's pet. Lots of pleasant dogs. Can be a fun job to do if you enjoy spending time with pets. Can pick your rates and may receive tips.

    Cons

    Rover takes a cut of the income, and sometimes you will need to keep rates low to stay competitive. Not every owner takes the time to leave a review. Some animals will not be as easy to care for as others, and pet owners are not always completely aware of their pets' struggles, may not warn you of a specific fear or bad habit.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Overall good experience

    Jun 1, 2020 - Dog Sitter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy to get connected with others.

    Cons

    Rover takes a lot of the money you earn.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Freelancer

    Good Job for Easy Money

    Jul 10, 2019 - Pet Care Provider 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The app works really well and is easy to navigate. You can pick up whichever gigs you want. If you need to contact the Rover team you can do so immediately at any time.

    Cons

    Rover takes a percentage off the top.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Great side hustle

    Jan 17, 2019 - Dog Walker in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great to make some extra money in between other jobs or school. Nice that you get recurring clients

    Cons

    Lots of driving, no tips, Rover takes 20% of your pay, very competitive

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Freelancer

    Rover through Dog Walker terms

    Jan 31, 2019 - Dog Walker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work on my own terms and schedule

    Cons

    The fees Rover takes are high

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with Rover.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Rover.com? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Rover.com

639 days ago

COVID-19
In these challenging times, we've been focused on supporting our community of pet owners and pet care providers through facilitating safe stays and offering information on best practices to keep everyone safe. During this time of uncertainty, we've seen unprecedented growth in dog and pet ownership. Working and being at home more than ever, people want to experience the unconditional love of a pet in their lives. We are excited about what's ahead and as committed to our mission as ever. Do you have a love of pets? Have you recently adopted, fostered, or gotten a dog, cat, or added another pet to your family? Or do you have a passion for making it possible for everyone to experience this love in their lives? If so, we'd love to hear from you! We're looking for a few dedicated people to join our team, and we hope you'll consider reviewing our open roles. We look forward to hearing from you!

Rover.com Photos

+ Add Photo
Rover.com photo of: Seattle Office Dog Play Area
Rover.com photo of: Rover Welcome Desk
Rover.com photo of: Rover Seattle Reception
Rover.com photo of: Rover Office
Rover.com photo of: Pack walk
Rover.com photo of: Pet sit a dog and cat
Rover.com photo of: Dog sitting
See All Photos