Royal Bank of Scotland Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Royal Bank of Scotland CEO Alison Rose
Alison Rose
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Slow growth who don't have talent to make it opportunity(in 59 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is still not good in certain team(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time

    Pros

    Good company Good management good values

    Cons

    None nonexistent nothing that affects

    Royal Bank of Scotland2020-06-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Experience at RBS"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Analyst 

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture and people! Great experience!

    Cons

    Same work. Gets very boring. Less scope for promotion.

    Royal Bank of Scotland2020-05-18
  3. "RBS"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer 

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance and good growth

    Cons

    Bad management of the teams

    Royal Bank of Scotland2020-02-08
  4. "Great place to work at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great team, exposure to other team all over the world.

    Cons

    Sad that RBS had to close so many branches all over the world.

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-12-02
  5. "Evaluated financial and trading documents of the clients and prepared financial analysis report using Excel."

    5.0
    Former Employee - Financial Data Analyst 

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not a mundane job, every day was a learning experience.

    Cons

    Fast-paced working environment, but it helped to improve my skills

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-10-22
  6. "Best company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in India, TN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive and many more etc

    Cons

    Nothing that I can recollect

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-09-30
  7. "Opportunities exist, though shrinking in scope and number."

    3.0
    Former Employee - Director 

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time

    Pros

    Good intelligent people, friendly, business is well focused on specific sectors.

    Cons

    Overly bureaucratic, internal silos can be problematic.

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-09-16
  8. "Great People, Bad Circumstances"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales & Trading Analyst in Stamford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *GD would not let me enter an earlier date, by my employment was prior to 2015. Very likable, talented team. Stamford facilities were brand new and the trading floor was second-to-none (full of light, well appointed). Too bad the operation was failing while I worked there.

    Cons

    Once thriving, brand new 1100 person trading floor began to reflect the circumstances of the bank. I hear they recently sold the Stamford office.

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-07-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not the Same"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Stamford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not much - company downsized to basically nothing.

    Cons

    No job security, not growth, no money.

    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-06-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Long and downward spiral over last 10 years"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Stamford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Bank of Scotland full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Reasonable hours and work/life balance Reasonable PTO allowance, esp if there for VPs and up and/or with tenure

    Cons

    Politics and bureaucracy continue to run rampant. All decisions made out of London - mostly bad ones not in the interest of the US business.

    Continue reading
    Royal Bank of Scotland2019-05-27
Found 3656 reviews