Royal British Legion Reviews | Glassdoor

Royal British Legion Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Royal British Legion CEO Charles Byrne
Charles Byrne
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great working environment, with lovely, committed colleagues(in 5 reviews)

  • "Senior management are really approachable and they are actively looking to make the Legion a better place(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Takes a long time to change anything within a charity(in 6 reviews)

  • "Bullying is rife from senior management who manage through fear and threat, creating a controlling environment(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Brilliant aims; negative atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Editor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal British Legion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The goals of the charity are commendable and the welfare support they provide is excellent. Overall I did feel like my work was contributing to a worthy cause. I had access to excellent external training that gave me invaluable skills, allowing me to progress in my career.

    Cons

    Some teams (including mine) had a negative atmosphere. The senior managers in my team treated juniors and middle managers like children, which led to more than half of the team quitting within a few months. Hopefully the working environment has changed since early 2018.

    Advice to Management

    Promote a healthy working atmosphere where everyone’s opinions are listened to and valued and team bonding is encouraged.

    Royal British Legion2019-08-08

    Royal British Legion Response

    August 14, 2019Resourcing Manager

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are working really hard to make the Legion a great place to work. If you want to give any further particular feedback to help us for the future, please do get in contact with the HR team.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Royal British Legion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What the charity stands for is fantastic

    Cons

    Senior management can be wasteful with charities money

    Advice to Management

    Treat the charities money like there own

    Royal British Legion2019-08-11

    Royal British Legion Response

    August 14, 2019Resourcing Manager

    Hi, thank you for your time in leaving a review. We are continually trying to improve. If you would like to discuss further, please contact the HR team.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible charity ethics and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Databaser in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal British Legion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good projects to get involved into to fix all the ongoing issues. Nice people to make friends with.

    Cons

    Terrible management, directors who do not give you the career progression when asked and not supportive. Higher level management just care about themselves and improving their position. Managers are useless and salary is not competitive although they say this is benchmarked against other charities still pay less even when shown proof. Waste of your supporters money hiring expensive consultants when not needed.... Spend hige amounts on annual conferences to alton towers for 3 days when not beneficial. Money could be spent on ex armed forces who genuinely need it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to colleagues when they want to grow or progress. Improve salaries not just brush it under the carpet

    Royal British Legion2019-08-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great charity and place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Procurement in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal British Legion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Passionate, friendly people. Great office and London location.

    Cons

    Commercially a bit immature, like most charities, but we are here to change that

    Royal British Legion2019-06-24

    Royal British Legion Response

    July 1, 2019Assistant Director - HR Advisory

    Hi! Thank you so much for the review, it's great to read of your experience with us and acknowledge we are all working to improve RBL

  5. "Rewarding work supporting beneficiaries, with dedicated staff and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grants Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal British Legion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Rewarding work supporting a diverse range of beneficiaries in multiple ways - New 'ways of working' project is now complete, meaning Haig House HQ is being used more efficiently, enabling flexible working where appropriate/necessary - Staff and management genuinely care about the job and there is a clearly defined purpose - Receiving thank you messages from beneficiaries we have helped really makes you... feel valued and confirms the important work we do - Haig House HQ is very accessible, very close to Borough and London Bridge Stations, with the lovely Borough Market nearby - Supportive and friendly colleagues - Plenty of scope for career progression/development, with quarterly reviews being worthwhile and giving a genuine sense of progression. Plenty of e-learning and courses to take - Senior management are taking steps to improve staff engagement - Good social activities eg social club, Legion football once a week - Excellent to see TRBL modernising and becoming more inclusive with things like the introduction of an LGBT branch - Supportive HR if the need arises! - Pay rose vaguely in line with inflation this year, good to see the Legion moving away from previous performance-based pay

    Show More

    Cons

    - IT systems can be slow sometimes, but a) to be expected from a charity, and b) Legion IT helpdesk staff are always available and very friendly, efficient and professional

    Royal British Legion2019-05-29

    Royal British Legion Response

    June 3, 2019Assistant Director - HR Advisory

    Hi! Thank you so much for the review, it's great to read of your experience with us. I know IM&T are working hard to address the issues and are making progress every week.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Appalling Treatment of Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal British Legion

    Pros

    Great colleagues and genuinely rewarding work helping beneficiaries.

    Cons

    Management and HR are useless. Line manager had little or no people skills. HR unable to make a decision either.

    Advice to Management

    Get your priorities right and treat staff with the respect they deserve.

    Royal British Legion2019-07-02

    Royal British Legion Response

    July 8, 2019Assistant Director - HR Advisory

    Hi- so sorry to hear of your experience whilst you were with us. We really would like the opportunity to hear more about your time at RBL - please contact the AD of HR if you would like to talk this through.

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Don’t expect anyone to show you what to do, you need to learn from Google."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Adviser in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Royal British Legion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers really friendly and genuinely care about clients and each other

    Cons

    No training No structure Hands off management style

    Royal British Legion2019-05-23

    Royal British Legion Response

    June 3, 2019Assistant Director - HR Advisory

    Hi, I'm really sorry to hear of your experience during your time with RBL. If you want to give any further particular feedback to help us for the future, please do get in contact with the HR team.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "A British Institution: huge, a bit inconsistent but heading in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Royal British Legion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Head office a London microcosm with huge diversity of people - Actively encouraged to visit Legion-run services to see impact you make - Some amazing teams with great staff engagement and high retention - Good development opportunities, e.g. courses, in-house training team - Most managers flexible about working from home arrangements, hours etc - A lot of change, with new plans, policies, monitoring..., website on the way and organisational strategy refresh. Appears to be heading in right direction, if a little slowly.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Some teams with low engagement and high turnover - Frustratingly slow to change at times as huge group without fully clear vision from CEO - Difficult as a manager to use staff surveys as only run at department level every 18 months - Lots of duplication and different parts pulled together as one whole (e.g the complaints on here about their Byng House Centre... Or the positive reviews about local Legion... clubs) which makes charity less agile

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - CEO needs clear vision and to make tough decisions - Change your financial year to April to March - Change your staff surveys so managers can deploy throughout the year. And put responsibility onto managers for these scores. - CEO needs clearer vision. Group needs restructure to ensure focus and to reduce teams/people doing same work

    Royal British Legion2019-04-13

    Royal British Legion Response

    April 15, 2019Assistant Director - HR Advisory

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to upload your observations. We are working really hard to make the Legion a great place to work. Please do give this feedback direct to your AD, or contact HR, we'd love to have a chat

  9. Helpful (6)

    "Poor management at break centre, Byng House"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southport, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal British Legion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None that I can think off

    Cons

    No respect to current members of staff, management have own agendas and make the break centre feel more like a dictatorship than anything else. You say something to your manager and you are systematically belittled until you hand your notice in. Members of management spend more time writing pointless emails about rubbish and leave the staff to struggle through when short staffed, when the only reason why we... are short staff is that the rota does not meet the business needs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start showing that you care about your team. Show you are willing to help out and stop treating us like the lowest of the low.

    Royal British Legion2019-05-08

    Royal British Legion Response

    June 3, 2019Assistant Director - HR Advisory

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to upload your observations. I'm sorry to hear of your experienced, we are working really hard to make the Legion a great place to work. Please do contact HR or your Assistant Director of Breaks, we'd love to have a chat to see how we can make things ...

    Show More
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal British Legion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment, with lovely, committed colleagues. Its great to be part of a charity which has such far-reaching positive affects on those we support. Senior management are really approachable and they are actively looking to make the Legion a better place.

    Cons

    Takes a long time to change anything within a charity ..... but the intentions for change to the better are there.

    Royal British Legion2019-04-03
Found 45 reviews