Royal London "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Royal London Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Royal London CEO Barry O’Dwyer
Barry O’Dwyer
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "They really look after you and promote a healthy lifestyle and work/life balance(in 28 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours treated as one of the team(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think we can find more ways of extracting these ideas so that they are heard by senior management e(in 8 reviews)

  • "Career progression was very limited due to there only being a limited amount of roles in the office(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copy Center Associate in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Some toxic individuals have a significant effect on team morale.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure your values extend to non perm employees

    Royal London2020-01-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Analyst in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They really look after you and promote a healthy lifestyle and work/life balance.

    Cons

    Working for a Mutual is rewarding, but decision making and actions aren't always the quickest.

    Royal London2019-07-07
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and culture and work life balance

    Cons

    Investment into existing technologies sometimes overlooked

    Royal London2019-05-28
  4. "Balanced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working culture; good work life balance, encouragement of charitable activity with paid time off to partake in, available overtime, clear advancement system and ample L&D opportunities.

    Cons

    No rotational graduate schemes with integrated qualifications.

    Royal London2019-03-19
  5. "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Infrastructure Administrator in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly people - Many people willing to help and support. Able to reach out to people for support and gaining knowledge. Approachable Management - To me management at most levels feels approachable right up to top senior management. Good selection of benefits for employees. Regular updates on how things are going overall across the company as a whole.

    Cons

    Not a major con but at times it can be chaotic and the work/life balance goes out the window, but with a company such as Royal London that is driving forward progress, it is understandable to an extent.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going, keep driving us forward and keep being approachable!

    Royal London2019-01-09
  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Team Manager in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    RL is a great place to work, I have worked there almost 40 years and started in Manchester, Oxford Road. The overall package is good and the people I work with are great. Always tries to deliver the best outcomes for all our customers. They genuinely listen to customer feedback.

    Cons

    Work life balance isn’t great, but that is as a result of how successful we have become.

    Royal London2018-12-01
  7. "Royal London - A great Company and great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Coordinator in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very inclusive Work/Life balance genuinely matters to Management Salary good in comparison to similar companies Benefits are excellent People are fab Ethos is excellent Culture and Values are superb

    Cons

    I really cannot think of anything negative to say

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep doing what you are doing and attracting more excellent staff to add to those you have.

    Royal London2018-11-29
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time

    Pros

    generally a good company to work for with a relaxed atmosphere and a good work life balance

    Cons

    managerial differences in department/ functions can be quite stark

    Royal London2018-10-16
  9. "A truly great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people Work life balance Feeling valued Being empoered to make a difference

    Cons

    Systems and processes are outdated and labour intensive. But a new system is being developed that should solve most of this.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the engagement and two way communication going.

    Royal London2018-09-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Bureaucratic, Old Technology, Lack of variety, Some bad managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Wilmslow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pension, Benefits, Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Low Pay, Work is dull, world is always advancing 2x speed of Royal London

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with staff better, Treat staff better, Be open to listening to staff. Be open to new technology and methods of doing things. Explore opportunities and allow staff to show their skills instead of clipping ther wings.

    Royal London2018-08-27
Found 32 reviews