Royal Mail Reviews | Glassdoor

Royal Mail Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 922 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Royal Mail CEO Rico Back
Rico Back
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great colleagues, good pay, good benefits(in 120 reviews)

  • "Keeps you fit and plenty of overtime opportunities(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "No cons, work was casual as and when so I didn’t expect full time regular hours(in 34 reviews)

  • "Although the hourly rate is good, the part time wage is not enough to live on(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Royal Mail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal Mail part-time

    Pros

    A good job, lots of walking, nice people

    Cons

    Lots of walking. Terrible weather in Scotland. Awful uniforms.

    Advice to Management

    Get better uniforms.

    Royal Mail2018-01-22
  2. "A well protected job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Post Person/Driver in Eastwood, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Mail full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Good conditions, with holiday pay protected, and a good union.

    Cons

    Too many health & safety team talks etc.....

    Advice to Management

    To think as an individual and not just parrot fashion from The Royal Mail book of answers on any problems.

    Royal Mail2016-08-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Royal Mail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - POSTMAN FULL TIME in Medway, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Mail part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Wages are good Friendly atmosphere Overtime available

    Cons

    Hard work Early morning or late shifts

    Advice to Management

    Treat all staff fairly

    Royal Mail2014-05-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity for a new foreigner from the developing world to earn a very basic living in the western environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Royal Mail

      Pros

      Overall, for a non-graduate this would serve as a base to acquire some work experience. The basic pay package is better than most firms in the UK, which explains why many foreigners start-up with this company.

      Cons

      Conversely, for graduates of non-UK institutions who generally find themselves working here, feel and are 'trapped' in the environment which is a 'dead' end job situation for them.

      Royal Mail2013-03-21
    • "Good pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Postman/Woman With Driving in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Royal Mail part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay, good hours, keeps you active.

      Cons

      Physically demanding, hard work, bad weather sometimes.

      Royal Mail2019-04-22
    • "Postman"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Royal Mail full-time

      Pros

      Good pay and good working hours

      Cons

      Professionalism in dealing with hours and pay.

      Royal Mail2019-04-22
    • "Postman"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Royal Mail full-time

      Pros

      Great job and pay and job security

      Cons

      Very tough on your body and job is getting harder and harder

      Royal Mail2019-04-15
    • "Event assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Events Assistant in Birmingham, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Royal Mail part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good company with really good incentives

      Cons

      Nothing bad to say, very good

      Advice to Management

      Good management

      Royal Mail2019-04-10
    • "It's okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager Trainee in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Royal Mail full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      As a postie you got no stress, do your job and normally managers leave you to it. But it can also depend if your managers likes you or not but some are willing to be professional and still treat you with respect. Best job I've ever had, work-personal life balance is good. You start off with 4 weeks annual leave a year and get half a day more each year and if you stay long enough you might end up with 6 weeks (long, long...

      Show More

      Cons

      As a postie I guess the biggest con is the weather lol If you go into management you will see that Royal Mail still has a long way to go. But, still decent.

      Advice to Management

      I'd say some people in Royal Mail really need to learn and use the RM values as a life motto.

      Royal Mail2019-04-10
    • "Hard"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Royal Mail full-time

        Pros

        Short hours shifts, you finish early

        Cons

        The staff can be difficult

        Royal Mail2019-04-08
      Found 922 reviews