Royal Mail Reviews | Glassdoor

Royal Mail Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 992 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Royal Mail CEO Rico Back
Rico Back
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay and increased pay after 6 months(in 133 reviews)

  • "Better than minimum wage pay; keeps you fit; opportunity to get to know the people on your route if you don't get shifted around too much(in 42 reviews)

Cons
  • "No full time positions for the first 3 years(in 36 reviews)

  • "Although the hourly rate is good, the part time wage is not enough to live on(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Royal Mail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal Mail part-time

    Pros

    A good job, lots of walking, nice people

    Cons

    Lots of walking. Terrible weather in Scotland. Awful uniforms.

    Advice to Management

    Get better uniforms.

    Royal Mail2018-01-22
  2. "A well protected job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Post Person/Driver in Eastwood, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Mail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good conditions, with holiday pay protected, and a good union.

    Cons

    Too many health & safety team talks etc.....

    Advice to Management

    To think as an individual and not just parrot fashion from The Royal Mail book of answers on any problems.

    Royal Mail2016-08-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Royal Mail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - POSTMAN FULL TIME in Medway, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Mail part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wages are good Friendly atmosphere Overtime available

    Cons

    Hard work Early morning or late shifts

    Advice to Management

    Treat all staff fairly

    Royal Mail2014-05-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity for a new foreigner from the developing world to earn a very basic living in the western environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Royal Mail

      Pros

      Overall, for a non-graduate this would serve as a base to acquire some work experience. The basic pay package is better than most firms in the UK, which explains why many foreigners start-up with this company.

      Cons

      Conversely, for graduates of non-UK institutions who generally find themselves working here, feel and are 'trapped' in the environment which is a 'dead' end job situation for them.

      Royal Mail2013-03-21
    • "Satisfactory"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Warehouse Operative in Chelmsford, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Royal Mail part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good bathroom & vending machines & managers

      Cons

      Machines can be too loud giving you headaches

      Royal Mail2019-07-14
    • "Keeps you fit as a butcher's dog"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Postman With Driving in Plymouth, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Royal Mail full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      being outdoors, keeping fit, getting tanned, chatting with people, having a still active union, holidays.

      Cons

      physically taxing, customers with unrealistic expectations, dlivering the free leaflets/junkmail, too stringent rules for genuine sickness

      Advice to Management

      If you used to be a postie, try and remember what it was like before you pile more work onto people , if you didnt used to be a postie, you shouldnt be in management

      Royal Mail2019-07-14
    • "Great Place to Work at"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Christmas Casual 

        I worked at Royal Mail full-time

        Pros

        Great people, great managers, everyone helps you out

        Cons

        Long hours, heavy lifting and cold in the warehouse

        Royal Mail2019-07-10
      • "Delivery driver"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Abingdon, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Royal Mail full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Because I’m hard worker I still working 2 jobs at the moment dominoes delivery driver in Abingdon and refuse collector in Abingdon

        Cons

        I don’t know at the moment

        Royal Mail2019-07-09
      • "Great outdoors"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Postman With Driving in Glasgow, Scotland

          I have been working at Royal Mail part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Great job once you're outdoors.

          Cons

          Workload can be heavy some days with little help from management

          Royal Mail2019-07-09
        • Helpful (1)

          "Hard work, not as easy as it seems from the outside"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Postman/Woman With Driving in Birmingham, England
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Royal Mail full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Good pay, opportunity for overtime if you want it

          Cons

          Too much gossip and few friendly people in the work place, work in all weather conditions, have to chase my lino to get my overtime paid

          Royal Mail2019-07-05
        Found 992 reviews