Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Reviews | Glassdoor

Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 131 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology CEO Martin Bean CBE (no image)
Martin Bean CBE
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some industry standard software (which are available at other universities) are not available at RMIT(in 9 reviews)

  • "Top level management is determined to decimate education by cutting lecturers and teaching academics(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and salary, Great opportunity to progress

    Cons

    Academics are often brilliant in their field and are promoted to managerial positions based on this, yet they don't have management or leadership skills. Trying to get an academic to do anything even remotely outside of their normal position duties is basically impossible.

    Advice to Management

    Brilliant academics don't always translate to brilliant managers/leaders

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology2015-08-20
  2. "Very parochial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and a nice location.

    Cons

    Extremely parochial and bureaucratic management.

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology2018-11-02
  3. "Human Resources advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of beautiful buildings in a great location

    Cons

    No vision from HR leadership. Appalling

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology2018-04-07
  4. "Oh well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology for more than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation, low Workload and Good Vacation Time. that's it

    Cons

    Terrible management, terrible workplace politics, Terrible administration.

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology2017-01-19
  5. "Solid, exjoyable experience tutoring at RMIT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology

    Pros

    Quality working environment; excellent location within Melbourne CBD; proximity to State Library; support offered from fellow staff members and supervisors as new employee

    Cons

    University bureaucracy could be challenging to navigate; while some students were exceptional, overall academic achievement varied widely, raising some difficulties in approach to teaching; support for non-native English speakers could have been improved

    Advice to Management

    Particularly as international students become a more important university resource, greater support to bring cultural, social, and linguistic backgrounds could be increased which would likely increase student welfare, peer rapport, achievement, etc.

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology2016-08-24
  6. "Admin Assistant at RMIT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, high super rate after 1 year, good enterprise agreement, livable salary

    Cons

    Can be slower away from peak periods

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology2019-09-30

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    October 2, 2019RMIT Representative

    Hi there. Thank you so much for giving us feedback on your experience with us. It’s great to hear that you’re enjoying working at RMIT. We are well known for our good work-life balance and flexible working arrangements and it’s great that you’ve got to experience that!

  7. "Student centric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    RMIT strives to put their staff first.

    Cons

    They often fail at putting staff first

    Advice to Management

    Words are great, action is greater.

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology2019-09-22

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    October 2, 2019RMIT Representative

    Hi there. Thank you so much for leaving a review. While it’s one of RMIT’s main goals to put its staff first, it’s quite a shame that you are not quite experiencing that. Our culture is ever-evolving and we aim to build a sense of belonging on our team.

  8. "RMIT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture, strong social responsibility

    Cons

    A bit too politically correct

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology2019-09-17

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    October 2, 2019RMIT Representative

    Hi there, thank you so much for your review. It’s great that you’re enjoying the RMIT culture. We are too!

  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time

    Pros

    Overall good atmosphere, good environment and amazing teaching staff

    Cons

    Lack of student activities and club and societies

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology2019-09-11

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    September 23, 2019RMIT Representative

    Hi there. Thank you so much for your feedback. It’s great that you’re enjoying life at RMIT. RMIT does have hundreds of clubs and activities running throughout the year. Here’s a link so that you can look at all available club options https://rusu.rmit.edu.au/clubs/search. I hope you find exactly what you are looking for!

    Show Less
  10. "Good experience at RMIT University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Environment is the best ever, love it

    Cons

    close to the city, very close

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology2019-08-17

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    September 23, 2019RMIT Representative

    Hey there. It’s so good to hear that you had a great time working at RMIT! Thank you for being a part of the University. We wish you the best in your future career endeavors!

Found 131 reviews