Ruan Transportation Management Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Ruan Transportation Management Systems Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 146 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Ben McLean
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good insurance,good 401k,good pay,fellow drivers are good people,trucks are older trucks but maintenance has been observed(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great work environment with a great culture(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor communication, long hours, always short staffed, not given any recognitions for working over time, working hard, completing projects(in 6 reviews)

  • "New dispatchers need more training(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dedicated Transportation Manager in Fontana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ruan Transportation Management Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Every manager I have had has been supportive. They don't micro manage you and they are creating even more support options such as the extended operations center. Pay is good and plenty of time off right off the bat.

    Cons

    Hard to move up into senior leadership without moving to Iowa.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Ruan Transportation Management Systems2019-05-24
  2. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Specialist in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ruan Transportation Management Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with great people. Some of the best people I have ever met.

    Cons

    Low pay and insurance was insufficient.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay for the amount of time spent doing the job.

    Ruan Transportation Management Systems2019-07-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Dispatch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispatch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ruan Transportation Management Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team environment , most go above and beyond

    Cons

    Micromanaging , lack of training, long days and weeks. Some times working two weeks straight

    Advice to Management

    Train management versus turning loose and hoping understanding is present

    Ruan Transportation Management Systems2019-06-07
  4. "Be aware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Department in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ruan Transportation Management Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company worked with me when I had family issues and excepted my fmla.

    Cons

    Poor communication, long hours, always short staffed, not given any recognitions for working over time, working hard, completing projects. Lack of documentation on all systems and software. Little to no time for home life.

    Advice to Management

    Create anonymous surveys to get a feel how employees truly feel and are being treated by management and make some changes so the work environment is not so stressful on your employees.

    Ruan Transportation Management Systems2019-06-26
  5. "Best Team Job I Have Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dedicated Company Team Driver in Gastonia, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ruan Transportation Management Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Off 2 full days a week. Dedicated customer so you become familiar with routes. Clean shipper and receiver areas. Excellent pay (even though it is biweekly). Can easily get over 5,000 miles per week. Laid back working environment. Mostly limited interaction with office staff... when u start and end your week. Mostly communicate over the phone. Great benefits. Must wear company uniform.

    Cons

    If you are not prepared to run over 5,000 miles per week and do back to back, round trip loads, you might want to reconsider.

    Ruan Transportation Management Systems2019-05-01
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ruan Transportation Management Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Invests in and develops young talent.

    Cons

    Elimination of Business Intelligence Team

    Ruan Transportation Management Systems2019-04-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best Transportation Job Yet!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fleet Supervisor in Cedartown, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ruan Transportation Management Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Internal opportunities, great caliber of co-workers, appreciative drivers.

    Cons

    Kinda behind the times with tech, systems and innovation.

    Ruan Transportation Management Systems2019-04-03
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ruan Transportation Management Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company friendly management

    Cons

    I had night shift didnt like it to well

    Ruan Transportation Management Systems2019-04-04
  9. "Ruan Warehouse - Otsego, mn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Forklift Operator 

      I have been working at Ruan Transportation Management Systems full-time

      Pros

      They treat employees with fairly and they have a good starting pay

      Cons

      Some weeks have long hours

      Ruan Transportation Management Systems2019-03-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Has pros and cons."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Warehouse Supervisor in Otsego, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Ruan Transportation Management Systems full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great environment, great people, fast paced environment

      Cons

      HR department is very close minded. Higher manangment does not recognize greater issues, refuses to look for a root cause of the known problems.

      Advice to Management

      Promote from with-in

      Ruan Transportation Management Systems2019-03-19
    Found 146 reviews