Rubenstein Public Relations Reviews | Glassdoor

Rubenstein Public Relations Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Rubenstein Public Relations CEO Richard Rubenstein
Richard Rubenstein
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "For that skill, RPR is the best in the business(in 13 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Everyone that leave RPR ends up needing a therapist(in 9 reviews)

  • "Absolutely insane work environment(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "RUBENSTEIN PUBLIC RELATIONS IS FOR THOSE WHO WANT TO UP THEIR PR GAME"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice Present in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rubenstein Public Relations full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you are passionate about media relations, a talented placer, self-motivated, and dedicated to providing excellent client service, Rubenstein Public Relations is a great fit for you. I have known Richard Rubenstein for 25 years and have worked at Rubenstein Public Relations a total of 17 years between three tenures. I have had a number of managers at some top global PR agencies over the years, and I have to... say Richard Rubenstein is the smartest, most strategic and the most talented PR practitioner/ leader with whom I have ever worked. He’s not afraid of hard work, nor should you be. Richard is not a delegator. He’s in the trenches with his teams every day and is intricately involved in all campaigns. He doesn’t counsel you to take the easy way out of a bind. He will send you knee-deep into it – but you’ll come out on the other side of the situation stronger and with valuable experience. You will learn to raise your own bar in terms of results. If you follow the path, you’ll improve your ability to secure significant media coverage for your clients. Richard is in it with you. Let him in and trust him. I did and he made me better at the craft than I was before I met him. I credit him for much of the successes I’ve had at this agency (and other firms too). In an age of integrated marketing, digital, mobile and every kind of campaign you can imagine, there is a still place for someone who can place the big profile feature in a tier-one newspaper or magazine – and secure that national television segment for your client. Trust me, in any agency having killer media skills is highly valued. For that skill, RPR is the best in the business.

    Show More

    Cons

    Public Relations is not an easy profession. For those who get the adrenaline rush when they score a significant feature for a client, the stress is worth it. Like any firm, Rubenstein Public Relations comes with inherent pressure to bring your “A Game” every day to client service. There is no job in our industry that’s easy and without stress. (and if you have no stress in your PR job you may be doing something... wrong.. just saying).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Company gatherings - big or small scale - are significantly valuable to the staff.

    Rubenstein Public Relations2018-06-11
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Life lessons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rubenstein Public Relations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I truly believe Glassdoor is a great resource for people to share their experiences with the world. Nevertheless, you’ll find that people only write reviews when they have had negative experiences and will leave their reviews in the heat of the moment. I’m not going to defend that RPR was a positive experience. But sometimes moments in your life where you are supposed to learn a lesson isn’t always about good or... bad. The day I quit RPR was a day a thousand weights were lifted off my shoulders. However, still to this day I find myself thanking Richard Rubinstein for the opportunities he gave me to learn and grow within my career. RPR has a very weird dynamic. You are either Richard’s favorite, forcing your direct supervisors to hate you, or Richard hates you, forcing your direct supervisors to love you. No in between. I was one of the unique few that Richard decided to favorite. All the bullying and disgusting outbursts everyone will talk about on here was never once directed towards me. I saw him speak that way to other people, and yes I thought it wasn’t right. However, since I wasn’t being bullied directly from him, my SVP’s took it upon themselves to bully me. They micro-managed me to the point where no matter when I was doing something right, to them it was wrong. They disrespected me in ways no manager should ever speak to people on their team. But again, the lesson I learned is as I grow within my career and get the opportunity to manage people - i know for a fact exactly how I DONT want to manage people. Richard might not present himself in socially acceptable manners, but I have nothing but upmost appreciation and respect for him. He gave me opportunities and chances my direct supervisors thought I was to green for. He defended my work and mentored me to grow in areas I expressed interest in. He made a point to ask how I was doing and about my family. And most importantly, he took time out of his very busy day to teach me. Since working at RPR, I have moved my way up the corporate ladder and know for a fact I wouldn’t be the publicist I am today without working at RPR. I wouldn’t recommend working at RPR for only one reason: the senior level employees. At the end of the day, it’s your direct supervisors jobs to help you grow, not Richard. He didn’t set the best example, but there is absolutely no excuse why they also chose to act in such disrespecting ways. With that being said, I have to say thank you to RPR and for every life lesson you taught me - whether it was good or bad.

    Show More

    Cons

    There was zero work life balance. I found myself working 12 hour days a lot, and 100% because the senior staff didn’t do anything expect delegate EVERYTHING down.

    Advice to Management

    Hire an HR individual that is for the people. Someone who can listen to their struggles and actually understand everyones pain and frustration.

    Rubenstein Public Relations2019-07-29
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Was Naive Enough to Think it Couldn't Happen to Me..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Publicist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rubenstein Public Relations full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful office with great snacks.

    Cons

    I witnessed Richard Rubenstein's erratic and unprofessional behavior very early on into working at RPR, but I naively believed that because I worked directly under a wonderful SVP, that I was in the clear of his tantrums and abuse. I was wrong. A little over a month into working at RPR I was personally attacked at my cubicle by Richard, for picking up a call from a client at my desk. His unspeakable outburst... was so demeaning, degrading and uncalled for, and I was out of there the next day. I hope to encourage others who are unfairly treated by him or anyone else to exit with dignity and self respect. He is literally a grown up baby and so similar to Donald Trump in his mannerisms and way of speaking (whining) that it's eerie. He creates the textbook definition case of a toxic work environment on a daily basis, by choice, and thinks the way to fix this is by writing up fake positive glassdoor reviews. His behavior is alarming and not okay. His higher ups are also at fault, for not holding him accountable and turning a blind eye to what he does. He's literally chasing great employees out the door.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    RR NEEDS HELP! Seriously, what kind of childhood could he have had to turn out to be the monster that he has?

    Rubenstein Public Relations2019-06-19
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Much is Expected in a Stressful Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rubenstein Public Relations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have real responsibility for managing clients who expect real results

    Cons

    Top executive can be a cruel critic and unsupportive

    Advice to Management

    Less fear in the office and be more supportive of real effort and challenges

    Rubenstein Public Relations2019-03-29
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Zero Stars // Terrible PR Agency // Horrible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rubenstein Public Relations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offices are nice. This is the only pro.

    Cons

    Rubenstein PR is a horrible place to work due to Richard Rubenstein. His treatment of staff is unspeakable. UNSPEAKABLE. His verbal abuse and workplace bullying - which I personally experienced on a day to day basis - are traumatizing and unproductive. The company’s inability to retain employees can only be matched by its inability to retain clients. This is because Richard makes unrealistic promises to clients... that his staff - no staff for that matter - could deliver on. He’ll say whatever it is he needs to say to win business, even when what he promises is impossible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to management (Richard) is: 1-Refrain from degrading, disrespecting and bulling your staff. Also, stop referring to a woman’s menstrual cycle in the workplace. It’s not ok. Like ever. 2-When it comes to clients, stop letting your mouth write checks that your... bottom can’t cash. It sets both you and your staff up for failure. 3-Treat people the way you yourself would like to be treated. Or at... the very least, like human beings. 4-Staff accounts appropriately and be transparent with clients about how many people are working on the account. Sometimes (as is most of the time) one VP and one admin is not enough. 5-Learn the meaning of integrity.

    Show More
    Rubenstein Public Relations2019-04-01
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Take a job here if you enjoy being tormented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SAE in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rubenstein Public Relations full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great pay. - Free snacks. - Beautiful office.

    Cons

    - Must be a waspy, thin, twenty something to get hired here. - So many crying girls. - Daily yelling and humiliation from management. - Everyone that leave RPR ends up needing a therapist.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company and retire.

    Rubenstein Public Relations2019-03-08
  7. Helpful (16)

    "WARNING: If you respect yourself, do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rubenstein Public Relations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only pro I can think of is the monetary compensation. Other than that, there is none.

    Cons

    If I could give this review 0 stars, I would. The environment is toxic so if you enjoy being unhappy - this place is the right fit for you! This is not a bitter former employee writing this... I left and sought out a better work environment because this place made me go back to therapy - it was THAT BAD. Save yourself some trouble and work at a more prestigious PR firm that will treat you right. DO NOT... settle it is NOT worth it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just try being a decent human being - it could save your practice.

    Rubenstein Public Relations2019-02-09
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Don’t take the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rubenstein Public Relations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People who are hired to work there are the most capable I’ve seen.

    Cons

    By the time these capable people who are hired to work there have been there a few months, you can see all their enthusiasm for PR and their energy drained out of them. It’s truly a suffocating place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff better because in most cases, they’re better than you are (whether you want to admit that to yourselves or not). Face the truth - there’s a high turnover because you- management- are doing something very wrong.

    Rubenstein Public Relations2019-01-31
  9. Helpful (16)

    "Shockingly Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Supervisor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rubenstein Public Relations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some good employees who deserve better. Lots of autonomy - until Richard decides to think about your account. Structure at the time provided an assistant to Supervisor level which is unique.

    Cons

    Absolutely insane work environment. It's not that the work was too demanding or accounts were overwhelming, it's that the founder's practices and leadership style is so antiquated and demoralizing it's impossible to stay focused. He would berate employees on a daily basis, ridicule your work, humiliate you in front of your colleagues, knock you down a peg whenever he felt you might be getting too confident in your... work, and generally act insane within the office. He surrounds himself with young women to stroke his ego and make him look cool in front of new clients. Dare you try and avoid him just to stay focused on your work, you might be docked for not being friendly enough to him (that happened). Management uses shady tactics to keep you on your toes, like telling you all your clients are in peril when in fact you know they aren't. SO much energy was spent on bizarre attempts to have a fun culture. Literally an entire coalition would be put on planning a party or parade or whatever. And whatever is in the works, it is all you'll hear about. Extremely unprofessional environment with subpar clients that didn't make the cut for the other, legitimate Rubenstein. For employees and clients, it's all churn and burn here. If you take a job here despite all the terrible reviews and awful industry reputation, expect crippling anxiety.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This type of leadership and culture is no longer acceptable. Times up.

    Rubenstein Public Relations2019-01-24
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Investment banking level of stress but with lower pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Level Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rubenstein Public Relations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - If you survive one year here, you’ll have your choice of agency after you leave. - Incredibly talented and insanely hard working staff. - Beautiful and impressive office. Great optics.

    Cons

    - Daily humiliation. - Unreasonable expectations, almost laughable. - Having to watch your coworkers slowly crack a little every day is incredibly sad.

    Advice to Management

    Provide free mental health services to the employees that you break.

    Rubenstein Public Relations2018-11-14
Found 77 reviews