Rubicon Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Rubicon Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Rubicon CEO Nate Morris
Nate Morris
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits with innovative leaders that allow you to take an active role in helping to reshape the waste industry(in 18 reviews)

  • "Fantastic office that cultivates a collegial work environment(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, pay could be better(in 12 reviews)

  • "Can be competitive and too fast-paced for certain people(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Mission-driven, passionate team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rubicon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came to Rubicon because of its mission to end waste. This is a goal everyone stands behind. Whether working in sales or strategy, whether an expert or enthusiast, industry veteran or newbie - this positive mission is a huge motivator, bringing teams together. From a work perspective, the culture is fun and collaborative, the benefits competitive and the office environment relaxed but professional. I look forward... to growing with this company!

    Show More

    Cons

    Some growing pains as expected for a company of this size and age - staffing, internal comms, collaborative tools. But clearly turning a new leaf.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring movers and shakers that aren't afraid to seek out the most strategic and creative solutions. Don't let performance KPIs discourage people from taking calculated risks and pushing beyond their comfort zone.

    Rubicon2019-08-16
  2. "GREAT PLACE TO WORK..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recycling Logistics Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rubicon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working towards Ending Waste provides a sense of pride and the company works together to do their part.

    Cons

    For me, it was the traffic issues between home and work.

    Rubicon2019-10-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    "All-male Leadership and High Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rubicon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rubicon provides great health benefits that are completely paid by the company.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, Rubicon does not have ANY female leadership which severely affects the culture of the company. There is a huge gap between employees and the executive leadership team. This is exacerbated when Rubicon hires temps and doesn't invest in full-time employees or provide any career growth opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Rubicon should invest in full time employs and help them grow with the company!

    Rubicon2019-10-07

    Rubicon Response

    October 10, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Rubicon is a mission driven company and we are proud to be a certified B-Corporation as well as named a Great Place to Work™ in 2018 and 2019. Contrary to your claims, Rubicon has over 20 female employees at the management level or above, including female members of the Executive Leadership Team and Board of Directors. In addition, we pride ourselves in our open door policy amongst our executives, and the significant lengths to which we go to support our employees. Should you wish to discuss these matters further, we would encourage you to reach out to a member of our Human Resources team directly.

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Rubicon full-time

    Pros

    Great co workers and office environment. Great location .

    Cons

    Hours and very demanding .

    Rubicon2019-09-09
  5. Helpful (3)

    "extremely toxic culture with precocious leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vendor Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rubicon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -flexibility with work hours -exposure to numerous business segments and lines of operation -medical benfits

    Cons

    -the middle and upper management is in awful form these days with weekly instances of disrespect and poor taste -little to no trust is intact -the folks that put in the hours and grind to make the business successful are the ones who never rise to the top; there are examples of employees littered throughout the organization who have no business being in their manager roles -you are not compensated for the work... you ultimately are asked to take on

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If this organization is to have ANY opportunity to achieve success, over-sweeping changes to middle tier leadership must occur. Routinely are the wrong folks placed into these positions, who possess no people management skills and are incapable of leading by example. There is a blatant lack of respect for the common employee. Advice to anyone is to stay far, far away.

    Rubicon2019-08-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Very unstable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Rubicon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lunch brought in a couple times a week.

    Cons

    Very unstable. Turnover is ridiculous. When you interview just keep asking how long each person has been there.

    Rubicon2019-08-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Cool idea of company, but all talk - no real substance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Something Made Up 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rubicon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Entrepreneurial environment, everyone is thinking of how to improve the business and create their own. -Because it's a start up, changes happen quickly. -Neat concept, who doesn't want to improve waste management and create less waste by redirecting trash to recycling centers to help save our planet? -The technology can be great for large companies to ensure their trash/recycling goes where those trash... vendors say it will. -Great benefits and pay can be great depending on role. -Neat networking opportunities.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Unfortunately, Rubicon is more of a glorified waste management broker. How can they take business away from the big dogs and give to the smaller/local waste management companies(which has its benefits too, like holding trash vendors more accountable)? -Job titles are made up to sound more impressive than they are - how many VPs or Directors can you actually have? -Hires a lot of people with great credentials to... utilize their network and drops many of them without giving them the ability to make an actual impact in the business. -Little to no direction on daily/monthly/year job functions -No KPIs for non sales employees to actually measure them on their performance -It's a male "good ol' boy" dominated company, therefore you have to kiss up to get ahead -Everyone is looking for their own next big networking break. Think Hollywood/LA/DC environment -Will promise a lot to both customers and employees, but deliver a little -If job security is what you want, don't count on this company

    Show More
    Rubicon2019-06-27
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rubicon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, purpose driven, good work life balance, great benefits and fair pay, great core company values, opportunities for long term success

    Cons

    Constant growth requires a lot of change, but can be a positive

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the positive impact you have on your employees

    Rubicon2019-04-30

    Rubicon Response

    May 6, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Rubicon is a mission driven company and we are proud to be a certified B-Corporation as well as named a Great Place to Work™ in 2018 and 2019. We appreciate the hard work and dedication of our employees in our mission to end waste.

    Show Less
  9. "Great place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rubicon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits Fun Work Environment Opportunities for internal growth

    Cons

    Can be competitive and too fast-paced for certain people

    Rubicon2019-05-07
  10. "To End Waste"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rubicon full-time

    Pros

    Working for a mission-driven company (B Corp), great colleagues, fantastic benefits, opportunities for learning and advancement.

    Cons

    Long hours - but it's worth it

    Rubicon2019-04-30

    Rubicon Response

    May 6, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Rubicon is a mission driven company and we are proud to be a certified B-Corporation as well as named a Great Place to Work™ in 2018 and 2019. We appreciate the hard work and dedication of our employees in our mission to end waste.

    Show Less
Found 138 reviews