KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Ruby

Is this your company?

Ruby

Add a Review

Ruby Employee Reviews about "callers"

Updated Oct 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 239 reviews

3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Ruby CEO Kate Winkler
Kate Winkler
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "The leadership continues to develop and provide excellent examples for receptionists(in 20 reviews)

  • "Consistent, good pay scale, great benefits, forward thinking company, inclusive(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You talk to frustrated callers many times a day(in 33 reviews)

  • "As an example, when I started Ruby pushed hard to have their receptionists meet stats(in 32 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Ruby and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "callers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very surprised

      Jul 30, 2020 - Receptionist in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I must say this job has me surprised as I get settled in I find more and more pleasant things about the company. I like the culture for sure and training is spot on even with a remote connection with my coaches. It seems callers get the best treatment from this company for our consumers benefits which indeed drives business.

      Cons

      Haven’t found any cons yet

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Meh......

      May 4, 2020 - Virtual Receptionist in Beaverton, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Flexible hours -Medical, Vision, Dental, 401k -Friendly coworkers -Ability to personalize your work space

      Cons

      There are several cons to this job. It may look and sound like a happy place to work, but there is so much hidden from the public eye. For starters, this job is unbearably taxing on your mental health. Callers can be very abusive, and if you mention it to management they tell you to step away for a few minutes to calm down and then get back on calls. There is very little support given for the daily abuse Receptionists encounter. While we’re on the topic of management, most of the coaches and managers are cliquey and play favorites. If you aren’t being the bright ray of sunshine they want you to be, you are treated more harshly than your peers. While upper management may say their doors are open and say they want to hear from Receptionists, their actions do not match up to that. They expect to hear only what they want to, and if you have something negative or constructive to say, you better be prepared to have your entire career brought to a standstill, or worse yet get terminated.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Tech

      Join the conversation on

      Tech

      1y

      a 

      Sales Engineer

      Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

      562

      184 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      chillax

      Sep 11, 2020 - Receptionist in Beaverton, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      insurance benefits, compensation, time off, reimbursement opportunities, raises, a company that at least tries to care. I've worked at Ruby for 2 years as a receptionist and I've seen it weather a lot of different issues and changes in that time and through all of it, the company has continued to care about its employees. There have been no layoffs, extreme efforts to reasonably accommodate employees, transparent and OVER communication, and a strong effort to be flexible. Truly, I'm in awe over the efforts that this company has gone to, to ensure we have job security and are taken care of. Coaching calls is example of a specific issue that management heard our feedback and changed because of it. These were calls where coaches from another center would call in as fake companies and "test" you to make sure you were handling calls accurately. It felt very deceptive and was way too subjective, and they weren't even of much help because coaches had a required amount they had to do, so all the calls were basic and didn't allow for many learning opportunities. Through a process of several months and many meetings and requests for feedback, they did away with coaching calls and came up with a much more objective and standardized way of auditing random calls and getting us feedback. I understand a lot of people are upset that annual raises, etc are on hold while we and the company make it through COVID but I'll be frank. I don't care. Yes, pay raises are a nice incentive. But at $17.75/hr I make more now than I did as a manager at a multi-million dollar company for 6 years. In the six years I worked there I was given 2 raises, one was $0.10 and the other was $0.25. I never made it over $17/hr. I'm not saying that's fair or that we shouldn't expect raises or fair compensation as the standard of living increases, but I want to put our situation in perspective. Fellow employees have also complained about the donation of $20K to BLM, and to that I want to remind people that a one time donation of a large sum is NOT comparable to a sustained and annual wage increase of a dollar/hr for 500-1000 employees. Those do not equal out. I think that the reality is that this is a company, and companies are not people, but upper management are people and they are doing their best to remain human and considerate of the bottom rung employees. Taking calls is difficult right now, but for employees who are proactive about what they need, they are being very accommodating with flexible schedules, leave of absences, adjustment in stats requirements.

      Cons

      tedious, emotionally taxing, numbers driven. It's a job. It's a pretty call center and this job is not for everyone. I think a lot of people start here thinking that it's just a "answer calls, transfer them, take a message" and move on, but you actually need to be focused and invested in your callers without taking things too personally, which is a difficult thing for a lot of people to do. Callers are frustrating and unhelpful and can be mean and difficult and that takes a toll mentally and emotionally. There are good and friendly callers and people who are nice, but it is challenging for that to make up for the amount of people who will call you an idiot for not being able to tell them what year the company they're calling started. Maintaining a separation of work/life balance is difficult while working from home. When I started out I had major anxiety about calls for 6-9 months, but then once that passed it gave way to boredom and burnout, because your job never changes. There are opportunities to be a chat specialist or call connector for part of your day, but I can't speak on it because I haven't done it, so all I can comment on is that taking calls for 8 hours can be really boring. Coaches/direct managers are also hit or miss, and it all depends on how you mesh with them as an individual, and unfortunately there is not current way to "match" you to a manager that suits your style of being managed. It can definitely make or break your experience. Also if you hate being micromanaged, this is not the place for you. Every minute of your day is accounted for (on a call, after call work, lunch, break, meeting, BRB, tech issues) and you are hyper aware of how much time you are "wasting." You also have to meet with your manager bi-weekly to work on goals that you make up because you have to, not because you're actually trying to work on anything. I've also heard that experiences also depend on which location you are at. Also if you work outside of Oregon, the base pay starts lower due to the "cost of living," which sucks. Currently we are in a red-floor which means we have more callers than we have people to answer the calls, which is definitely a challenge. Management is doing their best to hire, but it's difficult to beat the amount of turn over and the amount people who need to call businesses. Unfortunately there is not much else that can be done for instant gratification.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Take 200+ calls a day, every day. Thats it.

      Aug 11, 2020 - Virtual Receptionist in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free coffee and snacks. decent PTO (if they ever let you take any)

      Cons

      The toxically peppy environment is paper thin. Its an unsustainable workload, dealing with irate and distraught callers with no sympathy from supervisors. They are deliberately understaffed so nobody could get a day off, constantly taking on new clients and upping the workload despite horrific turnover rate. You're afraid to do anything for fear of your micromanaging supervisors criticizing you for it. Youll be told to stop with the "Umms" while being actively yelled at over the phone hours a day. Even a $15.50 base pay isn't good enough given the work load. Answering 200+ calls a day, day in day out, with no end in sight and no appreciation is unbearable. I came home depressed and hollow. My wife was devastated at how it left me. I had to quit for my own health.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Out of Touch

      Aug 11, 2020 - Virtual Receptionist in Beaverton, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My coach is fantastic. I have heard horror stories of others but I can’t say one bad thing about mine. They are a great leader. Consistent hours Benefits fellow receptionists are great support and great friends

      Cons

      We are grossly underpaid for the amount of labor we are putting into this company. Covid 19 has completely deconstructed the way we perform the job as well as how we handle both the abuse from callers and the negligence of upper management. On one hand I commend upper management as what we are dealing with is a bad hand of cards for anyone. Everyone is stressed everyone is scared. But simultaneously the situations we have faced have made it even clearer to me that upper management is out of touch with the bottom line. In fact, I have decided to write this review in a response to one of Kate’s many daily messages asking us “what’s up with the Glassdoor reviews?” Like really? That’s what you are worrying about right now? I did not even care to check until she mentioned it. But here I am contributing to what I believe is the truth and if Kate and anyone else in high management had any true integrity, they would look at this review and understand that it’s not all peaches and cream. I know they are trying to get new hires on board but I don’t think that they realize that the turnaround is going to increase without the office culture to give the Nubys more reason to stick around. Instead they just get to deal with rude callers and self important people that think they are above you and your pay grade. There is a stench of elite liberalism within this company which is ironic when you consider the amount of customers we take calls for that don’t align at all with Ruby’s core values or the political beliefs that Ruby pretends to preach. Not to mention the numerous people we take calls for that NEVER call back their callers and YOU get to be the person that has to deal with their rage. I once had a customer make a racist remark about a caller on the other line and I don’t believe anything was ever done about it. Doesn’t matter though when the cash flows into Ruby’s pockets. There’s just so much garbage that we are dealing with and most of it has already been detailed in the many reviews on here. I just wanted to voice my opinion on this platform as upper management is trying their hardest to make these “negative” reviews seem phony when in fact I would imagine all the positive reviews have come from those who have received promotions during this difficult time. Oh yes that’s funny. People getting promotions when the rest of us can’t get time off without calling out or when our wages have completely stagnated. They’ve offered a carrot in front of the head with a tentative date but I don’t believe it.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful

      Ruby Response

      CEO

      Hello, First, I want to recognize the pain that you’re speaking to in your review. You are right, there is fear and stress everywhere in our world right now with the worsening COVID crisis, friends, family and colleagues still fighting for basic human rights, the divisiveness within in our communities, and the isolation of working from home. All of this threatens our sense of safety and security and takes a tremendous toll on our mental health. As soon as COVID became a reality in our local communities, our first and most important step after getting everyone working from home was to build a plan that would allow us to weather the COVID storm for the long term while maintaining stable employment and current wages for our team members. This came with some difficult decisions including wage and bonus freezes. Despite the continued pressures of a prolonged pandemic and economic downturn, we did make the decision to move forward with annual wage increases for our hourly employees in late September. While the Receptionist role is demanding, we recognize that the stress within our communities has caused an increase in negative callers. Our Receptionists are always encouraged and empowered to hang up if a caller becomes abusive. We also have an escalation process to report abusive calls and we monitor for trends. If we find a pattern of abusive calls, we will work with our customer towards a solution and are prepared to end the relationship if needed. We are also offering additional resilience training to our Receptionists to manage through our current environment. As your review stated, we were hiring many new Rubys over the summer to help us fill the staffing gap due to our employees needing to work less because of COVID impacts. Many of our Executive and Senior leadership team members were regularly taking calls to support the floor while we ramped up remote hiring and onboarding. To address your mention of promotions, we have remained committed to investing in career development for our employees. As we backfill vacancies and build out new positions, we are doing so with an eye on promoting internal employees into open roles first. The reason we brought attention to Glassdoor is that while we know some of our Rubys feel more comfortable expressing their concerns in anonymous forums, it is difficult to act on this feedback and have the hard conversations that result in true change. We also felt that the representation on Glassdoor was out of balance with the positive feedback we hear from so many employees every day. That said, we encourage everyone to share their honest opinions and experiences. Communication and feedback loops are critical, and I hope you consider signing up for one of my office hours sessions so I can listen and understand your concerns directly. We truly believe that Ruby culture transcends beyond our physical office spaces. As energizing and bright as they may be, it’s the kindness and care, the desire to make meaningful connections with others, and the desire to help our struggling small business communities get through this pandemic – that’s the Ruby spirit that makes our culture so special and so strong. I hope your experience has improved since writing this review and I welcome the chance to connect in person. Kate

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Many Job Perks for a lot of Emotional Labor

      Sep 27, 2019 - Receptionist in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Take a break for water or bathroom anytime you need. Opportunity to leave work and go home early (but not get paid) Good benefits including 4% match contribution after 6 months, pet insurance, extra days off, wellness stipend, snacks, etc Good meaningful relationships with management (who are titled cultivators) who genuinely care about your well-being as much as they care about your performance. Clear expectations of what is defined as good performance and all your performance numbers are easily available to view. Great processes for feedback, and many open channels of communication.

      Cons

      You talk to frustrated callers many times a day. You don't always have the information they ask, but have to find ways to talk to the caller without providing what they need (You don't know when their Lawyer will call them back). Bonus if you have a positive upbeat attitude, because you have to find ways to connect with clients while on the phone and send them gifts. Sending gifts or note-cards is part of the job.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not the job they sell you on

      Jul 20, 2020 - Receptionist in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, good benefits, progressive culture

      Cons

      You are abused everyday. Both by the callers and the customers of the answering service. I've been cussed out by a customer who had called everyday for the past 3 weeks (We can check message history and I verified this) and STILL hasn't gotten a call back from the person. I've also been cussed out by the customers of Ruby for following the directions the customer themselves set. They say the job is mostly taking messages. But it's mostly taking abuse.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      Ruby Response

      CEO

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. There’s no question that the role of a Receptionist can be demanding at times. Our Receptionists work hard to help our customers’ callers feel cared for and heard. When it comes to difficult callers, we know this can be a very real pain point for our team members and has worsened as tensions across the globe are heightened in the pandemic. Receptionists are trained in de-escalation, and if a caller becomes abusive and refuses to remain professional, Receptionists are empowered and expected to end the call. We also have an escalation process for reviewing accounts for trends of abusive callers. We will work with our customer to improve the situation and ultimately are prepared to end our partnership if the situation doesn’t improve. At the same time, we can’t punish a customer for an occasional angry caller. Additionally, we are working on more training and tools to support our team in handling difficult calls given the current climate. From the start of COVID, our commitment to our employees has been to be a stable employer and to make it through the pandemic with no layoffs or wage decreases. With that commitment came some difficult tradeoffs to protect our organization and employees for the long haul. This included wage and bonus freezes. However, we are very happy to share that we are reinstating wage increases in October for all hourly employees. We have also increased our annual Wellness Stipend to support personal wellness and the funds can also be used to improve home office workspaces. I’d also like to share more about our $20k donation to support racial equity and justice. Last year, we donated about $100k to local nonprofits and we paid for an additional 764 hours of volunteer time. With COVID, we had to rethink this level of spend, but didn’t want to abandon our commitment to the community. We decided to focus our commitment this year to support a Black Lives Matter nonprofit voted on by our employees. I’m very proud that we were still able to make this investment in our community and received overwhelming positive feedback from our Ruby community. We wish you luck on your next adventure and thank you for your time at Ruby. Thank you, Kate Winkler, CEO

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A profitable facade

      Jul 13, 2020 - Problem Solver and Happiness Maker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ruby definitely likes to have a polished appearance, which includes lots of material things like fancy offices and lots of parties

      Cons

      I started as a receptionist and after about three months I was completely emotionally drained from the consistent verbally abusive calls. I had callers who yelled at me, called me names, and in one case, threatened to find me and kill me because I could only take a message and couldn't connect them with the person they were calling. It's widely known among receptionists that it takes a serious emotional toll. So if you go into that job with anxiety or depression, there's a good chance it will get worse. I was promoted to the customer service department just a couple months before I was due for a raise. The increase in pay with the new position was actually less than the raise I would have received in my receptionist role, but I was taking on much more responsibility and stress. Very quickly after I moved into that department, my supervisor made my life a living hell. She was short with me and made me feel stupid for asking questions. I talked to my manager about it, basically to get advice. My manager told me in confidence that this supervisor had received serious "talks" in the past for the same behavior reported by other employees, so she was taking my feedback seriously. When she spoke with my supervisor, she told her I was the person that approached her, even though she promised she wouldn't. That resulted in a surprise one on one meeting with my supervisor who started crying immediately. She didn't apologize and I felt she manipulated me into dismissing her behavior. She later became my manager and things got much worse. She was very passive aggressive and highly critical of my work. I eventually came to dread going to work and having panic attacks on a regular basis. I asked around and found that every person I talked to under her management had the same experience. The people she managed felt bullied and belittled. When brought to the attention of the department head, it was dismissed as an interpersonal conflict that needed to be worked out between us because "feedback goes both ways" without acknowledging the blatant fact that there's a power dynamic that does not make me equal to the person who decides if I get a raise or even keep my job. I left not long after that because I didn't see any potential for improvement. I realized quickly after leaving that the stressed caused by that unhealthy and unprofessional management was having an impact not only on my mental health, but my physical health as well. To this day, 2.5 years later, I still have stress dreams about that manager. Ruby touts itself for providing an excellent employee experience, but in my experience, that is an ongoing external marketing campaign and a very superficial internal effort to keep employees "happy", with no action to back it up besides cupcakes and ping pong tables.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful

      Ruby Response

      Chief Operating Officer

      Thank you for taking time to write this review. I appreciate hearing your experience, and I’m sorry to hear that yours was not a positive one. That’s not the experience we want for any Ruby. We want to assure you that much has changed in the last 2.5 years, including new leadership and restructuring in our Customer Success department. It’s no secret that the Receptionist role is demanding and because of the industries we serve, calls can be sensitive in nature. Since the time of your departure we’ve refined our call escalation process and we are currently working on other solutions and training to better support Receptionists with these difficult calls. In terms of listening to our employees, we have many avenues, including 1:1 office hours with our five Executive Team members, listening sessions, our Ask Me Anything site for employee questions, and confidential surveys where Rubys are encouraged to share their feedback and experiences anonymously. We very much wish you luck in your future.

    10. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Cue the staged positive reviews! (DON’T BE FOOLED)

      Aug 12, 2020 - Receptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Health, Dental, 401K benefits -Pretty offices that we don’t get to work in.

      Cons

      Candidly, I have been holding off on writing this review for years. Partially because I want to be absolutely certain that I am painting a very, very clear picture of what Ruby as a company has turned into, and partially for fear of retaliation. Like many other reviewers, I’m not even sure where to begin but I’m going to do my best to cover my bases. BELIEVE THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS. They are spot-on 98% of the time. Ruby used to be an incredible company to work for. This place was my home away from home. A safe place where I felt supported and cared about. That’s not what this place is anymore. Don’t be fooled by the positive reviews you see now from people who have been with the company for 5 minutes and are still being sold on the wonderful company that Ruby used to be 5+ years ago. Give it a couple months. I can see why new hires feel obligated to write a positive review. The current CEO has pushed for positive reviews since nearly the day she stepped into her beautifully decorated office. (notice the influx of positive reviews from late 2019 to early 2020.) and now again (all from yesterday and today) because she decided to once again address the company about the recent negative Glassdoor reviews is discourage everyone from using this platform as a place to vent for fear that they won’t be able to hire enough staff to cover the staffing problems that Ruby created by not taking care of their people. Turnover is OUTRAGEOUS at this point. Glassdoor is a place to speak our TRUTH so that job candidates know what they’re getting themselves into. Now that reviews can no longer be removed (as they were previously) we are being encouraged to only leave positive reviews. We. Are. DROWNING. It is NOT safe to voice our concerns at Ruby because favoritism and retaliation run rampant and management (mostly our clique-y, catty, gossipy, under-qualified “coaches” are extremely toxic and will absolutely destroy your character behind your back.) Coaches are like the kids in school who used to be picked on and know how awful it can be (because they were once receptionists as well) but have since become popular and let it all go to their heads. They have a holier-than-thou attitude and presence and don’t give a damn whether or not you’re suffering because they don’t have to anymore. Proceed cautiously and sugarcoat EVERYTHING If you want to stay employed. I highly recommend that you do not vent to anyone who may see your views as negative energy. You will be deemed “not the right fit”. I’ve seen it happen a hundred times. This is a cult, not a company who values your individual opinions and they will only take so much “push-back” as they call it. The words “Expectations” and “Unsustainable” are thrown around like confetti and they are used to micromanage and hold you accountable to their completely unrealistic metrics. These catch-all phrases are used to punish you and make you feel sub-par when being disciplined for being human and needing to take a mental breather from the phone a little too often or when you can’t take calls even if it’s due to tech issues that are out of your control. Don’t bother reaching out to IT either because they’re rarely helpful and consistently seem annoyed by your requests for help. Upper management will respond to raw complaints with a cutesy, “We know things are tough right now but we have such a great community that sticks together!” NO, we are being forced to put your desired profits over our mental health. I have personally been told by my direct manager that when it comes down to it, Ruby is a for profit company and their service comes above all else. That’s very telling. This company does NOT care about you as an individual on any level. Ruby wants you to be a machine. A well-oiled, Stepford wife-esque machine who takes call after call after call all day long without being weighed down by the constant abuse we receive from callers AND our customers. Ask any receptionist what “Ruby tone” is and tell me that their response doesn’t sound cult-like. Pay increases have been “frozen” since March while Ruby is still able to donate $20,000 to an organization supporting BLM. Very strategic move there, Ruby. Always making sure that they look good from an outside perspective. What about your own internal community? The cost of living is HIGH in Portland and you’re just not keeping up. You have employees facing financial crisis. (Continued in the next section...)

      Continue reading
      32 people found this review helpful
    11. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a Queer Friendly and Inclusive Workplace

      Sep 1, 2020 - Virtual Receptionist in Beaverton, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      paycheck, insurance, coworkers, recognition, capitalism

      Cons

      rude management and coaches, reduced pay, no bonuses, no raises, abusive callers and customers, lack of support for their queer and POC employees, gaslighting CEO, invests in racism and homophobia as a normal business practice, uses religious insurance provider when most employees are queer, pays remote employees in other states less in the same job position

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Ruby Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ruby? Share Your Experiences

    or