Ruder Finn Reviews | Glassdoor

Ruder Finn Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 131 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Ruder Finn CEO Kathy Bloomgarden
Kathy Bloomgarden
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work-life balance, benefits and competitive compensation(in 9 reviews)

  • "ET program and made some great friends in the process(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company advise female junior staff not to plan having children in their first 3-5 years after entering the company, which is JUST SHOCKING(in 9 reviews)

  • "RF is evolving and some employees don't appreciate change(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great career growth opportunities in collaborative environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ruder Finn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started at Ruder Finn San Francisco (RFSF) office as an Executive Trainee (ET), which provided me with a fulfilling learning environment, working closely with clients and the RFSF team. The RFSF office is smaller with many overlapping accounts, so each member's input/voice is heard and valued. Ruder Finn provides its teams with many opportunities, including attending marquee industry events, pitching innovative tech...

    Show More

    Cons

    There isn't much overlap between the NY and SF teams, as they focus on different industries.

    Ruder Finn2019-05-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overservicing Clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ruder Finn full-time

    Pros

    -High-profile clients -Good place for very junior staff

    Cons

    -Outdated campaigns -Overservicing clients -Hierarchy is bloated and catty

    Advice to Management

    -More transparency with mid-level managers

    Ruder Finn2019-05-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Deteriorating Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Creative Strategist 

      I worked at Ruder Finn full-time

      Pros

      Big brand-name client, some innovation

      Cons

      Rude upper management, no interest in employee well-being

      Ruder Finn2019-05-13
    • "Startup culture with a rich PR heritage!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ruder Finn full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      The company is fiercely independent and the management intends to keep it that way. The absence of a holding company means the employees with a drive to experiment and innovate have limitless possibilities and true freedom when it comes to pursuing aspirational clients and revenue streams. Those who enjoy a startup vibe and love to forge their own career path will absolutely love working here as the company gives you...

      Show More

      Cons

      Not really a "con" per se, but unbeknownst to some, the company actually has offices in almost every corner of the world. The communication and collaboration between these offices could be better and there are steps being taken to actively bridge the geographical gaps by having employee exchange programs.

      Advice to Management

      Please bring back the RF Academy!

      Ruder Finn2019-04-02
    • Helpful (2)

      "Collaborative, zero politics, focused on great work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ruder Finn full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Not sure what to make of some of the negative reviews, but I love working at Ruder Finn – especially when I compare it to other top tier agencies. No politics (which is rare in any organization), super talented & collaborative colleagues, flat org structure, challenging assignments, and no client account is too small to celebrate (another rarity in global agencies). The CEO leads by example in being accessible, non-ego...

      Show More

      Cons

      HR is under-resourced, Cobblers’ Shoes Syndrome when it comes to marketing and internal comms, parts of internal org structure can be confusing

      Advice to Management

      New internal initiatives are great, but executing well on fewer agency priorities will go farther.

      Ruder Finn2019-03-25
    • "Good company for gaining experience, but understaffed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Executive 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ruder Finn full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -great experience: you're doing real work from the start and you get to work on interesting accounts if you speak up/prove you're capable -CEO: Kathy is great, and if you're on one of the accounts she works on regularly then you get a lot of face-time with her. -ET program: I did the ET program and made some great friends in the process.

      Cons

      The company is understaffed, so there are a lot of late nights and people are spread pretty thin.

      Advice to Management

      Invest in company culture, but don't force it. Junior staff need to feel valued and not like their just work-horses, and senior staff need work/life balance. Because everyone is stretched so thin, there's a lot of tension in the office. Some nice happy hours or company bonding activities could help, but they need to be done in a way where it doesn't feel forced or that if you DO participate, everyone is judging you for...

      Show More
      Ruder Finn2019-04-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Positive Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ruder Finn full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The clients are really interesting, and junior staff get to take on more and be more client-facing that they would at a larger agency. The office does some fun stuff like hot cocoa & cards for Valentine's Day, and pizza lunch for March Madness. Overall, I have a really positive impression of Ruder Finn.

      Cons

      I'm not working crazy hours, but there's definitely a lot of work to do. If you're someone who likes to be busy, it's not an issue.

      Advice to Management

      Increase communication throughout the agency

      Ruder Finn2019-03-24
    • Helpful (2)

      "Talented People"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ruder Finn full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      So far, I really like Ruder Finn! It's a smaller agency with smart and talented people, good work/life balance, competitive comp/bonuses, and has a flat structure with the ability to gain exposure and experience with various accounts

      Cons

      Office needs cosmetic changes and processes could be updated

      Advice to Management

      Continue to empower employees, senior leadership needs to communicate more

      Ruder Finn2019-03-20
    • Helpful (5)

      "Entrepreneurial environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ruder Finn

      Pros

      RF allows me to stretch, help out on assignments where I have little experience. The agency is a flat organization where I routinely interact with senior leadership on a daily basis.

      Cons

      RF is evolving and some employees don't appreciate change.

      Advice to Management

      Please continue to recognize employees for their hard work and dedication. Last week's employee recognition lunch was great and quite tasty!

      Ruder Finn2019-03-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "Rewards Stars!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ruder Finn full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Comp is good and the company rewards employees who perform and seems to genuinely care about your interests. We have some really interesting clients and teams come up with innovative ideas. My manager provides flexibility and I feel that I’m given more responsibility than I would get at a larger agency. Free sparkling water and soda is a good perk!

      Cons

      There have been recent late nights, but I understand that’s the nature of agency life. Everyone is extremely busy but could integrate more often.

      Advice to Management

      Please continue to reward stars Hold an agency all meeting

      Ruder Finn2019-03-14
    Found 131 reviews