Cover image for Rue Gilt Groupe
Logo
See All Photos

Rue Gilt Groupe

Engaged Employer

Rue Gilt Groupe

Add a Review

Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 642 of over 724 reviews
3.1
59% Recommend to a Friend
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
59% Approve of CEO

Found 644 of over 724 reviews

3.1
59%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
138 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Rue Gilt Groupe and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    Dec 21, 2022 - Event Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing to share here, just looking

    Cons

    Nothing to share here, just looking around

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Not a Tech driven company by any stretch of the imagination

    Jan 23, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My time at RGG had many ups and downs. I learned a ton despite weak leadership and management. I attribute this to my amazing peers and the culture we built together and maintained up until very recently despite consistent and prevalent toxicity from the top.

    Cons

    Prioritization and direction comes from the C-suite at RGG. The leadership team hasn't changed in years and remains unaffected by the recent layoffs... and yet this is the part of the organization that is the most toxic and broken. RGG leadership is driven by ego where every person in a position of real power is looking out for themselves - despite what they will say, they do not care about their actual customers and are more motivated by looking good for their boss. There's a reason their websites and apps haven't changed in any meaningful way in over 10 years - and it's not because the engineering and product teams aren't aware of best practices or what today's e-commerce shopper expects. Perception is reality at RGG - if you make a single mistake it will be held against you for years to come. You would be shocked to learn what voices are allowed to speak on your behalf when it comes to yearly reviews. Today's HR team can't be trusted to do what's right by you. There are no cost of living adjustments, managers are given very few tools to impact your comp, and salaries are low compared to the industry.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Rue Gilt Groupe team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fantastic organization and corporate culture

    Dec 1, 2022 - Recruitment Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic work/life balance, company really values it's employees & recognizes you have a life outside of work. Place where you can bring your full self to work, great people, kind environment. Best company culture I have ever worked in and I have worked in many industries. A lot of flexibility to learn new things even outside your scope of work (not siloed environment) and great internal opportunities to grow your career

    Cons

    No cons for me, but if you are someone use to working in a large 15-30k corp environment this is very different & operates a lot like a start-up, lot of autonomy, some structure - but more flex to build/create new ideas, very innovative. If you like rigid structure/process this could be a challenge for you if you struggle with a little ambiguity.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Pay

    Jan 27, 2023 - Team Leader in Shepherdsville, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy Work-home balance Pay Environment

    Cons

    Favoritism Upper management Outdated Unorganized

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great People

    Jan 20, 2023 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great collaborative work environment, and good technology

    Cons

    Need better communication from management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Technologists Shouldn't Work Here

    Jan 20, 2023 - Principal Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The engineering department is very remote friendly and work life balance is very flexible, but i still would not recommend working here.

    Cons

    This company runs on meetings. I was in an IC role but spent 36 hours a week in zoom meetings. Management of this company has no idea what they are doing. I left before this happened, but they recently laid off almost 1/5th of their staff. The layoffs were done haphazardly. They laid off literally all of their frontend engineers. They are an e-commerce WEB SITE. The methodology picking who to lay off is flabbergasting. The company leadership has no vision. One year, in an employee survey, most of the respondents said that they did not feel like leadership has a real vision for the company. With no irony whatsoever, leadership responded to this by holding employee run workshops to define the vision. They came up with a really vague buzz line. The number of active users on the site is in decline and rather than focus on expanding their user base they've tried to get existing, aging, user base to engage more. These efforts have yielded little results. The business side of leadership has been operating with the same tired playbook they have been using since the early 2010s when i first joined. This is not a tech company by any means. Leadership (including engineering leadership) has not invested in improving the company's technical capabilities in years. Efforts to improve the tech stack or provide the business with new capabilities are often vetoed by people who have no understanding of technology whatsoever. The week I left, a product owner informed me that the chief merchandising officer (yes that's a real title) was pushing back on a messaging bus required to build a feature that they allegedly was going to be a major strategic initiative. The CMO has no idea what a messaging bus is. Her objection was that it would add 3 weeks to the project. No effort, regardless of how impactful is ever given more than a quarter to succeed or fail. There's no long term vision. They consistently chase $10 today instead of $100 tomorrow. Because of how short sighted leadership is, the engineering teams are constantly hamstrung tech debt that hasn't been addressed. Core pieces of architecture were written in 2008, and have not been updated since. The result of this is that things that should take a few weeks take quarters to complete. Relatedly, initiatives are frequently abandoned. Even successful initiatives are abandoned to chase the new shiny thing that has caught someone's eye. In my last two years, every project i worked on was scrapped before it could be completed. The product org has no voice or agency whatsoever. They serve mostly as a go between between business stakeholders and engineering. The communication is always unidirectional. Stake holder tells product what to tell engineering to do. Engineering feedback is never considered by stake holders. Tech leadership does whatever it can to ingratiate itself to business stakeholders and do very poor job advocating for the technology org as a whole. They are doing whatever they can to not ruffle feathers and keep a job. They are incapable of showing the business side why the initiatives that tech needs to do are important. There's a very limited career path in technology. Principal is the highest IC role that exists, and the role is really more honorific than meaningful. When i was there I repeatedly asked for a competency model evaluate myself against, but non existed. The management side of engineering is similarly limited. I worked there for almost 10 years. Not once did I see a manager get promoted to a director. All levels director and above were consistently outside hires. This is unlikely to change because the technology org is the smaller than it has ever over the decade I worked there. The layoffs also knocked back a lot diversity. There weren't many POC or women in engineering, but there are fewer now. More women/POC were let go than currently work in engineering. I don't believe this was intentional, but another example of thoughtless leadership in a company that allegedly values diversity and inclusion.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Rue gilt groupe

    Jan 23, 2023 - Wearhouse Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice pay checks. Offer benefits.

    Cons

    I would not recommend this job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    No longer what it once was

    Dec 31, 2022 - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits really great overall including maternity and paternity leaves You will work with and meet some truly wonderful people

    Cons

    Leadership encourages a toxic environment in which nothing matters but the end result. People are just numbers and favorites are played.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Data Science Co-op Spring 2022

    Dec 7, 2022 - Data Science Co-op in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team and projects. Everyone is very helpful. You get to work on various projects at the same time.

    Cons

    Work might be a little repetative.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Nov 28, 2022 - Personal Shopper 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good virtual work environment in a remote setting

    Cons

    Pay could be better overall

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 644 Reviews
</>Embed

Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews FAQs

Rue Gilt Groupe has an overall rating of 3.1 out of 5, based on over 724 reviews left anonymously by employees. 59% of employees would recommend working at Rue Gilt Groupe to a friend and 43% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Rue Gilt Groupe employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Rue Gilt Groupe. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

59% of Rue Gilt Groupe employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Rue Gilt Groupe 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 3.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Rue Gilt Groupe to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with Rue Gilt Groupe Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Rue Gilt Groupe? Share Your Experiences

Rue Gilt Groupe logo
or

Rue Gilt Groupe Careers

Cover image for Rue Gilt Groupe

Giving back is always in style! "We have formed a true partnership with Pine Street Inn, sending volunteer teams to prepare food and serve...More

  • Diversity
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Rue Gilt Groupe

38 days ago

Culture
Happy Holidays from the Rue Gilt Groupe! We’ve been featured in Venture Fizz’s Tech Industry holiday celebration scoop. Our Associates in Boston, NYC, and KY celebrated all their hard work this year by spreading some holiday cheer! Check out a recap of the festivities:
Shared image - Celebrating The Holiday Season Throughout the Tech Industry
Celebrating The Holiday Season Throughout the Tech Industry
venturefizz.com
See all

Rue Gilt Groupe Photos

+ Add Photo
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: 2015 Values Award Winners representing Rue's Core Values
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: Human Resources - here to help!
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: Our Kentucky Distribution Center
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: Clean, organized + comfortable home office setup?✔️ #lifeatrgg
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: #MondayMotivation featuring Wilfried in Technology!
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: Happy Fruit Friday 🍍
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: All of our photo shoots are done in-house in our Boston and Kentucky offices!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Rue Gilt Groupe Job Seekers Also Viewed

Wayfair Logo
Wayfair

3.3

5,172 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 724 Rue Gilt Groupe reviews submitted anonymously by Rue Gilt Groupe employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Rue Gilt Groupe is right for you.