Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews | Glassdoor

Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 472 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
55 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Just a cog in a machine..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Boutique Producer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people with common interests, laid-back office and no strict dress code. Occasional free food and parties.

    Cons

    The BP department is what I would consider the workhorse of the company (they basically coordinate the flow of info between all of the other departments on their respective teams) and yet they are not treated with such importance. Most employees come in as contractors, making pathetic wages with no benefits and management keeps them on as temp employees for several contracts, stringing them along with no transparency...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop investing in side projects until you can reduce the egregious employee turnover rate by paying your employees what they rightfully deserve.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-03-06
  2. "Yes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good place to work in Rue

      Cons

      Nothing much as the culture is good

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-01-30
    • Helpful (4)

      "Run far away!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Analyst in Boston, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      They serve free bagels for breakfast on Friday

      Cons

      Very click and you work hard for low pay!

      Advice to Management

      They take things personal verses how well you have performed

      Rue Gilt Groupe2019-02-15
    • "RGG is all about their employees!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shepherdsville, KY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Rue Gilt Groupe is an amazing place to work. They put their employees first in everything. We have so many fun food days, family days, catered lunches, and special events to show their appreciation. They are forward thinking, always looking to improve and drive us further. There's tons of growth happening now and will continue into the future.

      Cons

      We've recently merged two great brands and we're still working to iron out our processes.

      Rue Gilt Groupe2018-10-17
    • Helpful (8)

      "Overworked, very underpaid, high turnover"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate Buyer in Boston, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      bagels in office on Friday morning.

      Cons

      Very underpaid with no wiggle room in salaries. Employees are dispensable and the turn over rate is astronomical. Most leave due to the poor management, non-existent training, disorganized and unachievable expectations coming from a very disconnected management team. Underpaid and undervalued employees constantly pressures to push unrealistic sales expectations with understaffed teams that are constantly changing due...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      If you would like to retain talent, address the elephant in the room and pay them a fair, livable, salaries. Staff teams with the support they need and the training they deserve when employees are a constant revolving door.

      Rue Gilt Groupe2018-11-14

      Rue Gilt Groupe Response

      November 19, 2018Chief People Officer

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I would encourage you to reach out to your HR Business Partner or myself to discuss further. We always strive to remain competitive with the marketplace and provide enough resources and processes for everyone to be successful in their role.

    • "Fantastic people, fast-paced environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe

      Pros

      Fantastic people, fast-paced environment, ability to grow, learn and expand your role for high achievers

      Cons

      Departments not always on the same page, especially below department head level

      Rue Gilt Groupe2018-10-10
    • "Graphic Design Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe for less than a year

      Pros

      Rue is a great place to learn and see a growth in your career. Also the people are kind and the design team is very talented.

      Cons

      The work load is a lot, so expect long hours.

      Rue Gilt Groupe2018-10-09
    • "great company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Encouraged innovative thinking and nice culture

      Cons

      Job security and redundancies made job security difficult

      Advice to Management

      Too late they sold!

      Rue Gilt Groupe2018-10-18
    • "Full time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Walmart Backroom Associate in Elizabethtown, KY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good pay, Close by, Good hours, Good company

      Cons

      Long hours could be draining sometimes

      Rue Gilt Groupe2018-10-01
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

      Pros

      - Laid-back culture, great people - Flexibility in hours and working from home - Internal mobility and growth if you're willing to put in the effort

      Cons

      -Very fast paced environment which isn't everyone's cup of tea -Understaffed so many of the associates are overworked -Lower pay than other companies in the city.

      Rue Gilt Groupe2018-09-27
    Found 472 reviews