Rue Gilt Groupe Employee Reviews about "gilt"

Updated Oct 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
110 Ratings
Pros
  • "Extremely fast paced and a lot can be learned while in your role(in 36 reviews)

  • "Great people, good company culture(in 35 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Everything - not since gilt acquirement(in 32 reviews)

  • "Consistent work-life balance can be challenging(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Rue Gilt Groupe and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "gilt"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      RGG is all about their employees!

      Oct 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Shepherdsville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rue Gilt Groupe is an amazing place to work. They put their employees first in everything. We have so many fun food days, family days, catered lunches, and special events to show their appreciation. They are forward thinking, always looking to improve and drive us further. There's tons of growth happening now and will continue into the future.

      Cons

      We've recently merged two great brands and we're still working to iron out our processes.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      A good place to work

      Oct 21, 2020 - Cash Operationg Manager, Treasury Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working for 14+ years to Rue La La actually Gilt Groupe i find a good opportunity to grow profetionaly, beeing responsible for Bank reconciliation for 14+ I consider business accounts like my personal accounts caring for a penny reconciliation.

      Cons

      They have to have better control for the disbusements.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Bad

      Jun 28, 2019 - Warehouse Associate in Shepherdsvlle, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some nice and friendly people

      Cons

      Poor management abusive inhumane treatment worker due to heat they sit around in their office while we the back bones of this business sweat ourselves to death but who care not the Owner,CEO,HR, or Managers, Supervisor oh let not forget the safety guy. Also the favoritism that has been allowed grow with in is unreal sometime it right down unethical.This is a company all about money not people. You do not practice you own core values Since buying Gilt you have kicked some of your best worker in the teeth to make room some Gilt people instead of demoting them. And all the family and friends that work in the same dept or who was brought in put in position while though in house was denial. I been here awhile and seem a lot of dirty deeds maybe some outside help you correct these bad issue you refuse to fix

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Buyer

      Mar 12, 2020 - Buyer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None it is a toxic work environment

      Cons

      Everything - not since gilt acquirement

      14 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great experience but not a long term fit

      Oct 9, 2013 - Software Engineer In Test in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brought in with little experience to entry level. Got to work with an amazing tech team that changed drastically over time. Learned a lot about the development process, ux design, testing, front end and back end coding, and scalability. Still has a startup culture with lots of freedom to learn about new technology. The ask for forgiveness instead of permission mentality makes it easy to take on aggressive projects.

      Cons

      A lot of times I felt under appreciated and under paid for my contributions. The business is getting a little stale for the flash sale space and innovation is getting harder to act on. This makes Gilt seem like it's trending to be a thing of the past and the company will be downsizing instead of growing. Features get scrapped quickly when they dont work instead of trying to be fixed or understood. Some power from execs has been counter productive forcing bad decisions to be made while lots of others never agreed with them.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Too good to be true!

      Feb 3, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I first came to Gilt, I really liked it and had high hopes. The job was easy (receiving), I the people were cool and I moved up quickly.

      Cons

      Once I became full-time, I realized that everything I thought was too good to be true. The nepotism is so strong with this company, it's ridiculous. You do not have to be a hard worker to be favored either. Employees are unappreciated, the pay isn't that good and they ignore what employees tell them in their "voice of the employee" surveys. I also really dislike being lied to and treated as though I'm ignorant and incompetent. I am very capable and care about my work. I had to stop caring so that I wouldn't go mad! They are also very sneaky. If they know who they want to get a certain position, they won't tell other applicants about their interviews until the day of so that you wouldn't be prepared (resume) - I keep copies in my car. I'm currently looking for a different job. They need to reconsider how they're doing business, an unhappy employee makes for a less caring/productive one and ultimately, the company suffers. I hate feeling this way about a job I once loved. I dread coming in everyday and I will never work here again...

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Uncertain Future

      Jun 10, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at Gilt you will meet great coworkers, experience a casual dress policy and have access to a liberal employee discount (not applicable to designer items). Also, promotions, enhanced job security and an ever-increasing network are all attainable through attrition.

      Cons

      Gilt is in desperate need of core-shaking intervention, but no one seems posed to make the necessary changes. Nepotism runs rampant. There are many over-promoted, under-qualified and apathetic members of management who have positions of authority (including high salaries with bi-annual bonuses) because of their relationships with members of the Executive Team. Morale is low, and attempts to appease the workforce often fall short. Further, while the Executive Team expresses a somewhat clear plan for development, execution is lacking. Direction changes regularly and all too often key employees resign before plans come to fruition. Moreover, no one will admit and openly discuss failures. Consequently, instead of learning from our challenges, we spend more time explaining away issues and justifying an unplanned result than moving forward.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Human Resources

      Nov 2, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At Gilt your ideas are heard and everyone from entry level to the CEO has a seat at the table. People with hustle and grit are encouraged to work hard and often see the reward from doing so. It is a collaborative environment which allows you to learn about various areas of the business and work cross-functionally. Having the ability to partner closely with senior leaders across the organization, including Michelle Peluso, was the biggest takeaway for me from my time at Gilt.

      Cons

      Pros definitely outweigh any cons I would have. I think the one thing that stands out is the lack of work life balance in all areas of the organization. Employees are often expected to be available 7 days a week and to reply to any inquiries or business needs even when out of the office. Learning how to manage this is important in the Gilt culture but it is also a great place to get your hands dirty and learn a ton.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Extremely fun, rewarding place to work, but lacking strong managers

      Apr 21, 2013 - Intern in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is great. There's a strong emphasis on playfulness and creativity, but still an expectation to work efficiently and get things done. That was especially apparent when the company mandated that all employees — even those not directly involved in the sales process, learn how to use SalesForce. Toward the end of my time there, you could tell upper management was really pushing for a shift toward efficiency and better pipeline management. Other than that, expect lots of company parties, in-office events and training activities.

      Cons

      Within three months, half of my team or the people I worked with had left the company for other opportunities. It seems like everyone from the "original" startup team has moved on due to growing pains in the company. Overall, Gilt City lacks a strong middle management team. As a result, there's a big disconnect between upper management and the rest of the company. If you're going for an entry to mid-level job, expect to be underpaid.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Supervisor

      Feb 6, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      • Monthly Gilt Credit to your account. • Gilt events • Company discount on website TRUST ME THAT IS ALL YOU WILL LIKE ABOUT THE COMPANY!!!

      Cons

      • Be prepared to be talked down to. • People are only promoted based on how much they like you. • Raises are in cents not dollars unless you are a favorite employee. • Mangers don't support • Manager are hardly every around when needed • They work you to the bone and don't compensate you for it after. • They give praise towards employees that Don't do anything all day if they favor you. • You will mostly of not always hear about the negatives instead of the positives. • They treat lower employees who are not in manager positions like they are to be seen and not heard. • Your opinion is not wanted so don't try to give it. • They don't care about your personal feelings or life. • Working for Gilt is like signing your soul to the devil.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 57 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Rue Gilt Groupe Job Seekers

    Assistant Buyer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Rue Gilt Groupe? Share Your Experiences

    or