Cover image for Rue Gilt Groupe
Logo
See All Photos

Rue Gilt Groupe

Engaged Employer

Rue Gilt Groupe

Add a Review

Rue Gilt Groupe Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jan 20, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 706 of over 707 reviews
3.0
54% Recommend to a Friend
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
61% Approve of CEO

Found 80 of over 707 reviews

3.0
54%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
144 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Rue Gilt Groupe and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great fun place to work

    Jan 15, 2018 - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, good company culture. Strong vision and good technology.

    Cons

    Financial benefits for technology positions are average at best.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Rue Gilt Groupe Response

    CTO

    Thanks for the great feedback! Please be sure to also pass along details to your manager, so that we can continue to improve.

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A lot of work for little pay

    Jun 12, 2020 - Event Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun environment with great people

    Cons

    Little pay when you do the most work

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Rue Gilt Groupe Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed the culture and your co-workers. We do continually evaluate our pay structure to ensure that we are competitive with the external marketplace.

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Toxic environment

    Jan 20, 2021 - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very creative atmosphere. Some great people

    Cons

    Horrible management and terrible hours. Don’t actually care about your well being

    4 people found this review helpful

    Rue Gilt Groupe Response

    Chief People Officer

    I'm sorry you did not have a rewarding experience at RGG. Our HR Business Partners are available to discuss any issues you are having with management or workload. Please feel free to reach out to my directly if you would like to discuss your experience further. We wish you the best of luck in your next venture.

  4. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Gilt = beautiful hi-fashion model who loves everyone on the outside, an anorexic model that sticks to her cliques inside

    Aug 1, 2011 -  in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people--they are smart, connected, creative, alternative, ambitious and fun to work with for the most part. Benefits are decent. Flexible work schedule (but this is highly dependent upon which dept. your work for/who you report to). Great opportunities for advancement QUICKLY -- if you are a favorite or "loved" by senior management. Otherwise, no amount of hard work and results will get you there no matter how hard you try.

    Cons

    Challenging work/life balance. You are expected to work around 10 hours everyday, even put some time in when you are home after that or on the weekend. No cash bonuses unless you are in upper management. Not enough opportunity for advancement unless, as I said above, you are a "darling" of upper management. Lots of hard work does not necessarily get you recognition or reward here. There is no clear path to follow for career advancement and I have seen people who have worked diligently, creatively and effectively on huge projects only to be passed over for well-deserved promotions and pay increases. Office politics have become very catty and difficult to navigate. It is a more culturally diverse workforce than you generally find in fashion/retail companies however, there are barely any diversity candidates in upper and middle management. Not sure what that's about...

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Just a cog in a machine...

    Mar 6, 2019 - Assistant Boutique Producer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people with common interests, laid-back office and no strict dress code. Occasional free food and parties.

    Cons

    The BP department is what I would consider the workhorse of the company (they basically coordinate the flow of info between all of the other departments on their respective teams) and yet they are not treated with such importance. Most employees come in as contractors, making pathetic wages with no benefits and management keeps them on as temp employees for several contracts, stringing them along with no transparency so the company can dodge paying people full wages and benefits. For the employees that are made full time, they are expected to work far beyond their job description would suggest. Nearly all of the people in my department (NOT just senior employees but even new ones) would bring their laptops home at night because there simply were not enough hours in the day to get everything done, and when you're working at a flash sale website, there are deadlines that absolutely cannot be pushed off. Most positions are not overtime eligible and managers *strongly* discourage employees who do take advantage of it (I'm sure upper management is putting pressure on mgrs to reduce overtime wages) Working in the BP dept at RGG overtook my life, gave me an unhealthy amount of stress, and made me miserable. For the amount they overwork their employees they don't match it in any sort of benefit or wage. Free bagels on friday are not enough to justify miserable working conditions and treating your workers as disposable. RGG becomes your life. There is no work-life balance in the BP department.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Pros

    Rue is doing some of the best work in this space, which is evolving every day. The people and their ideas of how to make things even better are so great. People at all levels are very approachable, including the CEO. There is no shortage of opportunity here. It's an exciting and challenging place to work. There is always a new project or a new program - we are only 5 years old, so the sky's the limit.

    Cons

    Sometimes the frenetic pace causes Rue to make hasty decisions, or change direction often. It can be hard and frustrating to keep up with that. People work hard, and there could be more efficient ways of doing things, teams need to take a step back and think differently sometimes.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Great people-- good place to for a first job / short term role

    Sep 7, 2014 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, "cool " office culture and some fun perks. Company name Looks good on a resume and will help you land that "next" ( better!!!) job!

    Cons

    No growth opportunity ! Back office management is "stuck". A group of "friends" that like to hear each other talk and are not open to new managers , promoting real talent or any new ideas. It's too bad because the company could be great if they could clear out the "cobwebs". DONT GET ME STARTED on what a JOKE the HR TEAM is!!! From their so called " Chief People Person!!!) Lol !!! To the most useless , unorganized team I have worked with in my 25 year career!!!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Pros

    I loved going to work everyday. Great people to work with. The benefits were great. They do lots of fun events and extras throughout the year for all the employees. A great place to work.

    Cons

    Things are always changing. It is a young company with lots of growth. With that comes change. Change is not bad but can be challenging.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Oh La La, not!

    Feb 24, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, young energetic smart people galore, and managers with a lot of personality. Big initiative to retool the core technology Process is mostly Agile (whatever that means). Management is big on the vision. Work hard & play hard

    Cons

    Turn over is a problem in some department.. Management is often chasing the next shinny thing. Parts of management turn over so continuity and knowledge can be difficult.. Promotion and training is not what it should be. Back-end tools are clunky and old.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Looked soooo promising but overall very disappointing

    Mar 19, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best part about working at Rue was the people, the cool office space and of course the sample sales. Great stuff at unreal prices. But after a while.. just how much stuff do you need? And really... great people are everywhere. Rue does offer excellent benefits.

    Cons

    The Sr Leadership team does not trust the people they have hired to get work done. They tell you great things before you get there and then once you arrive it all changes. Also they made very little investment in their employees. Little to no budget for training and so little opportunity for growth.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 80 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Rue Gilt Groupe Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Rue Gilt Groupe? Share Your Experiences

or

Rue Gilt Groupe Careers

Cover image for Rue Gilt Groupe

Hear about Rue Gilt Groupe - what we do, how we're growing, and who we are - the people and culture behind the brand!More

  • RGG Gives Back
  • Diversity
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Rue Gilt Groupe

8 days ago

Careers
RGG’s very own Nacie Pereira, Director, Learning and Development, recently sat down with Built In Boston for a conversation on how to make skip-level meetings impactful for both contributors. Take a peek at the full article to read why we at RGG think of these collaborative meetings as great opportunities for expanding perspectives, building relationships, and surfacing information that can spark impactful insights.
Shared image - How to Make Skip-Level Meetings Unmissable
How to Make Skip-Level Meetings Unmissable
www.builtinboston.com
Logo

Rue Gilt Groupe

14 days ago

Community
At RGG, where helping is always in style, Associates gathered in our Boston, NYC, and Irvine offices for our annual Volunteer Day earlier this week. Together, we packaged more than 600 personal care kits for our unhoused neighbors in need. For this day of service, we partnered with Pine Street Inn in Boston, Food Bank for New York City, and Human Options in Irvine to give back and truly live our values of kindness and collaboration. Community outreach representatives from the three organizations joined us to share more about their missions to help the unhoused and how their personal care kit packing programs help their efforts. Following the presentation, we worked together to pack the 600+ kits and create cards with kind words of encouragement to go in each of them. See pictures below of the RGG Associate volunteers in action!
Shared image
See all

Rue Gilt Groupe Photos

+ Add Photo
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: 2015 Values Award Winners representing Rue's Core Values
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: Human Resources - here to help!
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: Our Kentucky Distribution Center
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: Clean, organized + comfortable home office setup?✔️ #lifeatrgg
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: #MondayMotivation featuring Wilfried in Technology!
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: Happy Fruit Friday 🍍
Rue Gilt Groupe photo of: All of our photo shoots are done in-house in our Boston and Kentucky offices!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Rue Gilt Groupe Job Seekers Also Viewed

Wayfair Logo
Wayfair

3.5

4,804 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 707 Rue Gilt Groupe reviews submitted anonymously by Rue Gilt Groupe employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Rue Gilt Groupe is right for you.