Rue Gilt Groupe "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Rue Gilt Groupe Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "Young, fast paced, creative environment(in 35 reviews)

  • "Great people, good company culture(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "You do not practice you own core values Since buying Gilt you have kicked some of your best worker in the teeth to make room some(in 31 reviews)

  • "There is no work-life balance in the BP department(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, good company culture. Strong vision and good technology.

    Cons

    Financial benefits for technology positions are average at best.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2018-01-15
  2. Helpful (5)

    "A Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible time off. A lot of great people on the creative team.

    Cons

    Disorganized Poor leadership Low morale LAUGHABLE salary Burn out

    Advice to Management

    I’ve worked here almost five years, and I can’t get out fast enough. Since the Gilt acquisition, I feel that the culture has shifted to a toxic one. I love a lot of the people on my team, but leadership is tragic— I feel as though they’re completely turning the other cheek to the fact that a lot of us are absolutely miserable. I cry nearly once a week because I do not make a living wage for the Boston area, I literally live paycheck to paycheck while people with my title at other companies make 20K more. HR has said for years they’d “look into it” re: salary comp but nothing ever comes of it, so I’ve decided to actively begin my job search. Long story short, I’m embarrassed to tell people I work here because while a lot of people my age are managers and making decent money, I have hardly any growth opportunity and poor pay.

    Show More
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-09-21
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (12)

    "Never knew how truly undervalued I was, until I went elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

    Pros

    Pockets of great people in various depts (however, if you are a kind person you usually get managed out) fun perks (parties; surprise & delights; summer Friday's) employee discount

    Cons

    A common theme that I learned from my own experience and those who have also left, was how shocked I/they were when they went to a new org. I had been beaten down so much emotionally, that it was odd when I was in a new company and people were kind/gave so much positive feedback. It took awhile to fully work through all of the emotional abuse that Rue had left on me. Friends I still stay in touch with report similar experiences This reputation is very much out in the Boston scene as well - many people have said back to me "I've heard it's toxic there" to which I confirm. The toxic culture stems from the following: There is inconsistent standards amongst employees (ie: some can come and go as they please); communication between sr leaders and teams is terrible; favoritism runs rampant (some individuals promoted yearly and some not at all); people continue to leave for same reasons yet nothing is done to change the situation (especially in some positions that can barely keep someone a year) yet no one looks at this attrition data and thinks "maybe there is a systemic problem here". There are so many incompetent leaders who have been there way too long and have too much political capitol to fire (even tho, it's more than obvious they are the problem). This is not a place where if you help out a team member or pick up more "undesirable" work tasks to help the team you'll be rewarded. It's a place that if you CYA, throw people under the bus, delegate tasks that you think are "beneath you" and genuinely don't care about people - you'll get a promotion. Kindness is not rewarded, it's a sign of weakness at Rue.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people/these reviews. If you keep reading similar things....they might be true.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-06-05
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Just a cog in a machine..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Boutique Producer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people with common interests, laid-back office and no strict dress code. Occasional free food and parties.

    Cons

    The BP department is what I would consider the workhorse of the company (they basically coordinate the flow of info between all of the other departments on their respective teams) and yet they are not treated with such importance. Most employees come in as contractors, making pathetic wages with no benefits and management keeps them on as temp employees for several contracts, stringing them along with no transparency so the company can dodge paying people full wages and benefits. For the employees that are made full time, they are expected to work far beyond their job description would suggest. Nearly all of the people in my department (NOT just senior employees but even new ones) would bring their laptops home at night because there simply were not enough hours in the day to get everything done, and when you're working at a flash sale website, there are deadlines that absolutely cannot be pushed off. Most positions are not overtime eligible and managers *strongly* discourage employees who do take advantage of it (I'm sure upper management is putting pressure on mgrs to reduce overtime wages) Working in the BP dept at RGG overtook my life, gave me an unhealthy amount of stress, and made me miserable. For the amount they overwork their employees they don't match it in any sort of benefit or wage. Free bagels on friday are not enough to justify miserable working conditions and treating your workers as disposable. RGG becomes your life. There is no work-life balance in the BP department.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop investing in side projects until you can reduce the egregious employee turnover rate by paying your employees what they rightfully deserve.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-03-06
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

    Pros

    - Laid-back culture, great people - Flexibility in hours and working from home - Internal mobility and growth if you're willing to put in the effort

    Cons

    -Very fast paced environment which isn't everyone's cup of tea -Understaffed so many of the associates are overworked -Lower pay than other companies in the city.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2018-09-27
  7. "Best company I worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Network Engineer in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I used to : - get money to shop online every quarter + the discount. - get unlimited vacation . - work with great people - enjoy Happy hour

    Cons

    back then there was no match for 401 k

    Advice to Management

    bring back the old Gilt Groupe

    Rue Gilt Groupe2017-11-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

    Pros

    Great brand. Great people

    Cons

    HBC took away the start up culture

    Advice to Management

    Focus on career growth and overall employee satisfaction

    Rue Gilt Groupe2017-10-04
  9. "AP Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

    Pros

    Great people and corporate culture. Room for growth if you prove yourself.

    Cons

    The work gets repetitive and mundane quickly (but management will give you new responsibilities if you ask).

    Rue Gilt Groupe2017-08-11
  10. "Best first job I could've asked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Full Stack Software Engineer Co-op in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe for less than a year

    Pros

    - Smart coworkers that care about what they do - Awesome culture/work-life balance - Really great people all around

    Cons

    Really can't think of anything

    Rue Gilt Groupe2017-06-17
  11. "Shipping Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Shipping Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and training. Innovative company with a clear mission. Opportunity to advance to different departments

    Cons

    The parking situation is tough as the area has started to grow with other businesses

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Rue Gilt Groupe2017-04-17
Found 35 reviews