Rue Gilt Groupe Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
110 Ratings
Pros
  • "Extremely fast paced and a lot can be learned while in your role(in 36 reviews)

  • "Great people, good company culture(in 35 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Everything - not since gilt acquirement(in 32 reviews)

  • "Consistent work-life balance can be challenging(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Rue Gilt Groupe and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great fun place to work

      Jan 15, 2018 - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, good company culture. Strong vision and good technology.

      Cons

      Financial benefits for technology positions are average at best.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Rue Gilt Groupe Response

      CTO

      Thanks for the great feedback! Please be sure to also pass along details to your manager, so that we can continue to improve.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Toxic environment

      Jan 20, 2021 - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very creative atmosphere. Some great people

      Cons

      Horrible management and terrible hours. Don’t actually care about your well being

      2 people found this review helpful

      Rue Gilt Groupe Response

      Chief People Officer

      I'm sorry you did not have a rewarding experience at RGG. Our HR Business Partners are available to discuss any issues you are having with management or workload. Please feel free to reach out to my directly if you would like to discuss your experience further. We wish you the best of luck in your next venture.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A lot of work for little pay

      Jun 12, 2020 - Event Coordinator in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun environment with great people

      Cons

      Little pay when you do the most work

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Rue Gilt Groupe Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for sharing your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed the culture and your co-workers. We do continually evaluate our pay structure to ensure that we are competitive with the external marketplace.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Just a cog in a machine...

      Mar 6, 2019 - Assistant Boutique Producer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people with common interests, laid-back office and no strict dress code. Occasional free food and parties.

      Cons

      The BP department is what I would consider the workhorse of the company (they basically coordinate the flow of info between all of the other departments on their respective teams) and yet they are not treated with such importance. Most employees come in as contractors, making pathetic wages with no benefits and management keeps them on as temp employees for several contracts, stringing them along with no transparency so the company can dodge paying people full wages and benefits. For the employees that are made full time, they are expected to work far beyond their job description would suggest. Nearly all of the people in my department (NOT just senior employees but even new ones) would bring their laptops home at night because there simply were not enough hours in the day to get everything done, and when you're working at a flash sale website, there are deadlines that absolutely cannot be pushed off. Most positions are not overtime eligible and managers *strongly* discourage employees who do take advantage of it (I'm sure upper management is putting pressure on mgrs to reduce overtime wages) Working in the BP dept at RGG overtook my life, gave me an unhealthy amount of stress, and made me miserable. For the amount they overwork their employees they don't match it in any sort of benefit or wage. Free bagels on friday are not enough to justify miserable working conditions and treating your workers as disposable. RGG becomes your life. There is no work-life balance in the BP department.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Never knew how truly undervalued I was, until I went elsewhere

      Jun 4, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pockets of great people in various depts (however, if you are a kind person you usually get managed out) fun perks (parties; surprise & delights; summer Friday's) employee discount

      Cons

      A common theme that I learned from my own experience and those who have also left, was how shocked I/they were when they went to a new org. I had been beaten down so much emotionally, that it was odd when I was in a new company and people were kind/gave so much positive feedback. It took awhile to fully work through all of the emotional abuse that Rue had left on me. Friends I still stay in touch with report similar experiences This reputation is very much out in the Boston scene as well - many people have said back to me "I've heard it's toxic there" to which I confirm. The toxic culture stems from the following: There is inconsistent standards amongst employees (ie: some can come and go as they please); communication between sr leaders and teams is terrible; favoritism runs rampant (some individuals promoted yearly and some not at all); people continue to leave for same reasons yet nothing is done to change the situation (especially in some positions that can barely keep someone a year) yet no one looks at this attrition data and thinks "maybe there is a systemic problem here". There are so many incompetent leaders who have been there way too long and have too much political capitol to fire (even tho, it's more than obvious they are the problem). This is not a place where if you help out a team member or pick up more "undesirable" work tasks to help the team you'll be rewarded. It's a place that if you CYA, throw people under the bus, delegate tasks that you think are "beneath you" and genuinely don't care about people - you'll get a promotion. Kindness is not rewarded, it's a sign of weakness at Rue.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Sep 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Laid-back culture, great people - Flexibility in hours and working from home - Internal mobility and growth if you're willing to put in the effort

      Cons

      -Very fast paced environment which isn't everyone's cup of tea -Understaffed so many of the associates are overworked -Lower pay than other companies in the city.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Gilt = beautiful hi-fashion model who loves everyone on the outside, an anorexic model that sticks to her cliques inside

      Aug 1, 2011 - Gilt Groupe Anonymous in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people--they are smart, connected, creative, alternative, ambitious and fun to work with for the most part. Benefits are decent. Flexible work schedule (but this is highly dependent upon which dept. your work for/who you report to). Great opportunities for advancement QUICKLY -- if you are a favorite or "loved" by senior management. Otherwise, no amount of hard work and results will get you there no matter how hard you try.

      Cons

      Challenging work/life balance. You are expected to work around 10 hours everyday, even put some time in when you are home after that or on the weekend. No cash bonuses unless you are in upper management. Not enough opportunity for advancement unless, as I said above, you are a "darling" of upper management. Lots of hard work does not necessarily get you recognition or reward here. There is no clear path to follow for career advancement and I have seen people who have worked diligently, creatively and effectively on huge projects only to be passed over for well-deserved promotions and pay increases. Office politics have become very catty and difficult to navigate. It is a more culturally diverse workforce than you generally find in fashion/retail companies however, there are barely any diversity candidates in upper and middle management. Not sure what that's about...

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Pros

      Rue is doing some of the best work in this space, which is evolving every day. The people and their ideas of how to make things even better are so great. People at all levels are very approachable, including the CEO. There is no shortage of opportunity here. It's an exciting and challenging place to work. There is always a new project or a new program - we are only 5 years old, so the sky's the limit.

      Cons

      Sometimes the frenetic pace causes Rue to make hasty decisions, or change direction often. It can be hard and frustrating to keep up with that. People work hard, and there could be more efficient ways of doing things, teams need to take a step back and think differently sometimes.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Great people-- good place to for a first job / short term role

      Sep 7, 2014 - Anonymous 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, "cool " office culture and some fun perks. Company name Looks good on a resume and will help you land that "next" ( better!!!) job!

      Cons

      No growth opportunity ! Back office management is "stuck". A group of "friends" that like to hear each other talk and are not open to new managers , promoting real talent or any new ideas. It's too bad because the company could be great if they could clear out the "cobwebs". DONT GET ME STARTED on what a JOKE the HR TEAM is!!! From their so called " Chief People Person!!!) Lol !!! To the most useless , unorganized team I have worked with in my 25 year career!!!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Pros

      I loved going to work everyday. Great people to work with. The benefits were great. They do lots of fun events and extras throughout the year for all the employees. A great place to work.

      Cons

      Things are always changing. It is a young company with lots of growth. With that comes change. Change is not bad but can be challenging.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Rue Gilt Groupe Job Seekers

    Assistant Buyer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Rue Gilt Groupe? Share Your Experiences

    or