KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Rug & Kilim

Is this your company?

Rug & Kilim

Add a Review

Rug & Kilim Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 11 reviews

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Rug & Kilim Founder and CEO Jahanshah Josh Nazmiyal (no image)
Jahanshah Josh Nazmiyal
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Everything I ever wanted

    May 17, 2021 - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exactly the work environment and position I was looking for. Couldn't ask for better coworkers/owners, I have found my career position.

    Cons

    No cons found as of yet

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    NO

    Jul 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    beautiful product, high quality, good range.

    Cons

    Verbally abusive environment. Disrespectful and rude management. No business infrastructure. Impossible to get a consistent answer from Management. HIGH-stress culture of fear.

    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Positive Experience

    May 17, 2021 - Editor in Long Island City, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been with the company 2 1/2 going on 3 years and I've been given a lot of autonomy with my position in that time, including two pay raises and a promotion to suit my skills. Helping create the e-commerce end of the business has been exciting and rewarding among the many things I've gotten to accomplish in editorial.

    Cons

    The work can be challenging, but worth it to see projects come to fruition.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Contractor, more than 3 years

    Loved working with Josh!

    May 17, 2021 - Marketing Manager in Long Island City, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    knowledgeable, generous, friendly, wants you to be your best, determined

    Cons

    demanding, honest, fair, passionate, loving

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    May 7, 2021 - E-Commerce Director in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Knowledgable and supportive CEO.

    Cons

    A typical pains for young and growing companies

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Antique Rugs, Antique Work Flows

    Apr 8, 2021 - Marketing Director in Long Island City, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Beautiful product with a great roster of clients.

    Cons

    Josh is predatory, resistant to change and the greatest obstacle to his own expansion. I was hired to head up their marketing expansion, only to be told that I would be getting paid for 20 hours a week, with the expectation of working at least 40. My first week, I was given a project that required a great deal of tracking and coordination with the sales team, and after being given approval to implement a CRM platform for the company, I was chastised and threatened for trying to activate the processes that had been approved. Josh frequently accuses his staff of not understanding his business (despite having worked extensively with interiors/luxury home goods throughout my career), and frequently threatens to with-hold pay or outsource jobs to India. Expectations are set that results must be given immediately, but then criticism is given that you're trying to move too quickly, or make too many changes too quickly. When trying to explain the reasons why you're trying to enact certain process (which are industry standards at this point) you're called rude, disrespectful, and accused of trying to take over the business. Josh has explicitly said that he doesn't trust his staff, and that they need to earn his respect, and prove themselves to earn a living wage; despite not providing them the tools and team to produce. Every role in the company is ambiguous and new tasks can be given at any time, with frequent changes of direction without any consideration for time or title. The first project I was given upon hire was to project manage their custom section of their website, despite being hired for marketing, and not being either a web developer or project manager. On-boarding is basically nonexistent. New employees are put in sink or swim situations, where they're basically just left alone and forced to find the tools and resources they need for themselves to succeed. Often times, you'll go in circles asking people for resources, who will tell you to ask someone else, who will then tell you to ask the original person. There's no centralized sales platform or tracking system, so all of sales is contentious about leads, and there's no follow up or visibility as to who is speak with whom, or whether the various sales people are contacting the same teams; often leading to leads going sour because of multiple sales people badgering them.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Wrote a 2-pg report, then declined to work there any longer

    Feb 9, 2021 - Social Media Manager in Long Island City, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team, very impressive employees

    Cons

    It seems like it's very plain to see that these 5 star reviews were forced– a few sentences on the pros and scared to write any cons, not very thorough and no diversity in their textspeak. Kinda like what you'd see at any MLM. I'd definitely encourage people to apply if the below-C member level team members were to take a more hands-on role instead of the current manager, Jahanshah Josh Nazmiyal. Imagine someone writing a review saying that "There needs to be a solution for disorganization though when it reaches a certain critical point." and to have someone not hold themselves accountable at all, just replying to that with "...working hard on hiring for sales and administrative positions to fix this problem in the very near future." Where is the practical application to this? That hasn't been shown, and I still see the same mismanagement and rudeness in 2021... and that old review was back in 2015. In fact, the manager left this email in my inbox when I denied a contract, having done 2 web content analysis pages for them and decided that was enough for me to see this is a hostile work environment: I have to tell you how disappointed I am with the way you handled this. I was very excited and complimentary even concerned for you not to be put under pressure because you have a move and final days with your current job. All along from the very beginning you told me you are ready to come back to the city and even told me about your landlord being gracious to you and saving your apartment. To make the matters worst , instead of asking for a little more time or apologizing for changing your mind, you made excuses and blamed my company for not acting properly? How dare you? I have to tell you, I truly liked you and believed that you can be good for us snd can learn plenty being in a growing ,high end and successful business. I still am not sure what it was, but I would have appreciated a little more from you!! Sent from my iPhone Incredible, showstopping, and dramatic. Things you do not want to see in a boss. I really do hope he helps himself by being a little kinder and harassing me less, because, hey! Neat rugs!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Title

    Jun 8, 2015 - Showroom Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Get to learn a lot of new and interesting things while working in a upbeat, creative environment

    Cons

    There are really no cons at this company or in my position

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Rug & Kilim Response

    Owner/Founder

    Thanks for taking your time to write such a wonderful review. I'm glad you're so enthusiastic about and enjoy your position at Rug & Kilim and the company's overall environment. I look forward in continuing to create an atmosphere and strong team comprised of employees such as yourself.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Top quality showroom in the design district

    Jun 10, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great gallery in a great neighborhood; diligent, detail oriented and friendly staff.

    Cons

    A very busy enviroment, no time for idling.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place - interesting people & work

    Jun 4, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful place to work for those who are the creative types but enjoy using their analytical skills. Every day you get to learn new things and meet new people. Also you look at aesthetically pleasing designs and installations of pieces all day - can be very fun.

    Cons

    Sometimes the creativity becomes too unorganized and reaches a level where efficiency decreases as a result.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Rug & Kilim Response

    Owner/Founder

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and the kind words. We are currently working hard to create a stronger organizational ethic at Rug & Kilim and are working hard on hiring for sales and administrative positions to fix this problem in the very near future.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Rug & Kilim Reviews FAQs

67% of Rug & Kilim employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Rug & Kilim 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Rug & Kilim to be workplace, compensation, coworkers and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, benefits, management.

Popular Careers with Rug & Kilim Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Rug & Kilim? Share Your Experiences

Rug & Kilim logo
or