Rural King Reviews | Glassdoor

Rural King Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 248 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Alex Melvin
131 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee discount, free turkey at thanksgiving(in 13 reviews)

  • "There were always great people to work with and opportunities to grow within the company(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, no benefits, no retirement(in 15 reviews)

  • "Long hours unrealistic expectations(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Not Employed in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rural King part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good working conditions and great coworkers

    Cons

    fast paced and sometimes stressfull

    Rural King2019-07-19
  2. "It's a good first job, but can be stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Rural King part-time

    Pros

    It is a good first job to have, and overall the store associates are good to work with . Despite all the minor inconveniences, I would recommend working there.

    Cons

    Lack of communication is the biggest downfall of this store. Walkies break or others take them and leave the front of the store without. Because of this you end of yelling to get another staff member's attention. Other areas of the store also seem to have a hard time answering their walkies which is frustrating, you end up having to call for them over the loud speaker or page them. Answering the phone can also be a problem,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more loaders and purchase more walkies, it would make a difference.

    Rural King2019-08-06
  3. "Do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Department Manager 

    I worked at Rural King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only one I can think of is their free popcorn which you don't have to work there to get for free.

    Cons

    Long hours, having to do everyone else's job because they won't, favoritism, low pay for the work load

    Rural King2019-08-05
  4. "Decent place to work, Still a growing company that needs to work on logistics on human resources."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Rural King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My location has decent people to work with

    Cons

    logistics, competitive pay, human resources

    Rural King2019-06-21
  5. "it is a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rural King full-time

    Pros

    people are nice and helpful. feels like family.

    Cons

    it gets busy even during late hours and during the week

    Rural King2019-06-19
  6. "Nice store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Feed Associate in Circleville, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rural King part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount, nice animals, good store

    Cons

    Poor management, bad communication

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with others

    Rural King2019-06-28
  7. "No future at the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Mattoon, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rural King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free popcorn in the break room.

    Cons

    The CEO was born with a Silver Spoon in his mouth and is overwhelmed.

    Advice to Management

    Start promoting innovated workers and reduce time waste.

    Rural King2019-06-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rural King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are great.

    Cons

    Training for ASM, and SM has a lot to be desired. The amount of work that we constantly have associates do burn them out quickly. If corporate would get on board and realize if they want their turnover for the company to be so high they’d do a company wide raise. It’s constantly preached that they want to be the employer of choice... but they’re not living up to that.

    Advice to Management

    Get you store management trained. Holy cow! Don’t wait until a store is falling apart before you notice something isn’t right. Promote from within, I know you say it but you actually need to do it.

    Rural King2019-06-03
  9. "I have never been more disrespected and underappreciated in my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Stacker in Mattoon, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rural King full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Two 15 Minute Breaks and a 30 Minute Lunch

    Cons

    Warehouse Leadership is absolutely horrible.

    Advice to Management

    Logistics is not that hard. Learn how to allocate time and resources. Maybe people would stay if you actually paid attention to what your workers were saying.

    Rural King2019-06-04
  10. "Favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Freight Team Associate in Mattoon, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rural King full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have no Pros for Rural King

    Cons

    Favoritism Come on late every day. How do you lead a team when you can’t show up

    Advice to Management

    How can you Lead A Team if you can’t shoe up. Don’t expect others to do what you aren’t

    Rural King2019-06-19
Found 248 reviews