Cover image for Rural King
Logo

Rural King

Engaged Employer

Rural King

Add a Review

Rural King Employee Reviews about "no training"

Updated Dec 7, 2020

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 558 of over 559 reviews
3.0
47% Recommend to a Friend
61% Approve of CEO

Found 43 of over 559 reviews

3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Rural King President Alex Melvin (no image)
Alex Melvin
282 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "low pay. 1 forklift per store.(in 48 reviews)
  • "Bad management, work expected is unreasonable(in 47 reviews)
  • "Also MOST workers and managers have absolutely zero knowledge about products in the store besides the promo videos we are forced to watch.(in 25 reviews)
  • "No training what so ever.(in 23 reviews)
  • "Can be long hours and weekends(in 15 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Rural King and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "no training"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The Rural King I work at is a satisfactory job. I'm grateful to be employed.

    Oct 15, 2013 - Loader in Huber Heights, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    down to earth management, location, culture at the workplace, hard working mentality, room to move up(internal opportunities),some stock options(for long term employees)

    Cons

    little to no training(sometimes good in certain areas), no real introduction to employees(not necessarily managements fault), A kind of "do or die" mentality as you're sort of thrown into work without any real know-how or again, training.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Run before you even think about it

    Dec 7, 2020 - Inventory Control Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved many of my coworkers, 15% discount, and so got to pet dogs every day

    Cons

    Out of date equipment that doesn’t work half of the time, no training unless you ask for it, crap wages, our building didn’t have heat or air conditioning so it was 85-90 degrees in the summer and 40-50 degrees in the winter, we now have no break room because of Covid so people who don’t have cars have to sit on the stairs to eat their lunches. It also seems like only the cruel and deceiving managers stay because the good ones are pushed out. How management is treated by corporate is beyond disgusting. This is supposed to be a “Christian” company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Rural King team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Poor work environment

    Nov 16, 2020 - Sales Associate in Plano, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not applicable other than employee discount

    Cons

    Absolutely no training and major lack of organization. Always plays catch up and was never proactive

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    It’s an okay place.

    Jun 10, 2020 - Sale Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employee discount. Friendly people for the most part.

    Cons

    Management & low pay. No training when you’re new.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Administrative Coordinator

    Oct 2, 2019 - Administrative Coordinator in Lafayette, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discount, Co Workers (Not including management) and Location

    Cons

    NO Training, NO Management support and they move people around too much and do not give chances for mistakes after only being in the job 6 to 2 weeks.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Pass

    Nov 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free popcorn, and a 10% discount for you and your close family which is somewhat nice.

    Cons

    -management is a mess -misleading job title and details -no incentive to work You would get a quarter for each load out ticket you get and fufil however it has to be printed at the register, then signed by you. However people either never print them or give them to you or they are stolen by people more senior than you and you get nothing. Management doesn’t care and no training was given, the job was loader but I honestly did everything but load. Option to buy stock but it’s a private stock and really just a money pit with no returns or ability to look into company performance. The CEO seems to not care about individual store performance as ours sucked. We were out of black mulch for a month, in the middle of the summer when people are mulching. Menards was better in every way from prices to actually having the items they are advertising. What a joke.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Horrible place to work.

    Jul 8, 2017 - Department Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some of the people you meet along the way. Definitely some interesting people - The employee discount is nice (15%)

    Cons

    - Very sexist company. It's sad when you work there 4+ years with high honors among your peers and they higher guys with no job experience making higher pay in the same position as you. -No Training. They just throw you to the sharks and then get mad when you do something the wrong way. -The stores are kept to the lowest standard possible. Honestly I'm surprised nobody has gotten sick in the Rural King I work at. -You never get to do your actual job. You basically get told to do every job but the one you were hired for. Then they get mad because your job isn't done. -You can't tell your manager when you are having a problem. They will just make excuses.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Bad retail experience for amount paid

    Dec 16, 2016 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people they hire were nice and I liked the managers except for one. I liked that they had the dog adoptions in the store once a week and ASPCA donations.

    Cons

    The only issue is that employees are expected to be on their own from day one. There is no training process (Maybe an hour of job shadowing) and the store is huge and communication is terrible because of this. I personally had issues with them listening to my availability. I was hired at my interview and they were aware I was a full time student. Store is too big and they have issues keeping good employees.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    WARNING

    Feb 13, 2015 - Gun Sales in Crystal River, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employee can purchase stock in the company. Fellow employees are great.

    Cons

    All part time at minimum wage, only management is full time. The equates to a total earning potential of about $8000 per year, most work 2 jobs.Work is up to 30 hours per pay sometime 5 to 6 days, every day a different shift. Bare Concrete floors, dogs allowed (you clean up after not customer) Asst. managers are mean spirited and will embarrass you in front of customers. Most are former Wal Mart people and lack even the basic managerial skills, very anti employee. There is little or no training and you are just a body with no value, chance of advancement is slim purely entry level high school job NOT a career move. Most work here because there are NO other jobs available.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    "If you don't like it we've got 10 people to replace you."

    Oct 2, 2014 - Associate in Mattoon, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good coworkers,customers are fun. time off requests usually easy to get.

    Cons

    No balance between real-life and work-life, no consideration given to scheduling NO SOP what-so-ever. Management inconsistent (bi-polar?) No training in any dept. Low pay. No loyalty. Product quality poor, full time hours impossible to get yet they keep hiring.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Rural King Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Rural King? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Rural King Photos

+ Add Photo
Rural King photo of: Outside of our Peru, Illinois store location
Rural King photo of: Another regular checking out our new tractor to get a jump on spring.
Rural King photo of: Rosie and Dave
Rural King photo of: Nate at our gun barn.
Rural King photo of: We buy locally!
Rural King photo of: Santa and Shyanne!!!
Rural King photo of: Pet-O-Ween Winners 2017
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Rural King Job Seekers Also Viewed

Tractor Supply Logo
Tractor Supply

3.6

2,829 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 559 Rural King reviews submitted anonymously by Rural King employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Rural King is right for you.