Rush Trucking Reviews | Glassdoor

Rush Trucking Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Rush Trucking CEO Andra M. Rush (no image)
Andra M. Rush
18 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Drove 25years best company I ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rush Trucking full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They pay well and are fair and thoughtful

    Cons

    No complaints maybe to much work at times, get it for a rainy day

    Advice to Management

    Hire more women drivers and hydrolic tandem slides on trairlers

    Rush Trucking2016-10-10
  2. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Driver 

    I worked at Rush Trucking full-time

    Pros

    good experience for truck drivers

    Cons

    long hours but decent pay

    Rush Trucking2019-07-03
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rush Trucking full-time

    Pros

    Good people that work there.

    Cons

    Mainly automotive which is a tough industry to be in.

    Rush Trucking2019-06-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operations in Wayne, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rush Trucking full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Shady Grady constant backstabbing if you weren't part of the landstar team your options are limited no career growth

    Advice to Management

    This model is not going to work, focus on building business instead of constant firings and outsourcing.

    Rush Trucking2019-07-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be half decent, now is horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Infrastructure Analyst in Wayne, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rush Trucking full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid hollidays Decent people to get along with

    Cons

    Back stabby culture Lot of oursourcing senior staff being fired left and right Owner of company hasn't shown up in last 5 years No opportunity for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Focus on generating profit instead of outsourcing as much as possible. You would find that overall job satisfaction would go up and everyone wouldn't be thinking of leaving if they weren't in constant worry over being outsourced.

    Rush Trucking2019-07-12
  7. "Update the Resume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rush Trucking full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Trying really hard to think of some - Paid holidays?

    Cons

    No trust in leadership. There is a name for the President "Shady Grady". No disbursement of information. Quarterly newsletters come out telling us about this new business structure/opportunities, but wheres the proof of its success, I doubt it when Thursdays have become like Survivor where we see who gets voted off. The removal of longtime employees has removed what pro was left in this company. No more loyalty.... No more thought of growth or advancement - If you didn't work for Landstar, Good luck!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give up and call it quits. You're no good!

    Rush Trucking2019-05-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Loyalty is irrelevant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Company Driver in Wayne, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rush Trucking full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When the management is good the jobs actually not bad even though I was there for almost 5 years and you get paid exactly what the people get paid the first day they start there's no room for advance

    Cons

    They change management like every 6 months nobody ever knows what's going on and it almost seems like they see drivers as commodities

    Advice to Management

    Grow up and figure out that the people driving for you are the ones that are actually keeping you in business

    Rush Trucking2018-08-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Profit focused; not employee - no matter what they may say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rush Trucking full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can work weekdays and enjoy weekends off.

    Cons

    Can end up working 14 hour days; 5 days a week Longer trips not adequately compensated Vacation days are reset every year; no leave balance allowed Safety is not first place

    Advice to Management

    Focusing on profit is a great thing; but profits can't be made forever if you treat your employees like dirt.

    Rush Trucking2018-01-11
  10. "Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rush Trucking full-time

    Pros

    It's a local driving job.

    Cons

    Bad wages, constant shutdowns, favoritism to certain drivers, HORRIBLE trucks, Just stay away.

    Advice to Management

    Fire yourselves.

    Rush Trucking2017-06-21
  11. "Mediocre Trucking Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Wayne, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rush Trucking full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Newer trucks was a plus. But, they have all kinds of annoying systems installed that can make driving harder.

    Cons

    Poor management, dirt lots, dirty trucks, low pay, etc.

    Advice to Management

    When I was at Rush, the management was overworked and underpaid, and it showed. The company is not run well at all. But, last I heard they were trying to change the culture and work atmosphere.

    Rush Trucking2017-04-06
Found 30 reviews