Rush University Medical Center Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Rush University Medical Center CEO Omar B. Lateef, DO
Omar B. Lateef, DO
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Excellent Work Environment & Benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Comprehensive and affordable healthcare. They have a health incentive program which cuts insurance costs in half. Double the PTO compared to former employers and very minimal MTO. So many support staff and systems that if you are coming from a community hospital you will feel like your job is half of what it used to be. Dedicated breaks where you actually give up your assignment and can leave the floor. Constant innovation and improvement. Coworkers are excited to go to work.

    Cons

    The sheer number of policies can be overwhelming at first, but they are there to protect you and your patients. Resident-nurse communication needs improvement, but otherwise there is good interdisciplinary rapport.

    Rush University Medical Center2020-03-04
  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I worked at Rush University Medical Center part-time

    Pros

    Great employee benefits and good team

    Cons

    None, RUMC is excellent and I loved being there. Left for career change.

    Rush University Medical Center2020-05-20
  3. "good culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good culture, coworker relationship, inclusive

    Cons

    there is no cons found as so far

    Rush University Medical Center2020-05-13

    Rush University Medical Center Response

    May 21, 2020Human Resources

    We’re glad to hear of your positive experience. We feel that creating an inclusive culture where employees feel supported by each other is essential to achieving success and excellence. We appreciate your feedback!

  4. "Confusing and messy corporate structure, but good pay at a good hospital"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Dietitian in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rush is one of the better paying academic medical centers in the area. The facility isn't fancy like some others, but it (mostly) has what you need. In general, it is a good hospital that you can feel proud to work for.

    Cons

    Benefits are fine, could be a lot better (especially maternity leave). PTO is pretty average. Insurance plan is really good for the employee as long as you are willing to use Rush providers. Not great for family members or outside providers. The corporate structure is messy and disorganized, which can make it hard to network and to change roles within the organization.

    Rush University Medical Center2020-04-10

    Rush University Medical Center Response

    April 27, 2020Human Resources

    We’re glad to hear you are having a positive experience working with us. At Rush, excellence is our baseline, but we believe we can always do better. With that said, we will take your feedback into consideration as we look for ways to improve the employee experience. We appreciate your feedback and wish you well in your future endeavors.

  5. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great managers, great colleagues, great collaboration

    Cons

    sometimes hospital wide changes initiated without frontline staff opinion

    Rush University Medical Center2020-04-06
  6. "Great Medical Center to work at!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, team work, and respect for all disciplines.

    Cons

    Wait list of 1-2 years to access parking garage

    Rush University Medical Center2020-04-07
  7. "Laundry Attendant"

    5.0
     

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center

    Pros

    Meeting different people every day

    Cons

    Not enough working equipment in the laundry mat.

    Continue reading
    Rush University Medical Center2020-03-25
  8. "Mission Driven"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rush University Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Mission driven institution with a commitment to the community. Good health benefits, daycare (although hard to get on the list), and work life balance

    Cons

    Politics, top heavy, lots of organizational change, unclear why

    Rush University Medical Center2020-03-11

    Rush University Medical Center Response

    March 24, 2020Human Resources

    We’re glad to hear you had a positive experience while working with us. At Rush, excellence is our baseline, but we believe we can always do better. With that said, we will take your feedback into consideration as we look for ways to improve the employee experience. We appreciate your feedback and wish you well in your future endeavors.

  9. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Epic Applications Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Competitive Salaries - Admin Hours are great. -Management has open door policy and transparent

    Cons

    HR is slow for hiring and on boarding process.

    Continue reading
    Rush University Medical Center2020-02-21

    Rush University Medical Center Response

    February 26, 2020Human Resources

    We’re glad to hear of your positive experience and that you feel supported by management. Empowering employees and leading by example is essential to achieving success and excellence. We appreciate your feedback!

  10. "Job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to work ar

    Cons

    Downtown Is hard to get to

    Rush University Medical Center2020-02-29
Found 514 reviews