KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Rush University Medical Center

Engaged Employer

Rush University Medical Center

Add a Review

Rush University Medical Center Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,042 of over 1,132 reviews

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Rush University Medical Center CEO Omar B. Lateef, DO
Omar B. Lateef, DO
217 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are good I guess(in 85 reviews)
  • "The people I work are great and I have gained a tremendous amount of experience in a short amount of time.(in 57 reviews)
  • "friendly staff, friendly to nurses(in 35 reviews)
  • "Culture is great for nurses(in 25 reviews)
  • "A good work environment never has felt stress or major conflict with the people that work within my department.(in 22 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management.(in 42 reviews)
  • "Low pay and over worked(in 41 reviews)
  • "Parking can be expensive and dining options are not the best(in 29 reviews)
  • "Low salary but its a PhD(in 22 reviews)
  • "For hourly employees raises are about .20 cents a year and you can reach the salary cap for your job title within 5 years.(in 15 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Rush University Medical Center and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years
    Featured Review

    Great Place to Work

    Apr 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent culture and people. Great place to work. Rush does a lot for the community and for their employees. I've learned a lot and enjoy working here.

    Cons

    As like other hospitals some areas are short staffed but the company has done a lot to increase morale and show appreciation for their employees

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Great place to work

    Jun 20, 2022 - Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Prestigious hospital. Colleagues are dedicated, friendly, helpful and committed. Competitive salary. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Opportunities for advancement can be limited in certain departments.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    RUN a for the hills. DO NOT work in the recruitment office.

    Apr 26, 2022 - Talent Acquisition Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - big hospital - nothing else

    Cons

    Outdated computer systems - upper management are bullies - gossip - turnover - paying for parking

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Very supportive, positive atmosphere, opportunity to grow

    Jun 18, 2022 - Media Relations in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers and leaders are easy to work with, supportive and looking for ways to grow the business and grow staff talent.

    Cons

    It's always in a state of change, which can be good but can be challenging.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Look somewhere else

    Jun 25, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good training and colleagues. Company encourages advanced education.

    Cons

    Expensive benefits and no bump in pay for senior nurses. If you want to be paid what you are worth as an experienced nurse, look elsewhere. Rush is known for going cheap on the people who stay for longevity. Most nurses go there, get their education, and leave to grow. Company has experienced a cultural change where employees are expected to more for less. Raises do not match the rising cost of inflation.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Department Dependent

    Jun 15, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits Central location Beautiful facilities Coworkers Rewarded when the company wins awards

    Cons

    High leadership turnover. Your department leadership hinges your entire experience.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Jun 12, 2022 - Registered Nurse in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are great

    Cons

    Can be busy in the last few years but that’s now everywhere due to pandemic

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    works

    Jun 27, 2022 - Medical Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, and good coworkers

    Cons

    no room for growth and commitment

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Hear me out

    Feb 4, 2022 - Financial Services Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Teamwork is great, meditation rooms, Flex Time, we have Starbucks, and you work remotely if you choose to do so. I had a great work life balance since once my shift was over I was done it went no further than that.

    Cons

    Low pay increases we received a 2% raise when inflation is up 8%, workloads are unrealistic, the staff do not have support from management, the department has had 3 managers in a years stance, inconsistent adherence to core values. This company doesn’t abide by their values it sounds good though, management cares more about meeting financial goals than great quality work vs quantity to bring in revenue and the mental sanity of the staff (burn out). There is NO training you sink or swim and having staff deal with revenue you would think there would be thorough revenue cycle training since you’re dealing with the finances but Rush lives up to their name, they R U S H! The turnover is high, the morale is extremely low and nepotism is a HUGE problem. You have to pay for parking which is INSANELY expensive along with the Rush gym. As much as we contribute to the company it should be paid. The PTO is a joke (paid Holidays comes out of your own PTO bank), you have to use your cellphone to work and we weren’t reimbursed nor did we receive a stipend for cellphone usage or buying our own equipment, we had to buy our own equipment if we didn’t already have a computer and micromanagement is extremely HIGH. There’s also no structure and no professional development.

    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good organization to work for

    Jun 12, 2022 - Sourcing Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval