Rush University Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Rush University Medical Center Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 477 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Rush University Medical Center CEO Larry J Goodman
Larry J Goodman
219 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "Values Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    They perform annual employee satisfaction surveys to identify staff concerns/complaints and makes strides to improve what they can. Great opportunity for advancement and lateral transfers. Great benefits.

    Cons

    The HR department is notoriously slow and it often requires knowing someone within the department you're looking to apply to.

    Rush University Medical Center2019-03-10
  2. "Staff RN good place to work as an RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    supportive work environement for nursing staff

    Cons

    rotating, weekend and holiday shifts

    Advice to Management

    Continue magnet status and transitional nursing leadership

    Rush University Medical Center2019-09-26
  3. "Just ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers and new hospital

    Cons

    Management didn’t seem to care, always understaffed, treated poorly by doctors, low wages compared to other hospitals

    Advice to Management

    Staff your units!

    Rush University Medical Center2019-09-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "altruistic culture but overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator II in Chicago, IL
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The hospital seems to really care about the community, the patients, and the employees. Lots of educational events and opportunities for tuition assistance. Great employees - smart, motivated, caring.

    Cons

    PTO is TERRIBLE - we get half the days off that people at other places get - I'm considering going elsewhere just because of this. Every department is constantly understaffed because people get burnt out and leave and then those remaining have to scramble to cover, and then the process repeats itself.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so stingy with holiday/vacation/sick/PTO time! It's insulting and goes against your claims of caring about "wellness". You hire excellent people and they go above and beyond. They deserve a break and everyone is soooo burnt out. You'll save money on hiring and training if you keep people here, and you're losing people because they are exhausted. Also, our maternity leave benefits are dated - as a... "progressive hospital", we should be much better. I've had coworkers who left because of this. Let a mother bond with her child. Practice what you preach. We're doing maternal coaching and community awareness, and yet you're forcing a mom to come back a few weeks after giving birth, or go on disability? You should be ashamed.

    Show More
    Rush University Medical Center2019-09-19
  5. "The best you can get"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker Care Manager in Chicago, IL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working here will make other hospital settings seem inadequate.

    Cons

    RUMC is not perfect but it's better than everywhere else in town. You can't leave here and go to another hospital to get treated better. It's a shame.

    Rush University Medical Center2019-09-18
  6. "Good Company Poor team environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Rush does a lot within the community and truly cares about patients. Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    HR team has a culture that is 30 years old. Only expect to work beyond your hours and nothing more.

    Rush University Medical Center2019-09-13
  7. "Train management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phlebotomist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits if your full time , decent food , gives away a lot of free stuff at employee events , safe on campus

    Cons

    Train your managers to be better! Care about your employees or they will continue to leave ,develop better discipline program very outdated , actually care about what We have to say! BETTER PAY!

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers to be better! Care about your employees or they will continue to leave ,develop better discipline program very outdated , actually care about what We have to say!

    Rush University Medical Center2019-09-12
  8. "Pro nurses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Pro nurses

    Cons

    Far to travel if you don’t live in the city

    Rush University Medical Center2019-09-02
  9. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Nurse 

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    excellent healthcare organization, friendly staff and management

    Cons

    nothing negative, everyone is truly caring

    Rush University Medical Center2019-08-29
  10. "RUMC is a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Rush University Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Great culture. The organization truly cares about the advancement of its staff.

    Cons

    There are not any cons

    Rush University Medical Center2019-08-24
Found 477 reviews