Rush University Medical Center "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Rush University Medical Center Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 17, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Rush University Medical Center CEO Larry J Goodman
Larry J Goodman
239 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team work, pacing, diversity, pay

    Cons

    Upper management egos out of control

    Rush University Medical Center2018-09-17
  2. "room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pct in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    pay and wonderful and generous co workers smart nurses who run the hospital

    Cons

    management incompetent including a few RN's that are in upper management who are out of tune with staff

    Advice to Management

    Need to be more in tune with their departments from upper to lower managment

    Rush University Medical Center2017-08-28
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Food Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Park Forest, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rush University Medical Center for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job. Good people to work with.

    Cons

    Very unorganized upper management and pure chaos within the department.

    Advice to Management

    Do better.

    Rush University Medical Center2015-12-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Staff Nurse in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good safety culture but front line staff must do more work for minimal financial compensation year to year. Needs to step up the pay rates to keep in line with the increasing cost of living in this very expensive city.

    Cons

    Lack of accountability from middle management which still continues to have culture of blame on front line staff. Too many layers of middle management and many upper management which may stiffle innovation from long lead times.

    Advice to Management

    Minmize the middle layers of management, save money and improve care.

    Rush University Medical Center2015-10-27
  6. "Assistant Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to blaze an innovative path

    Cons

    Upper management is overly concerned with profit...no vision

    Advice to Management

    If you build it, they will come.

    Rush University Medical Center2015-08-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No hopes of a future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was my first job out of college. It was good enough and provided health benefits. It fostered a learning environment. Also a learning environment to get my butt out of the door.

    Cons

    There was so much red tape. Things were not efficiently and effectively done. PhD candidates were only paid quarterly and even the upper management would be 4 weeks late on their stipends. People were sad to be around. They didn't change their career goals but accepted poor pay for the amount of work performed. I felt that the environment was toxic. The professors had so much to worry about (employee fringe... benefits, budget cut backs, etc). It was a very stressful situation. Vacation time was extremely poor because you still needed to take vacation time for federal holidays because the hospital does not divide the research division from the hospital division. Employees were overworks. It was not conducive to producing research under a name that couldn't even take care of us.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your staff and they'll be happier. Office culture is extremely poor. While more money was being thrown into the hospital, more money was being taken away from research.

    Rush University Medical Center2014-10-08
  8. "Finance Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and good work/life balance

    Cons

    slow turn over on upper management so so hard to get promoted.

    Rush University Medical Center2014-07-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Healthcare professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    For healthcare professionals, there is opportunity for professional development and continuing education. The organization is focusing more and more on quality improvement and process improvement, and staff members are encouraged to be involved with these initiatives. Organizational structure, departmental structure, and shared-governance is incredibly strong in the clinical units. Nurses are proud to work there and... deliver great care.

    Show More

    Cons

    Upper management/leadership focuses a lot on the negatives and areas that the organization isn't performing well in. There is minimal recognition for a job well done or for efforts made to improve practice. It can feel punitive, futile and exhausting. Work is done in silos; interdisciplinary teamwork is very weak for an academic medical center. Very serious work environment/culture, without positivity or happiness.... Annual raises are the lowest I've ever seen. Many staff members and managers have worked here forever (30+ years) and are resistant to change and new ideas.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Recruit new staff and leaders who are positive, knowledgeable, and visionary. Hold people accountable, and let them go if they underperform. Reward and recognize staff more often and with bigger incentives. Continue to encourage direct care staff in all decisions.

    Rush University Medical Center2014-04-24
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    environment of being in a hospital makes you feel good about going to work everyday.

    Cons

    Upper management seems a little clueless

    Advice to Management

    pay more attention in meetings, listen to you direct staff

    Rush University Medical Center2014-03-31
  11. Helpful (5)

    "I hope you're friends with the management..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPD Stock Clerk in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rush University Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Halfway decent starting pay, health benefits are good.

    Cons

    Annual raises below 2% of pay (while members of the management take home $5k bonuses), PTO system for non-union employees is mismanaged by inept supervisors, ZERO advancement opportunities unless you are friends with upper management or are a nurse, treated like garbage by management, nurses, and doctors if you aren't a nurse, doctor, or a member of management, constant double standards relating to rule enforcement...... There are so many more.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The management in the department I worked in, SPD, was a joke. Their idea of managing was sitting at a desk and watching movies on their computers while those they were supposed to supervise dealt with all the problems. I worked in their offsite warehouse, which I've heard is no longer being used, and it was a logistics nightmare. There was very little inventory control (if any), the building was a dusty mess... (housing medical supplies!), and items were stored with absolutely no rhyme or reason as to their placement. The director of our department had worked their since she graduated from high school and does not have any kind of degree, yet she looked down on the people below her like she was some highly educated czarina or something. Overall, my advice to management would be to treat people like they are people and not a hit on their personal budget. Personally, I worked there for 3 years. I worked overtime voluntarily every week. I was one of the fastest workers on my shift and my work was always correct. I was eventually fired due to a an argument over a scheduling mistake my supervisor admitted he made. That was right after everyone in the department received a 14 cent raise. I received the same raise as a guy who was late all the time and just sat on the computer all night doing nothing. I received the equivalent of a $290 increase in my yearly salary while my supervisor was given a $2k bonus on top of his raise. The director got $5k. That's how Rush works folks. It's a toxic environment where the management refuses to recognize or reward good, hard work. My manager refused to even say "hello" to me for most of the time I was there. Run away from this place. Run fast.

    Show More
    Rush University Medical Center2013-06-08
Found 10 reviews