KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Rush University Medical Center

Engaged Employer

Rush University Medical Center

Add a Review

Rush University Medical Center Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 852 reviews

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Rush University Medical Center CEO Omar B. Lateef, DO
Omar B. Lateef, DO
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "Accessible and supportive management, good benefits(in 39 reviews)

  • "Great place to work, wonderful culture, great benefits(in 37 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be challenging especially during pandemic(in 11 reviews)

  • "Upper management egos out of control(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Rush University Medical Center and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Responsive, inclusive, progressive healthcare employer

      Nov 19, 2020 - Assistant Professor in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Standards of excellence, good working conditions/benefits, relative autonomy, collaborative workplace, opportunities for giving and receiving feedback, opportunities for growth.

      Cons

      Work-life balance can be challenging especially during pandemic

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Rush University Medical Center Response

      Human Resources

      We’re glad to hear you’re having a positive experience while working with us. At Rush, excellence is our baseline, but we believe we can always do better. With that said, we will take your feedback into consideration as we look for ways to improve the employee experience.

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Prioritize Work Life balance

      Jan 11, 2021 - Senior Data Analyst in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people and coworkers. People are really helpful

      Cons

      No work life balance. I feel like I am always working and things that are not even urgent are always considered urgent.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      My Experience at Rush

      Sep 20, 2020 - Operations Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Work life balance Investing in their leaders Community involvement Culture diversity

      Cons

      Nepotism Clique Unprofessional direct leaders Terminate if you don’t follow their unfair practice Favoritism Bullying Intimidating behavior HR supporter the bad behavior Cover up unfair treatment Throw their title around Rude

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Decent Salary for RN

      Sep 4, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Magnet Status, Tuition Reimbursement , Benefits

      Cons

      Management, work life balance, loss of 401K contribution

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Mission Driven

      Mar 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission driven institution with a commitment to the community. Good health benefits, daycare (although hard to get on the list), and work life balance

      Cons

      Politics, top heavy, lots of organizational change, unclear why

      1 person found this review helpful

      Rush University Medical Center Response

      Human Resources

      We’re glad to hear you had a positive experience while working with us. At Rush, excellence is our baseline, but we believe we can always do better. With that said, we will take your feedback into consideration as we look for ways to improve the employee experience. We appreciate your feedback and wish you well in your future endeavors.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Place to Work

      Oct 30, 2019 - Pension Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, professional, and dedicated people. I was born here, practically raised here, and now I've worked here for nearly three decades. Rush is in my blood.

      Cons

      Poor work-life balance. My department currently does not allow working from home.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Rush University Medical Center Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your dedicated service to Rush. We're glad to hear that Rush has been a great place to work and hope you continue to feel at home here. We appreciate your feedback.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Excellent place to work

      Mar 12, 2019 - ICU RN in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Magnet hospital, shared governance, competitive salary, a lot of effort towards work life balance

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      I really enjoy my work

      Nov 14, 2014 - Research Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a good environment for career growth and development. Rush University has a wide variety or healthcare graduate programs and as an employee most of your tuition is covered. Most of the programs here encourage employees' educational pursuits through mentoring, scheduling, etc. I have worked in several departments and each of my managers made a point of teaching me new skills and were supportive of my development and growth. Overall, excellent patient care is the first priority of every employee, as it should be. When they say work-life balance, they mean it, so it's pretty easy to schedule time off. The benefits are solid and if you get your healthcare here, they are also reasonably priced.

      Cons

      They threaten to close programs and eliminate jobs here so frequently, it is hard to feel loyal or secure. The programs and departments are all pretty separate which often complicates procedures and policies. Campus wide, the position titles and grades should be more consistent.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Nurse tech

      Dec 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, awesome pay, plenty of opportunities to learn something new.

      Cons

      Poor work life balance

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to work

      Aug 19, 2015 - Administrative Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, great atmosphere and people, strong company with good executive leadership, great mission and purpose - a true pillar in an under served community, good benefits and strong financially, great work-life balance, low turnover

      Cons

      Slow career growth due to long tenure/low turnover, easy for employees to become complacent, salary/compensation package not very competitive, complacency in mid-level managers can breed inequitable workloads among staff with little or no recognition to high performers and little or no accountability from low performers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Rush University Medical Center Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Rush University Medical Center? Share Your Experiences

    or