Russ Reid Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Russ Reid Company Reviews

Updated Apr 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Russ Reid Company CEO Alan Hall
Alan Hall
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company, great people to work with(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great place to work and the staff is great(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "We are also seeing upper management leave for several offsite or closed door meetings to discuss the status of the agency(in 7 reviews)

  • "Zero stability, low pay, chaotic working environments, unrealistic expectations for those who do stick around or aren't laid off(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Supervisor, Compliance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Supervisor in West Covina, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Russ Reid Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It was a rewarding experience working for a company that helps those in need. Having the opportunity to be part of this culture was amazing!

    Cons

    One of the benefits includes volunteering for clients. I would have loved to do more of that!

    Advice to Management

    Keep striving to help others in need. Making a difference in someone's life is priceless.

    Russ Reid Company2016-07-19
  2. "Overworked, underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Russ Reid Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and great causes

    Cons

    Outdated software and technology, poor morale, low wages, distrust of upper management, and a lay-off culture that led to constant feelings of job insecurity

    Russ Reid Company2019-04-22
  3. "Stay far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Russ Reid Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the people who work here are great. That's about it.

    Cons

    The agency is wildly understaffed. Everyone is overworked and underpaid. Many of the clients have bad relationships with the agency because it over-promises and under-delivers. Not a lot of opportunity for growth or for your opinion to be legitimately valued.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people. Pay your people more for the mountains of work they do. Drastic changes to work culture need to be made.

    Russ Reid Company2018-07-26
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Industry experts trying to adapt to changing landscape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Russ Reid Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The agency exists for a great reason - to help nonprofit organizations raise money so that they can do good things in the world. It makes coming into work something I usually look forward to because I know that I am helping to make a difference in people's lives. For the most part, I truly enjoy working at Russ Reid and many of my co-workers have become good friends, and some have even become like family to me. Our...

    Show More

    Cons

    I've read a lot of the negative reviews here on Glassdoor and while I think that some of the criticism is warranted, I think that much of it it not. Having worked at other agencies and in different corporate organizations, I can honestly say that some of the challenges we experience here at Russ Reid (and that people seem to complain about) are par for the course. I find that a lot of people here, especially younger...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please bring in more senior leaders who have a true vision for the agency and who can support our CEO. Please bring in talented creative leaders who can help us do better creative work. My main advice to our CEO is this - you need to surround yourself with people who share your vision and who believe in it the way you do. Many of the leaders at our agency are doing the exact opposite - they are bringing you (and the...

    Show More
    Russ Reid Company2017-09-22
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Sr. Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Russ Reid Company full-time

    Pros

    Alan Hall is smart, kind, intelligent, and looks out for his clients and employees as he is able to from the top. Clients are the best part of this job! It is truly rewarding to help them achieve their fundraising goals. This company does do good work for their clients!

    Cons

    Lisa and other senior execs are a political nightmare! Office politics are rampant and efforts of their most talented employees go unrewarded and often unnoticed due to the nature of internal politics. Work load is insane and you lose your life to the job!

    Advice to Management

    Pay better attention to the talent you have at all levels and stop the office politics that reward relationships and not work performance.

    Russ Reid Company2017-08-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "The end of RR is near"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Russ Reid Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Many amazing, pleasant and interesting people from all walks of life that you will meet. Some departments are close knit, fun and promote a positive culture despite the chaotic culture that envelops the entire agency.

    Cons

    Bumbling senior management always forces a new, futile initiative that is absolutely a detriment to the culture and morale of its talent. The initiatives this year: seek the help of a process improvement group who never fully understood what RR is all about, merge with a failing, micro managing culture of a sister agency and with the recommendation of the process improvement group, adopt all of the failing company’s business...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop with all the initiatives already, it’s very frustrating and annoying. Progress into the future can be achieved without the idiotic initiatives and the merger with a company who hasn’t turned a profit in years. Production has never been the problem so stop trying to “fix” what’s not broken. Bite the bullet and actually pay to hire experienced Account Managers instead of hiring straight out of college entitled...

    Show More
    Russ Reid Company2017-09-21
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Good people, good mission, bad senior leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Russ Reid Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are amazing and truly feel like family. There's a good mix of fun & work. Easy to grow and be promoted. Many learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Team structures, client loads and processes are ever changing. As soon as one thing starts to make sense - it changes again. There were two major departmental restructures while I was there.

    Advice to Management

    Every time there's a huge change, it affects morale severely. Find a way to assure your employees and provide them with new opportunities in the new reality.

    Russ Reid Company2017-07-12
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Could've been a great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Russ Reid Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the people you work with are extremely talented, and many are kind and fun people to get to know. Clients on the books are satisfying to work with, too.

    Cons

    Zero stability, low pay, chaotic working environments, unrealistic expectations for those who do stick around or aren't laid off. Expected to pick up slack and do multiple people's jobs for no additional pay. You will be made to do the work of the position above you without the title or pay, and your boss will take credit for your work and ideas. Good times.

    Advice to Management

    Adjust pay so it's fair. Don't overwork the talented people while others just fly below the radar and collect a paycheck.

    Russ Reid Company2017-07-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Russ Reid Company full-time

    Pros

    They have a good mission and some of the people are fantastic.

    Cons

    This is literally the worst place I have ever worked. Don't do what I did and try to give them the benefit of the doubt, read the rest of the reviews and take them into full consideration before accepting an offer. Management treats employees awful, yelling, talking down, trying to make you feel small. There are very few opportunities for growth, they under pay, there is a TON of work, with zero perks (except wine, if...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees that leave. Stop promoting people that are cheap and milking them for all they are worth.

    Russ Reid Company2017-07-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A great place to work for most"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Russ Reid Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Really cares deeply about the success of the client Great sense of camaraderie at most levels Work with genuinely kind and caring people Truly wonderful feeling knowing that your hard work benefits the great work that clients do

    Cons

    Senior decision making is opaque Can feel like just waiting for the next shoe to drop office politics at the higher levels can be paralyzing

    Russ Reid Company2017-03-28
Found 76 reviews