Russell Stover Reviews | Glassdoor

Russell Stover Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Andrew Deister
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Not to mention you are working with candy(in 14 reviews)

  • "Was recently purchased by Lindt & Sprungli(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lied to by upper management of changes being implemented by Lindt (or they could have been as clueless as us)(in 8 reviews)

  • "Poor upper management, not treated as a person(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Iola, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Russell Stover full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good working environment (65 degrees year round) inside, people are fun and outgoing.

    Cons

    Just like with every job there are good and bad things. I'd prefer the "bad" at this company than any other company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and the mind set of people will change.

    Russell Stover2019-08-07
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Russell Stover full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very hands on, allowed to work with little micro management

    Cons

    High turnover at sales rep level

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Russell Stover2019-08-17
  3. "It's not the best but it will do."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Abilene, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Russell Stover full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free candy . made some good friends.

    Cons

    Long work weeks in the summer. Then have way to many lack of work day from Dec to May. How can on feed your family on this.

    Advice to Management

    You need to even out the production schedule. Let's us work all 12 months not 2 days a week in the winter. This affects any vacation time one might accrue. It does not count in earning vacation time. We have 1 week off at spring break and then there is plant shut down for 2. All with out pay if you dont have enough vacation.

    Russell Stover2019-08-10
  4. "flexable hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Russell Stover full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexable schedule and ok pay

    Cons

    Seasonal mandatory schedules that require you to drive in circles wasting time and gas. Pay raises not up to cost of living increases. DM lazy and worthless.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your reps to work their stores during seasonal and dispose of DM's that are not worth the $ you pay them.

    Russell Stover2019-06-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pay is good, environment is awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Iola, KS
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Russell Stover full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Highest pay in the area, somewhat climate controlled

    Cons

    60+ hour weeks most of the year (mandatory), in summer it gets very warm - to the point candy is melting on the lines - and only certain areas are allowed fans, management views you as entirely disposable/replaceable, everyone who works there for any amount of time develops physical and/or emotional health issues from the work environment, people drive from an hour + away because everyone local knows better than to work...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees!! Constant pushing for faster production strongly affects our workplace. Turnover is directly linked to being fully expected to have no life outside the plant, and the fact that anywhere above lead level, no one cares. HR literally telling people "if you don't like it, you know where the door is; you are easily replaced" is definitely very bad form.

    Russell Stover2019-06-12
  6. "Good Company, Great People."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging Engineer in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Russell Stover full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fun work environment w/ great people. Was able to collaborate on projects and gain knowledge of the processes/procedures within many different departments. It was a very well-rounded work and learning environment.

    Cons

    Direct management didn't always have a sense of what was going on day to day within the department. Often took a "if it's not broke, don't fix it" approach on any potential changes.

    Russell Stover2019-06-10
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Micro-management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Analyst in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Russell Stover full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free candy; however, I found band-aid in my wrapped chocolate so that was gross.

    Cons

    My manager, who is a Director, was allowed to (or she did it herself) log into my computer and my peers' computers to see what we were doing during the day. The level of her micro-management was horrible and her turnover was high but she is still there.

    Advice to Management

    Look at turnover rates under each manager. If they are high, find out why. You have lost many good people who just wanted more freedom in their jobs.

    Russell Stover2019-06-11
  8. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Coverage Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Russell Stover full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company Car, lots of travel, lots of chocolate

    Cons

    Ok pay, lots of travel

    Russell Stover2019-02-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fair place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Russell Stover full-time

    Pros

    Small company made it easy to build relationships across departments and know who to go to for action.

    Cons

    Limited upward mobility, benefits less than market, and dated systems.

    Russell Stover2019-01-18
  10. "Director of International Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Prairie Village, Johnson, KS
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Russell Stover full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Kansas City based company that manufactures quality products that make consumers days better at a fair price.

    Cons

    Market competition is stiff in the retail space.

    Russell Stover2019-01-02
Found 110 reviews