Ruth's Chris Steak House Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
63%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Ruth's Chris Steak House Chief Executive Officer and Chairman  Michael P. O'Donnell
Michael P. O'Donnell
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pretty good money, and good with my school schedule(in 27 reviews)

  • "amazing culture, great pay and benefits(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Only downside is having to work holidays(in 34 reviews)

  • "Sometimes long hours, there are really no cons(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Go fast"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server Assistant in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Ruth's Chris Steak House full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience with management in Seattle

    Cons

    If you're not fit, it may not be for you

    Ruth's Chris Steak House2020-05-13
  2. "Work for Corporate, Run from Franchise"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ruth's Chris Steak House full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best as developing Hospitality standards, High compensation within industry

    Cons

    The biggest cons come from working for a Franchise location. I have worked for a corporate, and franchise store. The difference is drastic in terms of quality, and standards. The franchise locations do not have same high quality, and barely follow any of the core values. I do not have much cons for working at a corporate location other than the instability of business that comes from being in upscale dining.

    Continue reading
    Ruth's Chris Steak House2020-05-25
  3. "Easy and good pay"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep Cook/Dishwasher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ruth's Chris Steak House full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As long as the chef likes you you will have a fun time.

    Cons

    You'r always wet because of the washing machine

    Ruth's Chris Steak House2020-05-02
  4. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Hostess 

    I worked at Ruth's Chris Steak House part-time

    Pros

    The benefits of the company are great!

    Cons

    The hours can be tough.

    Ruth's Chris Steak House2020-04-28
  5. "Food"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Runner in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ruth's Chris Steak House part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really fun, worked with your schedule.

    Cons

    Peak times were really stressful

    Ruth's Chris Steak House2020-04-29
  6. "Enjoy my job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ruth's Chris Steak House full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training, great coworkers and laid-back for what it is. Consistent money as well

    Cons

    High turnover, management a little inconsistent

    Continue reading
    Ruth's Chris Steak House2020-04-27
  7. "the steaks were amazing so good"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Server in Jersey City, NJ

    I worked at Ruth's Chris Steak House full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the happy hour specials were great

    Cons

    some items exspensive too much

    Ruth's Chris Steak House2020-04-23
  8. "Great Customer Service Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ruth's Chris Steak House part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family-like environment, supportive coworkers, time goes by fast, great customer service experience

    Cons

    Some servers treat hostesses poorly, it is tiring to be fake nice to rich people all day (but it is great customer service experience because the expectations are so high), the hours can be rough (11 am - 11 pm) but that is expected from a food service position

    Ruth's Chris Steak House2020-04-06
  9. "Great Environment for starting career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep/Line Cook in Princeton, NJ
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ruth's Chris Steak House full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chill but competitive environment, great if you want to get a feel of what its like to work in a commercial kitchen. Textbook driven recipes, strict no creativity menu.

    Cons

    Lack a drive for success, management delays promises for career advancement. Does not give employees a chance to develop interest for the job.

    Ruth's Chris Steak House2020-04-03
  10. "They are all professionals"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ruth's Chris Steak House full-time

    Pros

    This is a great place to learn to be the best you can through the leadership

    Cons

    Not a lot of culinary creativity

    Ruth's Chris Steak House2020-04-01
Found 477 reviews