Ryan Homes Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Ryan Homes President & CEO       Paul C. Saville (no image)
Paul C. Saville
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "Best training program in the industry that teaches you everything you need to know to succeed in the industry(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and contests/bonuses(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance at at times, and the job can be a little stressful at times(in 19 reviews)

  • "Long hours, which is unavoidable in that industry(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Love this job!!!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryan Homes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Choose your own days off, clean surroundings, nice hours, great income and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Only 1 weekend a month off.

    Continue reading
    Ryan Homes2019-06-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Superintendent in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ryan Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great group of guys. Very much a guys guy environment. I knew nothing about houses and they helped me learn from beginning to end of home building process.

    Cons

    If you hate loud noise and working with the boys, then keep on scrolling.

    Ryan Homes2020-04-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Depends on your neighborhood"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing Representative in Columbus, OH
    Recommends

    I worked at Ryan Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great money, busy a few months a year and then pretty relaxing the rest.

    Cons

    Very susceptible to the economy and housing market. Very possible to be put in a bad community where the homes are not priced correctly and being 100% commission that is always an uphill battle.

    Ryan Homes2020-04-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for with amazing benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryan Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Huge potential for growth within the company

    Cons

    Long days and potential for high stress

    Ryan Homes2020-04-28
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Career Growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ryan Homes full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very stable Company and promote from within

    Cons

    too structured, rigid and not adaptable

    Ryan Homes2020-03-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Strong hit or miss"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing Representative 

    I worked at Ryan Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work-life balance, weekend off, great work hours

    Cons

    Culture strongly varies amongst divisions. Some divisions give you a great deal of autonomy, trust, and treat you like an adult. Others will micromanage you and treat you like a child. Extremely political in some divisions, and strong degree of favoritism is played. If you are most liked amongst your managers, you will get away with whatever you please, even if it hurts the common good. Until the pendulum shifts, and a new favorite is chosen. Discouraging for those who have been loyal and dedicated countless hours to ensuring no sale is lost.

    Continue reading
    Ryan Homes2020-03-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Racist Hampton Roads"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ryan Homes

    Pros

    Zero. None I can think of.

    Cons

    The Chesapeake office are the most racist folks. I applied online and came in they were all in shocked I was black. I had over 5 years experience in sales and brilliant results. I had a friend white who came in no experience. She got hired on the spot. EOE needs to look into this area.

    Continue reading
    Ryan Homes2020-04-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Rep"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Sale Representative 

    I have been working at Ryan Homes full-time

    Pros

    Pay. Stability. Great company benefits

    Cons

    Uncertainty in pay, work to life balance

    Ryan Homes2020-02-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Headline"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryan Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training really fun teachers

    Cons

    Dont really see a problem

    Ryan Homes2020-01-07
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place To Learn"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryan Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, management, and support from management. Best training program in the industry that teaches you everything you need to know to succeed in the industry. Work hard and reap the benefits

    Cons

    Corporate pressure makes job extremely stressful at times. Overloading project managers with too much responsibility. Low quality contractors make job frustrating, but if they were perfect they would need less project managers.

    Ryan Homes2019-11-21
Found 191 reviews