KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Ryder System

Engaged Employer

Ryder System

Add a Review

Ryder System Employee Reviews about "ryder"

Updated Nov 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 196 of over 2,089 reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Ryder System Chair of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer Robert E. Sanchez
Robert E. Sanchez
818 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good pay and weekly(in 156 reviews)
  • "Generally professional and Good Benefits (offering health benefits to non(in 140 reviews)
  • "People are great and that's about it.(in 106 reviews)
  • "Good work environment and people(in 27 reviews)
  • "Coworkers are great and considered as family.(in 24 reviews)
Cons
  • "Their Poor management affects them tremendously(in 119 reviews)
  • "Alot of cons no work life balance(in 52 reviews)
  • "Long hours and sometimes very hard working(in 51 reviews)
  • "What little training there is all about On the Job Training or getting mentored by a survivor.(in 49 reviews)
  • "Its too big to take and some of the managers don't seem to be manager caliber(in 47 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Ryder System and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "ryder"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Work Here

    Oct 26, 2021 - Account Executive, ECS 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The management team at Ryder's brokerage is amazing. They recognize hard work, encourage a fun yet driven work environment, prepare you to take on your own accounts, provide any and all resources to be successful, and challenge you to do better. Can't say enough good things about the brokerage and will always recommend Ryder to a friend.

    Cons

    Freight never stops moving lol

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company, growth focused

    Nov 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ryder is a wonderful company with a stellar team and leadership.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything specific

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love it

    Nov 20, 2021 - Warehouse Supervisor in Lorton, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Young Adults looking for a career will not be disappointed with the experience gained and the opportunity given by Ryder.

    Cons

    If you relocate. Make sure you have enough saved up because they don’t help you out nearly as much as you’d think they should. Ex - I moved sites and states for the company and came out of pocket >$3500. And I’m a single guy without a family.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    I love Ryder

    Nov 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything was amazing at Ryder Met Robert Sanchez at PROs, he was the Goat. I was an RMT and walked right into his office. Too bad I was young and didn't care about my career yet, I could have went to the top of this company.

    Cons

    Nothing at all I say

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Overall A Good Company to Work For

    Nov 15, 2021 - Inside Account Manager in Woodstock, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent benefits and Ryder does contribute to your 401K. Stock plan optional and discounted.

    Cons

    Base pay and compensation is too low for the amount of time and effort that go into each sale.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company for drivers that want to be home often

    Nov 11, 2021 - Class A Cdl Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You usually have a set schedule with regular start times. They pay overtime after 40 hours The Holiday pay is nice. Overall good company to work for.

    Cons

    Not all Ryder drivers paid equally. Pay is variable an depends on the contract you work. So if the customer doesn't want to pay more the driver does not get a pay raise. Part time employees do not get any benefits. Or paid time off

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Just okay

    Nov 13, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in New Albany, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay but that is about it. At this point I am looking for full WFH position and Ryder is just not it.

    Cons

    Only hybrid WFH options available two to three days in a week might as well be all in office , Ryder seems to be out of touch with what employees are looking for. Poor communication from management and you can give your opinions but they really do not care. Only way to move up is being part of the clique. No paid sick time and fake work life balance.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Quality inspector (Material Handler working with SAP)

    Nov 13, 2021 - Quality Inspector (Material Handler Working With SAP) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm working with Ryder Inc as Quality inspector (Material Handler working with SAP). Just to survive I'm working with this institution.

    Cons

    This job is not consistence with my educational qualification.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Service manager review - Ryder systems

    Nov 30, 2021 - Service Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Generous pay plan. Vehicle allowance.

    Cons

    Ryder systems service centers in major cities appear to be inadequate and cannot properly support the fleet size for their areas. Additional centers are required to improve the customer experience. As a service manager I received non-stop phone calls by customers in broken down vehicles all hours of the night.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Overworked, low pay

    Oct 28, 2021 - Customer Logistics Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Large compnay that offers great training and learning experience within multiple sectors of the transportation industry.

    Cons

    Ryder is a very lean company and stuck in old ways. You will be overworked, and your pay will be quite a bit lower compared to the rest of the market in similar positions. There is a definite lack of positive culture.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 196 Reviews

Popular Careers with Ryder System Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Ryder System? Share Your Experiences

or

Ryder System Photos

+ Add Photo
Ryder System photo of: Ryder Runners at United Way's Annual Miami Corporate Run
Ryder System photo of: A Rental Management Trainee helping a customer. Our RMTs get to learn all aspects of our business
Ryder System photo of: A Ryder shop location
Ryder System photo of: Our Technicians are trained in a wide range of equipment; heavy duty engines, trucks, trailers and reefers.
Ryder System photo of: Just another day in the office for one of our 7,000 truck driving professionals...
Ryder System photo of: Transportation Management Center in Fort Worth, TX.
Ryder System photo of: Ryder CEO Robert Sanchez and EVP Greg Greene during the annual Employee Appreciation Week.
See All Photos