Ryerson University Reviews | Glassdoor

Ryerson University Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 401 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Ryerson University CEO Sheldon Levy
Sheldon Levy
141 Ratings
Pros
  • "Outstanding work environment and positive work space(in 36 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours are given to account for studying and classes(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sessional instructors are not well respected by full-time faculty or university administration(in 17 reviews)

  • "there are no cons in the university(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Associate Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great boutique firm doing very meaningful work. Wonderful experience and training!

    Cons

    Smaller firms don't usually have the same resources as larger firm, this one is no different.

    Ryerson University2018-11-13
  2. "Good depending on the place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various Positions 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ryerson University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    strong advancement opportunity, good pay, good vacation

    Cons

    some departments are toxic to work in

    Ryerson University2019-04-03
  3. "Assstant professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ryerson University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved it, great place to work.

    Cons

    Wasn't my place in time

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    Ryerson University2018-10-13
  4. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ryerson University full-time

    Pros

    Nice campus in the middle of downtown of Toronto, motivating environment, experienced faculties, many chances to grow with in the organization

    Cons

    old buildings, it is constantly filled with homeless people

    Ryerson University2018-06-11
  5. "Working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson University full-time

    Pros

    The benefits of Ryerson University are good.

    Cons

    The university facility is not good.

    Ryerson University2017-05-02
  6. "PostDoc Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Research Assistant and Teaching Assistant in Milpitas, CA

    I have been working at Ryerson University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Advanced, educational, friendly environment

    Cons

    Part time job, Less salary

    Ryerson University2016-09-29
  7. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Assistant in Woodbridge, York, SC

    I worked at Ryerson University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best job I ever had. Good working environment. People are nice and helpful. Many chances to grow with in the organization

    Cons

    Its in down town so travelling is difficult. Unless you live in down town then it is a huge plus.

    Advice to Management

    Please improve your building access equipment. There are times when your access card wont work and you will be stuck outside.

    Ryerson University2016-01-22
  8. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Ryerson University

    Pros

    this is a good place to be

    Cons

    this is a nice place to be

    Ryerson University2013-09-12
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, great benefits (depending on union affiliation), lots of professional development opportunities

    Cons

    Often a slower pace - things sometimes take an extended period of time to be accomplished (but that's the case with most public institutions)

    Ryerson University2019-08-23
  10. "Wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment inside most of the lab. People are very caring.

    Cons

    Most professors don't have adequate fund.

    Ryerson University2019-08-21
Found 401 reviews