Cover image for Rylem
Logo

Rylem

Is this your company?

Rylem

Add a Review

Rylem Recruiting Coordinator Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 29 of over 93 reviews
3.9
73% Recommend to a Friend
81% Approve of CEO

Found 29 of over 93 reviews

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Rylem Managing Partner Mike Dades (no image)
Mike Dades
9 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

500

70 Comments

Tech

468.4K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Rylem~402664
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company to work for!

    Sep 9, 2020 - Senior Technical Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Company! I learned more since I joined Rylem!

    Cons

    Great company to work for!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great culture, dedicated staff, has its quirks

    Jun 29, 2016 - Technical Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was at Rylem for less than a year and I was able to learn the basics and key points of recruiting that I was able to be taken seriously and hired on at a reputable company; it's a place that fosters your motivation to grow (as a recruiter) and perfect sourcing/recruitment practices - Great culture, fun people, awesome senses of humor (the greatest people I have had the opportunity to work with), - Great office (it honestly felt like a second home to me and was incredibly tough to leave) - Very approachable management (the owners are always down to grab coffee and chat) - As long as you're laid back AND have a strong motivation to work/work ethic, you'll be good - It's also a very team-oriented environment, so that's cool - Probably the best work/life balance in town (for sourcers and recruiters; can't really speak on behalf of sales)

    Cons

    - Management is still working out a few things, so it can seem a little disorganized from time to time - Some of the priorities are a little outdated - Very reliant on VMS, so you don't truly know the reqs or teams that you're recruiting for - 401k package isn't anything to write home about, but the other benefits are good - It's very hierarchical - Not a lot of room for actual career growth (might just be because it's a small company, so you can't blame em')

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Rylem Response

    Manager

    Hello former Rylemite, we appreciate your open and honest feedback and will take it to heart. It's so great to hear you learned everything you need to know to be able to move onto a better opportunity with larger company. We are glad we were a part of your learning and development process. This is very inspirational especially for those individuals out there looking to get their foot into staffing! We wish you all the best and hope our paths will cross again!

  3. Join the Rylem team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company, Newly Developing Culture

    Mar 26, 2018 - Senior Technical Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I recently left my position at Rylem, but have spent the last 3+ years with the company. Rylem is a genuinely fantastic company to work for. At Rylem, your coworkers, supervisors, and (maybe most importantly) the owner, genuinely care about you and your success. Agency staffing isn't easy, but Rylem will give you all of the tools you need to succeed. The culture has changed and evolved a lot over my time at Rylem, and it is admittedly, in flux at the moment, but the company has a great core of young salespeople and recruiters that are driven and excited, and will make great mentors for you if you're looking for your first step into the world of agency recruiting. The owner is also fantastic about working with you directly to find ways to evolve your role and take on more responsibility. Compensation and benefits are also just as good, if not much better, than competing companies.

    Cons

    Agency staffing is tough, and it's definitely not for everyone. You're much less likely to succeed at Rylem if you're the type of person that needs a ton of direction and hand-holding. This is an environment that lends itself well to "go-getters" and people who can be very self-directed. The company is also pretty small, but you will still have access to more tools and resources than you will find at many much bigger staffing agencies.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great starting point for recruiting career

    Nov 10, 2017 - Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Taking early ownership of your own work - Recruiting training was thorough and had structure, good environment for people who are looking to transition into recruiting or looking for a career straight out of college - Promotes communication (selling, negotiating, diplomacy) and administrative skills - Welcomes new ideas all the time - Small company, promotes positivity and collaboration in what is traditionally a competitive, insular line of work - Very goal-oriented culture, not just professional but the owners care about your personal goals too - Encouraged to stay in touch with our candidates post-placement - Some group activities I liked were the book club, game night, boat day & bbq in the summer - Fast promotion and salary increases in the first year, decent benefits

    Cons

    - Rylem welcomes all kinds of personalities, but to be successful in agency-style recruiting, you definitely have to have driven, scrappy, and competitive. Not competitive in the sense you're racing against your coworkers, but recruiters from other agencies. This kind of mentality encourages interacting with candidates and clients before/after work hours, which could interfere with work/life balance. - Sales (business development) is clearly the toughest area, you have to be the kind of person who doesn't mind going after thin leads and cold-calling, as well as being very persuasive in-person. - There was a period when all we had were contests (who could call the most, who could make the highest margin, etc.) which were entertaining at first but became annoying and pushy over time.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Love this agency! Would contract with again

    Sep 24, 2014 - Recruiting Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Contracted with Rylem for about a year at a large company in Seattle. I only left them because I changed from contract to full-time with that company. I got benefits, really fair pay, and my recruiter on the Rylem side was amazing and very up front with me (Mandy, you're amazing!). I almost didn't pursue the role because I lived in Tacoma (~an hour south) and the driving commute was just awful. They were able to give me a subsidized ORCA card that saved me at least a couple thousand dollars (I'm not even kidding) in gas, parking, maintenance, etc. I could not find any other agency in Seattle that offered this. They also offered happy hours so all the contractors on my campus could get together and touch base and just chill out with one another. I would definitely consider them a high-touch, lots of TLC company. I would definitely work with them again! I was sad to leave.

    Cons

    I've heard rumblings of internal-office drama, but I feel like that happens everywhere, and as a candidate, I was not part of any of this (I heard it from a disgruntled former employee who was let go due to performance. You hear bad reviews more than you hear positive ones!).

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Rylem Response

    Manager

    It is always so nice to hear that working with us was a positive and advantageous experience. We wish you all the best and thank you so much for your review! (And we feel very lucky to have Mandy!)

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Special place. Great team!

    Mar 3, 2019 - Technical Recruiter in South Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I consider my time at Rylem very special. It was a great place to work and I enjoyed it immensely. We were provided with ALL the sourcing tools I could ask for...LinkedIn Recruiter, Indeed, CareerBuilder, Dice, Monster...internal training. In my 20+ years in the industry, I've never worked for an org that supplied me with this many tools! It really made a difference. I was able to leave no stone unturned in my search for top tier tech talent. Owner is very generous and always treated me fairly. We worked hard and played hard and it paid off. It's hard work, but it's also great fun. Stressful at times but that's agency life. Great team. Great place to work.

    Cons

    I don't really have too many cons. Most people who post bad reviews probably didn't have the work ethic to hack it at Rylem. Work hard and you will do well. Only con would be maybe not a path to management but a great stepping stone into the PNW tech staffing world. You will learn a lot...fast.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Average outlook

    Feb 24, 2016 - Internal Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Provides the opportunity to get sourcing and recruiting experience at a company in Seattle. The culture between employees is for the most part welcoming, but is geared for a younger start up vibe, prepare to work with friends and not-so-much friends. As a recruiter hopeful you can begin creating your own brand with the tools provided. Peer to Peer mentorship can go beyond Rylem tenure, great for those early in their careers. This company has learned some good things from recent changes, hoping they can complete their goals and not abandon them.

    Cons

    Focus too much on creating a culture fit that requires fun events to hang out with the owners. Compensation should be increased to encourage work/life balance opposed to life balance being inside work funded events that are NSFW. Improvements to the processes, foundations of ideals, and manageable long term goals will be necessary for continued success. Promotional opportunities limited due to internal structure.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Beware and good luck!

    Feb 1, 2018 - Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved the team I worked with and the mentors I have gained from working at Rylem!

    Cons

    Training is non-existent at Rylem. They may even try to sell you on how amazing their training program is, they’re lying. You will learn everything on your own and then soon be training the people that are hired after you! Performance is measured by metrics but metrics aren’t enforced and have been the same for years. They may scare you with a PIP but don’t worry, nothing will happen to you and you may even get promoted! They have meetings for everything.. You'll have weekly 1-on-1 meetings with management to "discuss your metrics" but they'll talk for 90% of that meeting about nothing important. You'll also have weekly recruiter meetings for "training" that are led by recruiters or sales managers because there isn’t a recruiting manager. On top of that, you may have another company meeting just because! Stand-ups happen every morning and typically take 15-20 minutes. The commission structure is terrible! You get your commission at the end of each month for the previous months work. Most agencies aren’t structured this way and you’ll constantly be thinking about where 92% of your commission is going. Management continues to have “favorites” and seem to only recognize these workers as top performers even if they’re not. They are the definition of micromanagers who do not listen to their employees and react negatively to new ideas!

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    I've grown along with Rylem, great place to work!

    Oct 24, 2013 - Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Rylem cultivates your career and gives you tools to succeed such as attending conferences, trainings, lunch and learns with industry professionals, and recruiting tools to find the best candidates. -They have fun events, support contractors, and there's plenty of free food and drinks! -They support both professional and personal growth and achieving your goals. -As with any business, they have their growing pains and have made great strides in the last few years. I have been right there growing with them in my career and they've given me opportunity to progress and develop my skills.

    Cons

    Since it is a small company, processes can change more frequently, however since hiring a branch manager, there is more consistency and established processes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Rylem Response

    Manager

    Thank you for your review and we will certainly take your advice to heart!

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Employer I've Ever Had

    Sep 18, 2015 - Technical Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, Owners are always available to give advice or troubleshoot problems, great opportunity to succeed if you take advantage of the many resources made available to you, fun events and competitions like Pancake/Trivia Fridays, Mike, Kim, and Guy really go out of their way to make you feel appreciated

    Cons

    No cons about Rylem. Recruiting can be a tough business and you won't last long if you don't have the right mindset, but that is true across the industry. If anything Rylem gives you the time, tools, and opportunity to grow into the "right mindset" in a way that no other agency or internal recruiting org would.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at Rylem? Share Your Experiences

Rylem logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Rylem Photos

+ Add Photo
Rylem photo of: Halloween 2016
Rylem photo of: 2017 Ugly Sweater Party Crew!
Rylem photo of: Andrea the Centaur - our Halloween Costume Contest Winner 2016
Rylem photo of: our office Ranger
Rylem photo of: White Elephant Gift Exchange 2016
Rylem photo of: Rylem's contest winners of Halloween 2015
Rylem photo of: Halloween 2015 at Rylem
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Rylem Job Seekers Also Viewed

Revel Logo
Revel

3.7

143 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 93 Rylem reviews submitted anonymously by Rylem employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Rylem is right for you.