S.C. Johnson Reviews | Glassdoor

S.C. Johnson Reviews

Updated February 23, 2017
95 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
S.C. Johnson Chairman and CEO H. Fisk Johnson
H. Fisk Johnson
43 Ratings

95 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Good work life balance, development opportunities (in 48 reviews)

  • SC Johnson is a Family Company thus not much influenced from the stock exchange fluctuations or dividends to third parties (in 20 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Racine, WI
    Current Employee - Manager in Racine, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S.C. Johnson full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great brands, Good Benefits, Good budget, Experienced and fresh work force, Company store, modern labs, Fridays to work from home

    Cons

    Too much employee turn over, Low morale, Less transparency, Process oriented/not technology oriented, senior management whips around middle management and the pressure flows down stream

    Advice to Management

    Keep the senior management in one division to get continuity instead of 3 year terms, Have a long term plan instead of changing minds everyday

    S.C. Johnson Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – The SCJ Team

    Thank you for sharing your advice.


  2. Helpful (9)

    "Used to be a great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager
    Former Employee - Sales Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at S.C. Johnson full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    World-class brands, great people who are caring and smart, and clear roles and responsibilities. Also, solid benefits and profit sharing, although those have been declining. Good direction to focus more on digital media vs traditional media.

    Cons

    This is not the same company I started with 10 years ago. The new COO is from Pepsi and it's all about the bottom line and profits. in 2014 the company laid off around 20% of their "white collar" work-force, really taking an ax to a situation that required a scalpel. The culture was smashed. The strategy seems scattered and the tenured employees are not valued. This is no longer "the family company." It's becoming a big, east coast style CPG organization where people are a number.

    Advice to Management

    Value your legacy employees and invest in their growth. Don't forget about innovation, it's the lifeblood!

    S.C. Johnson Response

    Dec 19, 2016 – The SCJ Team

    Thanks for writing. We’re glad you feel that you worked with great, smart, caring people. That’s really important to SCJ and its culture. And, we really agree about the importance of both people and ... More


  3. Helpful (9)

    "Not the same SCJ"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Level 15 Technician in Bay City, MI
    Current Employee - Level 15 Technician in Bay City, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S.C. Johnson full-time

    Pros

    The money is good, benefits are ok, it's a job.

    Cons

    Current employee/production technician with a lot of years at Bay City Site. This used to be a great place to work but not anymore. Used to be you had to practically kill somebody to get in trouble around here, let alone fired but now we've let more good people go than I can count in just the last year. There are no warnings or coachings anymore. There is a revolving door with an increasing turn over rate. The morale and culture are nothing to write home about. Work with same people for long hours and never speak a word to each other because we're all afraid of getting in trouble or offending someone and being shown the door. Its sad. The workforce is a nervous wreck. People and management seem out to catch you making a mistake. There are perks, mostly the pay, but that's just a trap to stay in a soul sucking place.The new human resources regime rules the site with an iron fist so if you think they care about you, you'll be dissappointed. The swing shift is harder than you think and takes a lot outta you. Times have really changed in Bay City in the last few years and I'm just happy to be retiring soon. I wouldn't recommend friends or family to work here.

    Advice to Management

    Stop telling people in the onboarding process that we "hire for life" and that "people are our greatest asset" when our discipline actions and lack of positive conflict management prove otherwise.

    S.C. Johnson Response

    Dec 19, 2016 – The SCJ Team

    We’re sorry you feel this way. We take the feedback we receive to heart.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Racine, WI
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Racine, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at S.C. Johnson full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Many opportunities to grow and climb the corporate ladder with a lot of job rotation

    Cons

    Intense workload - many additional hours

    Advice to Management

    Take time to get in the lower level job descriptions and evaluate work load

    S.C. Johnson Response

    Dec 19, 2016 – The SCJ Team

    Thanks. We appreciate the review and feedback.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great company if you are looking to be a VP one day"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Racine, WI
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Racine, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S.C. Johnson full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Excellent benefits if you have a family. You also have plenty of opportunity to move around the company.

    Cons

    Racine... Slow moving decision makers... Career advancement is limited to managerial positions

    Advice to Management

    Communication needs to open up between the different functions. Business needs to stop being made in defense of other brands.

    S.C. Johnson Response

    Dec 19, 2016 – The SCJ Team

    Thanks for taking the time to write. We appreciate your perspective on your experience.


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Director of Operations"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waxdale Director of Operations -Plant Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Waxdale Director of Operations -Plant Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S.C. Johnson full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company values that are linked through all of the business objectives. You feel as though you are truly a part of the team, the company, and the family. This companies provides many opportunities for you to be involved in decision making.

    Cons

    The private owned nature of the company lends to very protected decision making in areas that should still provide full autonomy. The HR organization does not support and promote individual development.

    Advice to Management

    Improve career development process

    S.C. Johnson Response

    Nov 4, 2016 – The SCJ Team

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It’s great to hear that you feel such a part of the team and can see SCJ’s values in action. We also appreciate your perspective on opportunities to improve. We’ll ... More


  8. "Regional Lean Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Lean Manager in Racine, WI
    Current Employee - Regional Lean Manager in Racine, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S.C. Johnson full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance and care for employees.

    Cons

    Can improve on succession planning.


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Room for improvement"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Racine, WI
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Racine, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S.C. Johnson full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Bringing in outside talent to institute best practices is helping move the company in the right direction/increase its ability to compete.

    Cons

    EXTREME lack of diversity, particularly African American/Black. HORRIBLE work-life balance in terms of work hours and constant overnight offsites that could be done during work hours. Antiquated telecommuting/HR policies. Schools in surrounding area are FAR BELOW AVERAGE. Better connect the activities of the global organization with local market needs to increase competiveness.

    Advice to Management

    Actively recruit and develop diverse talent. Be more thoughtful of asking people to work during core hours and provide more flexible work/telecommuting policies. Increase communication and collaboration between the global and local organizations.


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Good starting place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Senior Regulatory Affairs Specialist in Racine, WI
    Former Employee - Senior Regulatory Affairs Specialist in Racine, WI
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at S.C. Johnson full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great experience, learned to work under pressure, lots of exposure to other departments, great benefits

    Cons

    Too many office politics, doesn't matter how hard you work if your manager doesn't personally like you

    Advice to Management

    Try to focus on employees actually meeting objectives

    S.C. Johnson Response

    Oct 25, 2016 – The SCJ Team

    Thanks for writing. We’re happy you had some great learnings at SCJ, and we’ll share your feedback with the right folks.


  11. "Brand Management Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern

    I worked at S.C. Johnson as an intern

    Pros

    SC Johnson gives you a lot of ownership over your projects. They give you the resources necessary to succeed and the teams are very supportive and collaborative.

    Cons

    The company is going through a large culture shift right now, a lot of senior leadership has come from outside the company, and there is definitely a strange vibe.



Showing 95 of 363 reviews
Reset Filters