S. M. Wilson Reviews | Glassdoor

S. M. Wilson Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
S. M. Wilson CEO Scott J. Wilson (no image)
Scott J. Wilson
10 Ratings
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Project Engineer Intern in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at S. M. Wilson for less than a year

    Pros

    Interns are given a lot of responsibility, but also a lot of support from their project teams. I was able to be exposed to all facets of the industry and gained an immense amount of experience in such a short time frame.

    Cons

    Nothing really. May have been nice to have a few more intern events spread throughout summer instead of just beginning and end to get to know other interns.

    Advice to Management

    Only thing I could say is to expand your talent reach and try to target more people with engineering backgrounds to tackle problems more creatively and efficiently.

    S. M. Wilson2019-09-27
  2. "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S. M. Wilson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is very progressive with work life balance. The employees are talented and work as a team to produce great results. S. M. Wilson is a solid company with a strong future outlook.

    Cons

    The company is a national company, so some travel may be expected.

    S. M. Wilson2018-11-02
  3. "Marketing & Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S. M. Wilson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    S. M. Wilson is a family-oriented corporation that allows their employees the opportunity to learn and grow. It is truly an honest and transparent firm.

    Cons

    The industry requires flexibility and some long work hours.

    Advice to Management

    The firm has great potential for future growth, continue to develop young talent.

    S. M. Wilson2018-10-09
  4. "Supportive and Motivating Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S. M. Wilson full-time

    Pros

    Company culture is above and beyond. Everyone works as a team. It has a fun, but professional work environment.

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of.

    S. M. Wilson2018-05-25
  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S. M. Wilson full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, everyone respects and trusts each other and maintains a great sense of humor.

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    S. M. Wilson2018-02-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Stands tall above the ordinary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Estimator in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S. M. Wilson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wilson cares about each employee and goes out of their way to provide a pleasing work environment. From co-workers to activities to compensation to communication....all substantially above average. My co-workers are smart, they work hard, and they LOVE to laugh. It is a great atmosphere and culture to work in. i feel very fortunate to have these co-workers around me each day. With all aspects of a company taken... into account, it's one of the two best employers i have ever had the opportunity to work for!

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no specific negatives for me, but just like any place you could work....no company is perfect....just like no employee is perfect.

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you're doing and always keep those lines of communication open

    S. M. Wilson2017-11-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful World of S. M. Wilson & Co."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S. M. Wilson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is an amazing place to work. Very family oriented, open door policy, friendly, willing to provide you with additional training, flexible, fun and the people are second to none. They even encourage employee input when big decisions are being made.

    Cons

    We should get more holidays off :-)

    S. M. Wilson2017-10-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S. M. Wilson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1) Culture - SM Wilson is a family. It is a great place to work because of the people. We work to support each other for the success of our projects and to achieve a sustainable work/life balance. It's the perfect mix between a large company and a small family business. 2) Communication - If you have a question or concern, you can walk into anyone's office at any time to discuss it. 3) Projects - We... have a chance to work on some of the largest projects in St. Louis and across the country. There are opportunities to travel, and plenty of opportunities to stay local.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is construction, and with construction comes difficult projects and challenging situations. SM Wilson is no different. There are times when you are on a difficult project and will work long hours and have stressful days. However, because of the team culture, this is much more manageable. Also, SM Wilson works to counter this with promoting a healthy work/life balance.

    S. M. Wilson2017-10-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S. M. Wilson full-time

    Pros

    Freedom to perform your job. Everyday is different and has its own challenges. Good people.

    Cons

    Communication isn't the greatest. Can be inexperienced with decision making.

    Advice to Management

    Better communicate but understand the situation before making a decision. Grow and development talent. Recognize a problem on projects early enough to mitigate the risk.

    S. M. Wilson2017-10-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Look who is Reviewing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at S. M. Wilson

    Pros

    Excellent reputation - a great deal of quality people working for them

    Cons

    Very Bad Application process - Website application is hard to get through, however rejection comes withing 24 hours.

    Advice to Management

    Need to have someone besides the President of the company post a review.

    S. M. Wilson2017-07-11
Found 12 reviews