S-Trip! Reviews | Glassdoor

S-Trip! Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Alexander Handa
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Overall a great company to work for(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours during sales seasons(in 13 reviews)

  • "Little to no filtering when hiring staff, which leads to a mess when on destination(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Trip planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Trip Planner in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S-Trip! full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We get to help students have a great experience. Sharing it with their entire class. Travel, new culture, meeting new friends, celebrating etc! I get to experience the before planning and promoting, I then get to see it follow through on destination which is amazing and continue to hear memories years later.

    Cons

    There can be long hours at times.

    S-Trip!2017-08-14

    S-Trip! Response

    August 16, 2017Talent Manager

    Thanks for the review. There is something so special about sharing this amazing opportunity with a new generation of travelers! Of course as you know the hours can be long and irregular during our peak times and we thank you for your years of dedication. Thanks so much!

  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Destination Staff in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at S-Trip! full-time

    Pros

    So I actually went on a trip back in 2011, and after I was done school I still couldn't get over how great the trip was, so I applied to staff. Being new I never felt left out or out of step. The leadership team was always great at including new members of the team in, and coaching everyone. I definitely learned a lot about myself, and had a great time staffing.

    Cons

    None really. Maybe give staff reusable water bottles that we could have on us at all times.

    S-Trip!2016-09-23
  3. "Help Desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at S-Trip! full-time

      Pros

      good expat community and team. lots of company team building. youthful and laid back style. good communication between employees and upper management

      Cons

      a lot of stress and pressure on job in addition to low pay. this can be a good thing for some people but this job will become your entire social life and consume most of your brain capacity.

      Advice to Management

      higher salaries and less (or more flexible) hours would make the job more enjoyable. keep up the awesome communication and peer support within the team

      S-Trip!2016-03-27
    • Helpful (3)

      "Run while you still can"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at S-Trip! full-time

      Pros

      - great co-workers - lax / casual work atmosphere - some flexibility with hours - travel a lot, chance to travel on destination - unique product - working with students (if that's your thing)

      Cons

      - the office is a glorified call-center - authoritarian leadership - little to no communication with upper-management (unless you're a favorite) - no existing or functional HR department - many people leaving and joining the company all the time - ALL EMPLOYEES ARE DISPOSABLE - extremely stressful environment - managers are rude, demanding, and totalitarian - unrealistic sales goals - will expect you to cover...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      RESPECT and LISTEN to your staff. Stop forcing people out of your company and cutting people left and right. LEARN HOW TO COMMUNICATE APPROPRIATELY. Many conversations and decisions happen above the heads of employees who should be involved in the conversation about performance, sales territories, etc.

      S-Trip!2015-11-12
    • "#JobOfALifetime"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at S-Trip! full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Mentor Youth Amazing trips Fun Excursions Lasting Friendships & memories

      Cons

      the hours can be long

      Advice to Management

      keep up the good work

      S-Trip!2017-08-10

      S-Trip! Response

      August 16, 2017Talent Manager

      Thanks for the positive review, it is awesome to hear that you see the incredible value in our trips. Thanks for being part of something great!

    • "Great place for a hungry sales person!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Trip Planner in Toronto, ON
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at S-Trip! full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      AMAZING office culture. Your coworkers truly do become your friends. If you're looking for a place to call home, this is it. These people are quite literally like my family. Tons of opportunities to own your territories and truly give students the #TRIPOFALIFETIME experience. If you're ready to hustle, you'll do well here!

      Cons

      If you're not ready to hustle, you don't do very well. Straight up! Our job is challenging from time to time BUT we get to offer a once-in-a-lifetime experience and that's pretty rad.

      S-Trip!2017-06-06

      S-Trip! Response

      July 13, 2017Talent Manager

      Thanks for your positive feedback. We aim to be transparent during our hiring process about our expectations including long hours and the challenging nature of our business. We are all committed to running amazing trips for youth and our sales team is super hungry and eager to grow ...

      Show More
    • "Help Desk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Punta Caña
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at S-Trip!

      Pros

      -Great environment -Great training - Makes your job so much easier -Great schedule - Very accommodating -All employees that work at the help desk are friendly and down to earth

      Cons

      I do not have any cons at this time.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the awesome work.

      S-Trip!2017-05-29

      S-Trip! Response

      November 8, 2017First Impressions Officer & Talent Team

      Thanks for the positive feed back! We love to hear people enjoying their #JobofaLifetime! We do all that we can to ensure happiness and productivity of our staff!

    • "Trip Planner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at S-Trip! full-time

      Pros

      I have been a trip planner at this job for over 3 years now - Job culture - Friendly and open team dedicated to the same goal - Support - Growth/Oppurtunity - Travel

      Cons

      - Some long road trips which arent the worst

      S-Trip!2017-05-19

      S-Trip! Response

      November 8, 2017First Impressions Officer & Talent Team

      If you're happy, our travellers are happy! And that's important. Our staff are the driving force at S-Trip! and we couldn't create Happy Travellers without happy staff members! We take pride in striving towards our goal as a team! Teamwork makes the dreamwork. Thanks for leaving a ...

      Show More
    • "S-Trip employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at S-Trip!

      Pros

      S-Trip offers great flexibility and is a good company to discover and develop skills such as diplomacy, event planning and management, international relations, conflict mediation and community development. Great senior Staff, a lot of opportunity for development.

      Cons

      Wish there were more seasons to staff destination trips!

      S-Trip!2017-04-21

      S-Trip! Response

      November 8, 2017First Impressions Officer & Talent Team

      We wish there were more seasons to staff trips, too! Glad to hear you're enjoying working with us! Travel is so important in life and being able to share that experience with young adults is incredibly rewarding! At S-Trip! we work hard at helping expand your resume and open you up ...

      Show More
    • "Always buzzing, great culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staffing Coordinator in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at S-Trip! full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Constant improvement and growth - Development - Great culture

      Cons

      - Little to no down time - High expectations and long hours

      S-Trip!2017-04-19

      S-Trip! Response

      November 8, 2017First Impressions Officer & Talent Team

      You're right! We definitely work hard and play hard. Working at S-Trip! is a lot of hard work, especially the weeks leading up to and during trip season! But executing the #TripofaLifetime for our students makes it all worthwhile! It reminds us why we hustle so hard in the first place. ...

      Show More
    Found 54 reviews