S&P Global Market Intelligence Director Reviews | Glassdoor

S&P Global Market Intelligence Director Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
S&P Global Market Intelligence President  Martina Cheung (no image)
Martina Cheung
2 Ratings
  1. "Great company - highly recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at S&P Global Market Intelligence full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've been with the company for 12 years and have only good things to say about my experience. Great management / leadership, career opportunities abound, get to work with incredible colleagues around the world. I'm very grateful to be a part of the company. (And no, I'm not someone in HR just doing a fluff piece. :)

    Cons

    I'm a remote employee (as in, no longer in Charlottesville or NYC) and I've observed that colleagues are using their video cameras a lot less than they used to for multi-site meetings (which is all of them, pretty much). This is a bummer because a bit of a human element is lost when they're phone-only conversations. That's what I get for moving, I know; just wanted to put *something* in as a Con and not leave it NA.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    S&P Global Market Intelligence2017-09-22
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Poor management and layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at S&P Global Market Intelligence full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent salary and benefits, good time off

    Cons

    Company management was taken over by a much smaller company and they have sold off profitable sectors of the business they felt was not their core business. This resulted in many layoffs and poor morale. They lost a lot of good talent over the past 3 years.

    Advice to Management

    Promote high achievers and grow the business so no more layoffs are needed

    S&P Global Market Intelligence2018-10-11
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Data Management in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at S&P Global Market Intelligence full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Established brand in the market.

    Cons

    Company is in a constant state of restructuring so the focus is always on cutting costs and integrating data from legacy organizations. Cost cutting has led to shortage in staff so existing workforce is feeling the burden. Unrealistic goals also leads to bad morale. Management and the next level down show no interest in career growth. The attitude is "just work or quit, we'll find a replacement." Very toxic environment where you don't know if you're going or staying. Lack of communication breads uncertainty. Terrible time in the organization.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    At a minimum, act like the people that work for you are humans.

    S&P Global Market Intelligence2017-11-02
  4. "Director Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at S&P Global Market Intelligence full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Energetic, smart employees across the organization. Current management team is forward thinking and driven. Opportunity to grow within the company.

    Cons

    Culture is evolving under new management team and stronger corporate parent (S&P Global). Different business lines battle for resources, which has made product development unpredictable in the past.

    S&P Global Market Intelligence2017-07-14
  5. "Associate Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at S&P Global Market Intelligence full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary, good benefits, nice locations of offices

    Cons

    Too many re-orgs in the past few years

    Advice to Management

    Focus on getting things done right.

    S&P Global Market Intelligence2017-04-26
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Shallow Knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at S&P Global Market Intelligence full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Benefit Flexible Work Schedule Up to Date Systems

    Cons

    Lack of knowledge in industry Political Environment Poor Support for remote employees

    Advice to Management

    If you want to demonstrate value to clients, don't fire the experts.

    S&P Global Market Intelligence2017-03-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Work-Life balance is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at S&P Global Market Intelligence full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Not a great place for the ambitious. Your experience depends highly on your manager.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on people's professional development

    S&P Global Market Intelligence2016-10-27
  8. "IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in New York, NY

    I worked at S&P Global Market Intelligence for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Larger company with many opportunities

    Cons

    No negatives to report on this company

    S&P Global Market Intelligence2016-08-10
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Just run....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at S&P Global Market Intelligence for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great. A lot of working from home flexibility. Good brand name. I loved my coworkers when I was there.

    Cons

    The company is on a downward spiral. After a series of poor historical acquisitions (literally bought and dissolved companies) the parent company overspends on the SNL acquisition and even though every acquisition crapped out historically ...THIS time they decide to fire all senior leadership and replace the president (for the 3rd time in 3 years) with a leader with no global understanding and who lacks any understanding of how to manage a product that actually has competition. Everyone is in constant fear for their jobs and catty as all hell trying to point fingers in order to keep them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I wish there was something at this point that could be done, but the constant reorging and lack of stability are irreconcilable.

    S&P Global Market Intelligence2016-08-20
  10. Helpful (9)

    "STAY AWAY - integration pains (bad news for NY)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at S&P Global Market Intelligence full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good lifestyle; often work from home on Fridays.

    Cons

    Currently integrating legacy Cap IQ with legacy SNL Financial. Very painful and employee satisfaction is extremely low, especially on the Cap IQ (New York) side, because power, decision-making, and promotions are generally going to the SNL side (Charlottesville). Also, SNL culture is to be skimpy on compensation, and also to weed out weaker performers regularly, so all in all don't expect the company to provide any job stability.

    Show More
    S&P Global Market Intelligence2016-07-14
Found 29 reviews