S&P Global Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
S&P Global President & CEO Douglas L. Peterson
Douglas L. Peterson
524 Ratings
Pros
  • "A healthy work-life balance is encouraged(in 710 reviews)

  • "Company has a good growth potential and very good work environment(in 239 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "s amp p(in 102 reviews)

  • "Senior management seems to be unsure which direction to take the firm(in 96 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Featured Divisions of S&P Global

    See all divisions

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of S&P Global and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Amazing company to work for

      Mar 18, 2021 - Methodologies Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has been a dream to work for. The company provides a plethora of resources and benefits to keep the employees happy, there are tons of tools available to further your own development and learn different skills. Every single employee I have interacted with has been extremely helpful and willing to share knowledge, and my direct bosses and other directors within the company are all very open and approachable. I highly recommend S&P to anyone looking for work. Management of the company is always hosting meetings explaining what is going on and the direction of the company in the long term.

      Cons

      Being completely honest, I have no cons. My experience has been nothing short of amazing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      May 6, 2021 - Marketing in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/life balance, people, benefits, exposure, networking

      Cons

      Big company culture, career growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Leadership in Parent Company - Terrible Leadership in Dow Jones Indices

      Apr 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HR Leadership and D. Peterson's Leadership is outstanding

      Cons

      New Indices CEO....where do I even begin?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      S&P Global Response

      Talent Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback. S&P Dow Jones Indices is led by an exceptionally strong and talented team of experienced leaders – a group that has been further strengthened and energized by the arrival of a CEO who is leading with transparency, inclusivity, integrity and is focused on growth and innovation. Over the past year, our leadership team has communicated about the exciting future of the business, led a number of personal and group engagements with employees and has been open in their approach. In fact, in our most recent employee survey, the vast majority of our index colleagues have indicated that they are receptive to the changes underway and are embracing them. We encourage feedback and welcome all employees to share their ideas on how their experience can be improved directly with our people team or via our regular surveys.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      My experience has been great

      Jan 26, 2021 - Senior Cloud Engineer in Centennial, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Of course, with any company I'm sure a lot of the experience depends on the team and management structure that you fall into. I consider myself lucky as I got put on a new and fast growing team. Around the year mark, I was promoted to Senior Engineer and received a 12% raise. Additional Pros: - no micromanagement - mid year and year-end reviews which are tied to a raise/bonus structure - 2 week long support shifts every 2 months or so, which I think is rare for engineers supporting Production infrastructure. - My team had employees in both US and APAC regions, meaning even when I was on support I never had to worry about issues occurring late in the evening or in the middle of the night - competitive pay - incredible benefits right off the bat: 4 weeks PTO, ~10 fully paid holidays, you get your birthday off, 401k and health insurance, "mental health" days, Wellness funds, etc - great work culture from the top down Again, I realize that other employees who don't fall under the same management structure as me might not have the same experience as far as career growth and freedom

      Cons

      Lots of mergers, re-orgs, upper level management changes and rearranging. This happened often and of course always gives employees the feeling of "am I redundant? Will I lose my job". I'm sure this is standard across most if not all large enterprises though.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Worked over ten years there and loved it

      Apr 28, 2021 - Associate Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers, beautiful office overlooking lower Manhattan, excellent compensation. Company is performing very well.

      Cons

      Bureaucratic: too many acronyms, and many "lifers". Large turn-over of younger employees. Unofficial retirement age of 60 means they turn the heat up and make it very uncomfortable as one approaches that age.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good industry and company with some poor senior leadership Priorities (IMO)

      Apr 2, 2021 - Senior Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Moderate Salary, Moderate job growth potential (if you are a woman), and a solid industry with good profits

      Cons

      limited job growth potential if you are a man, most decision making is made at the very top, very little empowerment of subordinates one or two levels down. merit increase was non-existent this last year..

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Honestly, not that great

      May 7, 2021 - Client Development Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, especially vacation, extra days off and maternity leave

      Cons

      Company does random layoffs. Great employees have been let go, and the company has suffered. More layoffs are coming. They care more about growth than their employees. “People first” is a lie.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. S&P Global Ratings | Division of S&P Global
      3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Interesting work but culture left a lot to be desired

      Apr 16, 2021 - Ratings Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Ability to participate in large M&A deals and have access to portfolio company executive leadership. -Great ability to develop solid skill sets: Presenting, Writing, Modeling, Organizational Manuvering.

      Cons

      -Company has high turnover for a reason, the culture is not one of working together. Many people trying to be the smartest in the room at all times. -Work life balance is atrocious. They are very slow to rehire so if you get stuck in a portfolio that has lost an anlayst, don't make plans for a few months. -Salary was quite low considering hours worked per week. -Not a lot of promotion opportunities for Ratings Analysts/Associates.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. S&P Global Market Intelligence | Division of S&P Global
      5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing place to work

      May 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary, Culture, PTO, other benefits. Massive room for growth within the company.

      Cons

      None. I honestly can't really think of any.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      So much talent, a great brand.....being completely eroded as of late

      Apr 30, 2021 - Senior Product Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Talented, bright colleagues. The brand is truly an icon. Excellent leadership from Doug Peterson and Dimitra Manis

      Cons

      As of late, employee morale is crushed. Fear, disconnect, and uncertainty permeate throughout. Someone quoted it as "a sense of impending doom" and I couldn't agree more. I haven't spoken to the new CEO more than twice in a year. Whenever I have connected with him he has been disengaged, constantly looking at the clock above him or at the corner of the screen. We have zero feedback, other than the speeches he recites at the Town Halls. There is zero engagement and direction. And as soon as everything starts opening up and people start getting vaccinated, there will be a massive exodus as soon as employees are asked back to the office. It's a shame that he is so intent on erasing the past legacy that built this into the successful business it is today and will instead invoke passive-aggressive moves to mute that legacy. A great leader embraces that legacy, builds upon it, and leads his team forward. That is not what we have here. We have someone who is knowledgeable about ETFs yes, but not much else. He knows only the commercial side, and is avoiding dealing with the other side of the business....and that's fine until you cannot avoid it anymore and now you have a problem. We're trying to steer him right to no avail. Listens to no one, caters only to corporate. Does not understand that team confidence and morale are eroding and that's just the first layer to what will come. It's not too late to change course, I hope corporate and the board will find a way.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,597 Reviews

    Popular Careers with S&P Global Job Seekers

    Client Development Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at S&P Global? Share Your Experiences

    or