S2 Games Reviews | Glassdoor

S2 Games Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
22%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
S2 Games CEO Marc DeForest (no image)
Marc DeForest
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for its like a big family."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Rohnert Park, CA

    I have been working at S2 Games full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They company is small and has alot of great people working for them. Its a fun atmosphere with great benefits and great artist.

    Cons

    None at this time its a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    S2 Games2013-07-09
  2. "Anger, Rage, and Backstabbing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at S2 Games

    Pros

    Snacks and energy drinks provided.

    Cons

    Forget work/life balance. Management invented "urgent" issues at the end of my 10-hour workday, on weekends, or at 4am. I was constantly putting out imaginary fires. If the COO hadn't been such a drama queen, things would have gone so much more smoothly for all.

    Advice to Management

    Don't pit employees against each other. Decisiveness will save time and money, avoid changing direction so often.

    S2 Games2017-07-05
  3. "Remote Contactor left out of the loop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at S2 Games for less than a year

    Pros

    fun job, able to attend international tournaments, worked as contractor

    Cons

    low pay, left out of the loop.

    Advice to Management

    listen to your people!

    S2 Games2016-05-16
  4. "Short-sighted CEO implodes successful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Web Developer in Kalamazoo, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at S2 Games for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, decent benefits, fun work environment, excellent comradary, and at the time: unlimited PTO.

    Cons

    Terrible management, narrow/short-sighted, knee-jerk decision making, poor planning, un-realistic demands from CEO, not enough experienced upper level management.

    Advice to Management

    Fire Scott Valencia.

    S2 Games2016-02-18
  5. "Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at S2 Games full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. The team was for the greater part of the time I spent there, cheerful and playful like a group of close friends.

    Cons

    My personal opinion is that the biggest con of S2 Games from the art perspective is the complete lack of structured criticism via vehicles such as Daily’s/Weekly’s. I think the view that management has about such vehicles not being beneficial are incorrect and I feel that almost all of S2's problems stem from this core issue of a lack of healthy and professionally structured collaboration and communication.

    S2 Games2016-01-18
  6. "Disorganized, short-sighted, depressing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at S2 Games full-time

    Pros

    When S2 Games was up, it was really up. The highs and lows of that company were head-spinning.

    Cons

    Terrible management, no true leadership, throw-it-at-the-wall-and-see-what-sticks attitude with no long-term goals or planning. Any established goals were quickly sunk without even the slightest consideration for consequence.

    Advice to Management

    Stop managing and marketing games. Create a game and sell it as quickly as possible, and stop hiring and firing employees on a whim.

    S2 Games2014-12-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Aggressively hostile place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concept Artist in Rohnert Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at S2 Games full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed culture, decent hardware, good hours and work-life balance.

    Cons

    There is a lot, so please bear with me. Without saying anything untrue, the office is full of racism, sexism, and homophobia. People frequently would look at porn in the office and would plaster one-another's computers and projects with homophobic slurs and gay porn images. The three or four minorities at the office were referred to by racial epithets. Leadership was aggressive and argumentative. On several... occasions people got into shouting matches with one of them over insane, obvious things, where he would deride/insult employees and claim to have superior knowledge, often making people really uncomfortable about personal information. The CEO is even worse, and there is footage of him online, in-game, shouting the "n" word at people he was playing with. I have personally seen him break a keyboard for losing a game, and several famous stories have made their way around the office of him hurling entire PC boxes out his window in frustration. The compensation was mediocre, and there was no real room to grow. There were low expectations, but no recognition for exceeding them. If you did take on work, you would be underwater with how quick people were to pile on all their projects since nobody had been doing anything before. I left S2 seriously depressed. I know a handful of others who fared similarly. I do not recommend working here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have none to give that I haven't already given them. I honestly feel this job was the worst I've ever taken. The volume of advice to give would essentially boil down to turning the company over to entirely different people or shutting the doors entirely.

    S2 Games2014-12-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing people, amazing environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at S2 Games part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere. Flexible schedule. Friendly management and employees. Video games!

    Cons

    None that I can immediately think of.

    Advice to Management

    Venture into different genres in the gaming industry and make an even bigger name for yourselves. The resources are there!

    S2 Games2014-09-25
  9. "Great People, Lots of Fun, Chaotic Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at S2 Games full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The people are great - Lots of talent - Great snacks, food, etc. available - Small enough company that you pretty much know everybody else

    Cons

    - Management changes their minds constantly - Everything feels rushed, we have very little time for polish and bug fixing - Compensation is very top heavy. It's hard to become recognized, gain increased pay, or become promoted. - Management decisions seem short-sighted - No benefits allowing the attendance of game conferences

    Advice to Management

    Focus on making games fun first and making money second. Don't make decisions that require everyone to work overnight and rush a new feature or promotion. Give your staff benefits for personal growth, like paid time off for conferences.

    S2 Games2014-03-16
  10. "Great community. Terribly run."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at S2 Games full-time

    Pros

    Very nice employees, free red bull

    Cons

    Sub-industry-standard wage; no code QA; very obvious "I make more money than you" hierarchy from provided mandatory uniform; mandatory uniform

    Advice to Management

    Have a beta testing team that tests more than just balance. Make proper software production guidelines and pipeline so bugs can be caught and patch notes can reflect actual reality.

    S2 Games2014-01-22
Found 10 reviews